We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ulin Villas & Spa
Ranked #3 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Ulin Villas in December 2013. The villas are conveniently located in the middle of eat street but far enough down a side lane way as to not hear any noise. Lovely big pool and beautiful gardens. We loved coming home to the candle lit villa in the evening. Breakfast was really great with lots options made fresh in your own outdoor kitchen.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear "Andrea M"

We wish to thank you for taking your valued time to share your review of your holiday at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA.

We are delighted to hear that your stay has been enjoyable and that you had such a great holiday experience. We aim to deliver a genuine service and sincere care for what THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA is recognized for. I am happy that you enjoyed it very much. We are blessed to be located just steps away from the "eat street" where most celebrated dining venues are located.

Myself and the entire team are very excited to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 685 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed at Ulin Villas & Spa from 10 to 13 January. The villa was perfect in every sense, and the service and hospitality was superb! Starting from the meet and greet at the airport, to the swift check in process and completed with a stunning villa with private pool. The breakfast was great, served in the comfort of your own villa and it was delicious too! Same goes with other room service meals as well. The staffs at the reception are very helpful and they can assist you in making bookings for tours or a private driver as well as restaurant suggestions and reservations. I enjoyed the complimentary foot massage, but didn't have the chance to try their spa services. All in all, this is a great place to relax and have a romantic escapade.

Room Tip: Villa 3 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmirNidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear "AmirNidz"

It is gratifying to read that you have just had a great holiday experience which was a perfect escape at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA. We aim to exceed our guest personal expectation, allow our guest to sit back and relax. I am pleased to hear the you highly talk about the superb service our team members delivered, the beauty of the villas, the unique in villa breakfast and the small little touch that made your stay one to remember.

The entire team and I very much look forward to welcoming you on your future trip to the magical island of Bali.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

what a big pool, great sun loungers, spacious livingroom plus bedroom, indoor sink plus outdoor shower and Toilette. this vila is well maintained. the Service at reception, room Service etc. the spa is worth every Money! the breakfast i s made fresh in your Villa every morning, after noon tea with Little Snack, we will come back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear "roger t"

It was a pleasure having you at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA. Thank you very much for taking your valued time to share your review at tripadvisor.

It is gratifying to read that you had a fabulous stay and enjoyed the private pool, your private villa that was very well maintained, the spa which deliver the best value for money, the attentive professional service from all team members and every single details that made your stay was super relaxing and an unforgettable experience.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you again on your future visit to the island of Bali.

Happy days,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family and I spent a fantastic 4 nights at the Ulin Villas from 28 Dec - 1 Jan. The staff were extraordinarily accomodating allowing as an early check-in (even providing a 1 bed villa to my extended family for a few hours before they flew back to Australia even though they weren't even guests!). The staff also kindly arranged for a late check-out at 6pm. The villa was well equipped and positioned right in the heart of Seminyak. We had a nanny so were able to do without the temporary pool fence the staff offered to erect for our stay. We occasionally ate in the villa and the food was of a high quality. The breakfast options cooked in front of you in the villa were a highlight. I recommend Ulin Villas to anyone wanting to stay right in the heart of Seminyak.

Room Tip: Both 1 bed and 2 bed villas were very well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Epicurus307BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear "Chris G"

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA. I am pleased to hear that you found your holiday with us was perfect and that the team members extraordinarily helpful, always friendly and attentive. I also pleased to know that you enjoyed the beauty of the villa and the food services.

Please allow us to also thank you for recommending us to your family and friends for them to stay with us whenever they wish to visit Bali. We are excited and very much look forward to welcoming you in the future again.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager - KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I spend 6 days, and 5 nights at the Ulin Villa in December, and despite being there in the rainy season, we had the most excellent stay. I can find little fault with the Ulin. Here are a few highlights, tips and suggestions.

We stayed in Villa #6. It was perfect. Being halfway down the path, it was ultra quiet. We never heard another guest and the only outside noise we heard was the very occasional dog. We kept commenting on how quiet and secluded the villa felt. It was wonderful.

I can't really say a negative thing about the villa. It was BEAUTIFUL. Well kept from the buildings to the grounds. The outdoor massage tables are epic. So amazing to get a relaxing massage before bed as the rain sprinkled outside. It was addicting and we found ourselves trying to get back in time for a massage each night. The only thing disappointing were that treatments ended at 10PM, so if you wanted to get a 90 minute massage before bed, you had to try and get back to your villa by 8:30, which proves hard if you want to go out for dinner.

One thing to note is the entire bathroom (sans sink/vanity) is outside. We LOVED the outdoor shower and tub and found ourselves showering 3-4 times a day because it was so relaxing. The only weird part is the outdoor toilet. That took some getting used to.

The Location was great. Easy to walk to everything. One thing to note is that it's on a quiet side street, so it can be hard for taxi's to find. Having the address didn't help too, so have a map you can show out of town taxi drivers if you want to get back.

The car services provided by the hotel were great. Drivers were courteous, knowledgeable and the vehicles were nice, clean and well maintained.

The staff were great! Definitely some language barrier issues, but that is to be expected. We also loved our massage treatments. I'm not a big massage fan, but even I enjoyed the massages!!

Afternoon tea service was awesome. Do yourself a favor, and ask for the "spa's ginger tea." This is a fresh made tea with Ginger, Lemongrass and Palm Sugar. We fell in love with it and have been trying(not successfully) to replicate at home.

Also, DO THE 100 CANDLE DINNER. WOW. The single most romantic dinner we've ever had. We felt like were were on the set of some TV show!

There are only a few negative marks, which I really can't specifically hold against the hotel, but I will include in the review. These honestly didn't make our stay less enjoyable, just a few areas that can be improved.

1. The food can stand some improvement. We had breakfast daily, room service and the candlelit dinner. I feel the villa could benefit from the services of western chef to direct the crew a bit, specifically in western cuisine. Granted, my wife and I are huge foodies, and I travel the globe in search of great food, so our standards are very high. Everything fell short of the mark just a bit. It was a bit of a buzzkill to have to send food back in our romantic dinner because it was completely raw. At breakfast, we found the key: eggs over easy, toast and fresh fruit. The fruit was SO amazing. (get mango in season… WOWOWOWOW) They also can cook eggs properly, even over easy. One thing to note, they cook much of your food in villa in your kitchen, so be prepared (and dressed!)

2. Don't let the term "mini bar" fool you. This is not what I'm used for for a mini bar (nor what I think most people would consider a mini bar). When we heard "unlimited mini bar" we got excited. (who wouldn't!) It consist of 4 sodas, 2 beers, a bag of chips and nuts. That's it. No liquor. Now, it's free, so I guess I can't be picky, it just was a little mis-leading. Liquor is also hard to find locally because the island is mainly hindu. If you're wanting a night cap in your villa, you'll need to bring it in, and when you see a place that sells liquor BUY IT, because I went to 5 places one night just trying to find some vodka.

3. Internet is slow and unreliable. Great if you want to unplug, but if you do have to get any work done, very frustrating. I have a $200 cell call because I couldn't get a fast enough connection for Skype.

TO SUMMARIZE:
Truly amazing. The slightly negative marks should not deter you at all, they are the only minor areas to improve. We will go back without any hesitation. It's truly paradise. We love the villa, staff will completely reccomend this hotel to everyone we have the opportunity to. You will not regret staying here.

Room Tip: Stay in the middle villas (5,6 or 10,11)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zito Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear “Zito Z”

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write your review.

We are pleased to read that your stay at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA was a perfect retreat composed by the beautiful villas, the location and most importantly the high level of service delivered by our staffs , always helpful and went out their way to ensure your holiday was perfect. We highly value your comments and the constructive feedback which we believe will assist us to persistently improve.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again to THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed in. The entrance down a small lane is a bit off putting but the Villas are beautiful, entirely private with lovely individual pools. The place is immaculately clean and the staff simply could not do enough. There is little to no noise from the "main drag" which is only 500 metres away so you have the best of all worlds.
I can't praise it highly enough

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear “MidlandsArttravel”

On behalf of all team at THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA, I wish to thank you for staying with us and for taking your valued time to write your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you have just had one of the best holiday experience right from the immaculate cleanliness, the great location to the friendly helpful staff members.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back to THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA on your future trip to the island of Bali.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Found Ulin Villas on the internet and must say it was as it was bang on the money. Don't be put off by the entry which is off a small lane way.
Very private villas, with very competent, courteous and respectful staff. ( cannot rate highly enough)
Breakfast was delivered to the Villa and was fantastic, fresh fruit, juices and brewed coffee. Afternoon refreshment was another added bonus as was the mini bar that was included in the tariff and was restocked daily.
The pool was perfect and the gardens were very well maintained.
The Villa was clean and spacious as was the outdoor shower and toilet.
Good wifi however it did drop out on occasion.
Staff attended to insect control every evening and we did not find the Mosquitos to be a problem in our outside of the villa.
We enjoyed a couple of massages in the villa around the pool and could not fault.
Staff were more than happy to drop us off at restaurants and assisted with bookings.
The villas are well positioned and are within walking distance to some great restaurants and cafes.
Overall could not fault and if it is a quiet, private experience you are seeking can thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaMaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan W, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear “CaMaWa”

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor and highly talk about THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA as perfect and very private pool villas that deliver the best value for what you spend. I am very happy to hear that our team members looked after you very well on all the requests you had, up to small little details that made your stay fabulously relaxing.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to THE ULIN VILLAS AND SPA in the future.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 148 in Seminyak
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The One Boutique Villa
The One Boutique Villa
#2 of 148 in Seminyak
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 148 in Seminyak
1,835 reviews
0.8 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,526 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#4 of 148 in Seminyak
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Address: Jl. Merta Sari, Seminyak Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $323 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate Bali holiday experience in the heart of the evolving Seminyak lifestyle district, The Ulin Villas & Spa is the place to be. This multi award-winning villa retreat puts you in the vicinity of world-class restaurants, vibrant boutiques and after-dark hotspots on the beach. It is located just off Bali’s famous “Eat Street” where everyone comes to enjoy food, fashion and fun. Following its recent aesthetic refurbishment, The Ulin Villas & Spa reinterprets contemporary Balinese design through customized interiors and luxurious touches. Each villa is a tropical sanctuary cocooned within a native garden featuring its own private swimming pool and essential modern home comforts. At The Ulin Villas & Spa, we understand the importance of relaxation and spending quality time with loved ones. Trained in the art of Balinese hospitality, our team is on hand to ensure that all of your needs are taken care of with a warm smile and a few friendly words to enrich your stay. The Ulin Villas & Spa is another exclusive property managed by Karaniya Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing