We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ulin Villas & Spa
Ranked #5 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Ulin Villas for 1 week and had the most wonderful time. I have rarely stayed anywhere that I was so comprehensively satisfied as I was here. The location is simply superb - so central but also hidden away. The place feels so private and exclusive with your own wonderful private pool and everything you need a hassle free call away. The villas as simply gorgeous - designed wonderfully both inside and out. Service from the team wad exceptional. We really missed this place when we left. If I had one small complaint it is that the wifi and internet need to be better. It is there, it is free but it is not very good - small but necessary room for improvement.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear “Ian R”

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write your review.

I am delighted to learn that your stay at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA was simply wonderful, right from the exceptional service level from all team members, the super-central location, the villas that were simply gorgeous and the every little touch that made your stay comfortable and super relaxing. We highly value your comments on the internet connection which was not meeting your personal expectation.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again on your future visit to the island of Bali.

With warm regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    72
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
159
353
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sechelt, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Recently we spent 5 nights and I can't ad much to the other superlative reviews. The staff are friendly and helpful, and always have a smile. The villa itself is amazing, an enclosed courtyard, private pool, garden and air-conditioned luxury apartment. My only (slightly) negative comment would be there isn't enough closet space and hangars, and the dressing room area is a bit of wasted space that could be better used.

My wife celebrated her 60th birthday while we were there, and I had pre-arranged some flowers to be delivered with morning breakfast, but the staff also brought a cake and sang Happy Birthday, which was an unexpected surprise.

A luxurious, quiet oasis just minutes from the noise and crowding of Seminyak. Several top rated restaurants are just around the corner. It was our first time renting a villa, and it would be hard to go back to a regular hotel room after this experience. It is just as their pictures show, and the other reviewers have mentioned.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear “Tim M”

It was our pleasure having you here with us on your most recent Bali Holiday. It is rewarding to read your review and to hear how much you loved your villa, the friendly and helpful staffs and all in all you found THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA to be a luxurious oasis in the heart of Seminyak - Bali. We are honored to have the chance to celebrate your wife 60th birthday here. We glad that you and your wife loved the surprise.

We thank you very much for your comments and suggestion to have bigger closet/wardrobe in the room. My self and all team members at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA are very excited and look forward to welcoming you again on your upcoming Bali vacation.


Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Whatever wonderful comments I wish to write have already been said by other reviewers. The friendly and attentive staff, the services they provide to make your stay comfortable and delightful and the location is just great. The property is also well maintained for its age and beautifully landscaped.
The areas I would suggest for improvement are: a) mattress - it was a little too hard. b) air-con was noisy in bedroom. c) add some ceiling fans in the living/bedroom as well as the lounge area in front of the pool. During our recent stay, the weather was hot and having ceiling fans would have helped as we would not have to turn on the air conditioning all the time and therefore saving energy. This is in line with the property's commitment to environmental responsibility.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celinatan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear “celinatan68”

Thank you very much for the wonderful comments you shared at TripAdvisor.com. I am happy to hear that your holiday at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA was memorable and relaxing. I am happy that you found our team members looked after you very well, attentive to all of your single requests, friendly and ensure your stay a comfortable and delightful one.

We highly value your constructive feedback on the AC and your suggestion to add more ceiling fan on the open plan areas of the villas. Thank you very much once again for taking your valued time to post your review. We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We do business in Bali and always stay at this stunning property. The villas are well equipped, the position is EXCELLENT… close to the wonderful restaurants and shopping areas of Seminyak but tucked away from the crowds and traffic. The one bedroom Villa includes a private swimming pool, outdoor kitchen and dining area (where your personal chef cooks your breakfast each morning… AMAZING) and a spa cabana where you can choose to have a massage or beauty treatment. If you prefer, you can have a treatment in air-conditioned comfort in the Ulin Spa which is next door to the Villas. We always have a few treatments during our stay and they are truly wonderful!

Bali is very tropical so mosquitoes can be a problem, but NOT at Ulin. They manage the mosquitoes with regular treatment (environmental sprays inside) and they also burn coils in your luxury outdoor bathroom and in your kitchen/dining areas. Each evening at around 6-7pm, some of the wonderful staff will arrive at your villa and replace your coils, treat the indoor areas to prevent the mosquitoes and pop the tea lights around your pool… romantic and functional!

I cannot speak highly enough of the beautiful staff. They are all so very friendly and really go out of their way to make your visit special. Don't miss out on the 'in villa BBQ'! I won't give away their special touches but just let me say that if you don't book at least a five night package you won't get the BBQ and it really is something to experience! We stay at Ulin twice yearly and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future! Congratulations to Management and Staff for an excellent property, exceptionally well managed. See you in August!!!

Room Tip: ANY room is awesome. Don't miss out on the 'In Villa BBQ'. DO make sure to book in for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wils0ncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear “wilsoncm65”

I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your valued time to share your review at tripadvisor.com.

I am delighted to read that your stay at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA was another wonderful experience, super relaxing, a holiday that exceed your expectations. We aim to deliver a personal service and genuine care. I am happy to know that all team members were very friendly and always ready to help in any way they can. We are blessed to be located in one of the most sought after spot in Seminyak while at the same time remain serene and tucked away from the crowds. I agree with you that the in villa BBQ is a must.

My self and all team members are very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to Ulin for the last 5 years, and we stay here at least twice a year. We have stayed in both the 1 and 2 bedroom villas and both are great. It has everything you could want in a villa. Sure there are cheaper places around, but you won't get the same level of privacy, comfort, service or amenities. It is just so peaceful and relaxing. It really is like being in a your own utopia. The staff are amazing ( particularly Wiri and Delima) - nothing is ever too much trouble. The location is great. Food is great. Pool is great. Cleanliness is great. I can't say enough good things about it - we just love it and we will keep coming back each year.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear “Jo M”

Thank you very much for being one of our most loyal customers. It is always a pleasure to have you with us here. I am glad to read that you had another relaxing holiday at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA, a place you prefer to call as “a home away from home”.

I am happy to hear that all team members looked after you very well, always went above and beyond to ensure your holiday is perfect. I will share your special recognition to our team members on the level of service they performed, especially Ms. Wira and Ms. Delima. Once again thank you very much for taking your valued time to share your review at tripavisor.com.

We are excited and look forward to welcoming you back again on your future visit to the island of Bali.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I went here for the end of our trip (13 flights, 4 countries, 7 hotels later) and it was all I could dream of and more!!! The pictures don't do this place justice. We booked the romance package and it was perfect. Some of the highlights include- cooked to order breakfast in your villa every morning, and believe me it was delicious, fresh squeezed juices, massages in your villa on your own personal outdoor massage tables, free drivers in town, attention to every detail as far as the villa and the property, beautifully appointed rooms, a fantastic pool, flower petals in the outdoor bathtub, 100 candle lit dinner with 5 courses and wine with rose petals everywhere. I can't say enough wonderful things about this place. They have 2 and 3 bedroom villas as well, if you have friends or family you'd like to take with you. We rented scooters (well just one because I was wayyyy to afraid to drive in those crazy streets) and explored just about everywhere. It was so much fun. We rented these from the front desk for 5 usd a day! We went during the rainy season, but when it rained it was beautiful and no problem at all because it always cleared up quick. The beach in the area is nothing to write home about, but we didn't mind as we had such an amazing time in our villa and around town. Our favorite restaurant was La Lucciolla. Absolutely fantastic food, service, prices, and a sunset to write home about for sure. We also recommend Vin. It is a wine bar within walking distance of the villa. Tons of wines and champagnes to choose from that you can drink there or bring with you. We loved Ulin Villas and hope to go back there for one of our anniversaries.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaime k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear “Jaime k”

We wish to thank you for taking your valued time to share a wonderful review of your recent stay at the awards wining THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA.

Our aim is to allow our guest to make the most out of their holiday, deliver a genuine service that is sincerely Bali. I am pleased to read that you loved the professional friendly service rendered by our team who were always ready to help in any way they can. I am also pleased to know that you enjoyed the villa living experience on every minute you spent.

My self and all team members are very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My partners first experience overseas and wow what an awesome place, he loved it! From the pick up at the airport everything ran smoothly fast check in smiley faces. Entering the villa we were blown away; what a beautiful little retreat for us, perfectly located in the heart of Seminyak yet surprisingly quite.

Breakfast was beautifully cooked every morning by lovely chiefs, the reception staff were extremely helpful organizing drivers and making reservations. The drivers where all wonderful especially 'Suddie' defiantly request him for the day what a lovely person.

The overall experience was amazing, the pool was immaculate and the staff where all extremely nice and polite, always smiling. After reading all the reviews on trip advisor I am so happy to add another glowing review for the Ulin Villa!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy_vill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear “Sammy_vill”

I am delighted to read that your recent stay with at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA was a wonderful experience right from the moment you arrive to the time you depart.

It is also a pleasure to hear that you found your villa was beautiful retreat, perfectly located in the heart of all the happenings (some call it as eat street) yet remain peaceful when you are in your villa. Our team members are truly the true soul of THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA and I am very happy to know they were all very friendly and looked after you well.

My self and all team members are very much look forward to share the beautiful villa has to offer again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#22 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#4 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Property: The Ulin Villas & Spa
Address: Jl. Merta Sari, Seminyak Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate Bali holiday experience in the heart of the evolving Seminyak lifestyle district, The Ulin Villas & Spa is the place to be. This multi award-winning villa retreat puts you in the vicinity of world-class restaurants, vibrant boutiques and after-dark hotspots on the beach. It is located just off Bali's famous "Eat Street" where everyone comes to enjoy food, fashion and fun. Following its recent aesthetic refurbishment, The Ulin Villas & Spa reinterprets contemporary Balinese design through customized interiors and luxurious touches. Each villa is a tropical sanctuary cocooned within a native garden featuring its own private swimming pool and essential modern home comforts. At The Ulin Villas & Spa, we understand the importance of relaxation and spending quality time with loved ones. Trained in the art of Balinese hospitality, our team is on hand to ensure that all of your needs are taken care of with a warm smile and a few friendly words to enrich your stay. The Ulin Villas & Spa is another exclusive property managed by Karaniya Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing