We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private oasis in a busy city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ulin Villas & Spa
Ranked #5 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Private oasis in a busy city”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our trip to Bali. After a few days in Ubud, the hustle of Seminyak was almost overwhelming. Luckily, our villa at Ulin was like our own escape. The villa was huge, with two rooms, an outdoor bathroom, an outdoor kitchen, and our own small pool and massage space. The chef came to our room once to make breakfast, and the food was lovely. I also had an in-room massage and body wrap, which was frankly, totally amazing. Our room was so peaceful that it was hard to leave!
The main downside for us is that the hotel is not in a convenient location if you want to spend time at the beach. We had pretty vague directions from staff for how to get there, and it's quite a long (15-min) walk through a busy area, with lots of hustlers along the way. Since there is no on-site restaurant, you either have to ask the chef to cook from your kitchen, or go out into the town. Another issue we noticed is that the security is not very good for the villas - you can actually just unscrew the hinges holding the lock, and open the door. One other funny incident - the staff kindly made us up a breakfast to take to the airport before our flight, but the entire paper bag collapsed before we could eat it, because they had placed the liquids at the bottom of the bag and it leaked. Ah well - it smelled really good...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_R_2010Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear “J_R_2010Tokyo”

I wish to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know that you found The Ulin Villas as your own escape and loved the entire moments of your stay. We are located in the heart of Seminyak where restaurants and funky shops are just step away and the beach is within easy distance (our other guests say 7 – 10 minutes walking distance), we regret to hear it was not up to your expectation. I sincerely value your comments on the take away breakfast where we will immediately address. It was a pleasure having you with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    72
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
161
356
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Let me begin by saying that the Ulin Villas are absolutely amazing. We spent five luxurious nights in Villa #2 as a part of our honeymoon from Sept 3rd - 8th, and were very impressed with everything.

The private pool and outdoor shower & bathtub were incredible. The pool was a perfect size for two people. The villas are very private, relaxing and serene. We were welcomed with flowers sprinkled everywhere, rose petals in the bathtub, a bottle of wine and fresh fruit. As a part of the honeymoon package, we were given a five course 100-candle dinner which was incredible and the Villa was beautifully decorated.

We also had a one-hour full body massage which was amazing. This was honestly the best massage I have ever had.

The serving and cleaning staff was amazing. The Villa's were super clean and service was quick.

Overall the Ulin Villas are amazing and I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone. My only complaint is that I find it offensive that when my husband and I were together, under most circumstances, he would be acknowledged and greeted by some of the staff ie. "good morning sir" while I was not. In addition, the hotel one night left a note on our bed addressing only my husband "Dear Mr...." apologizing to him for the inconvenience of them having to turn the water off for a couple hours during the night. I am not sure why the Ulin Villas felt it unnecessary to address me in the letter. Might I add, the hotel was booked under my name so they definitely had my name.

Overall the experience was wonderful, staff were very courteous and great. I just find it offensive when my husband is acknowledged and I am not. Women and men are equal and should be treated as such.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa #2 and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JW4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear “JW4444”

Thank you very much for your review and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and of course the warmth hospitality of our team members. We are all delighted to know that your honeymoon with us was as romantic as you ever hoped. We sincerely appreciate the feedback outlined on your review and we are committed to address the point you were concerned with. Once again thank you very much for taking your valued time to share your review.


Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Excellent hotel,found the bed a bit hard,maybee to encorouge more massages,excellent service,very well maintained inside and out.I would highly reccomend if you like privicy,a short walk to the street for shopping,bars and restruants.
Better than Bonnie doon for serinity..............

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear “Stephen S”

It is great to hear how much you loved your stay with us. We are happy to know that you had a great time and enjoyed the service presented by our team of dedicated staffs. We are excited and hope to welcoming you soon again.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed in a 2-bedroom villa with my parents. They absolutely love it! Excellent service. Friendly staff. Cozy villa. Comfortable bed. Relaxing spa. Fantastic location. The villa is located just behind Ultimo and within 7mins walk of Ku De Ta and Pak Malen (delicious babi guling).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mapleleaf2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear “mapleleaf2727”

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to find yourself and your parents loved your holiday with us. The Ulin Villas is indeed centrally located, steps away to restaurants strips and fashion boutiques. We also pleased to know that you highly talk about our level of service that exceeded your every wishes and hoped. We all look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Everything was above our expectation! villas, staff, spa, breakfast
We stayed at the Ulin Villas and Spa for 4 nights
Very private and calm; the location is just great!in the center of Seminyak.
Go and get the peace thta you need!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear “Smith M”

I am very pleased to hear that everything with your stay was above and beyond expectation. We use every feedback and suggestions to persistently improve. Once again thank you very much for taking your time to post a review of your recent stay. See you again on your future Bali holiday.

Cheers,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The staff at Ulin went out of their way to make our stay perfect. I am in a manual wheelchair and was aware that the villa had a few stairs and split levels but this was not a problem as I was traveling with my partner who was prepared to lift me. The only wheelchair accessible rooms in Bali are to be found in big hotels, which are not really my thing. The villas offer a much more personal service.
Within 10 minutes of arriving, the villa manager had organised the villa maintenance man to come to our villa. Before we knew it, he and some helpers started building ramps for each of the stairs, even a small bridge to get to the eating area and pool. Not only that but they were using wood from their own sun lounges and other furniture (not from our villla). We offered to pay something but the manager insisted that there was it was free. What a fantastic start to our stay!
The level of service was consistent throughout our stay and nothing was ever too difficult when it came to booking restaurants, bars, transport etc.
The villa itself was fantastic, it was clean, with a comfortable bed and a decent sized swimming pool. We did a lot of research when booking Ulin and it was a little more spacious than similar villas in the same area and price bracket.
The breakfasts were made to order with a variety of options. I'm not sure what time they finished but we never rose early and this was never a problem. We ate lunch by the pool a couple of times and the standard of food was good.
Ulin is located 100 meters down a small side road, off the main street, smack bang in the middle of busy Seminyak, where many of the good restaurants and bars are located. Despite this, at no time did we hear any street noise in the villa. We could hear the neighbouring villa when they used their pool but this was not a problem and is obviously to be expected in villa complexes.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Ulin Villas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear “lukenz”

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am delighted to find that you had not barrier to access your villa and our facilities. Thank you very much for your high credit to our team members and their consistent high level of service. Our aim is to ensure our guest could make the most of their holiday. We look forward to seeing you again whenever you Bali holiday is scheduled.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Ulin is truly a place you could quite easily call home! This is now the 4th time I have stayed at the Ulin and each time I come it's harder to leave. All the staff are just amazing and make you feel so welcome, warm and wonderful. We brought our friends with us this time and now they understand and are as in love with the place and the people as we are. Thank you my Ulin family, we miss you xx

Room Tip: none, i've stayed in a different villa each time....every villa whether it's a one, two or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaP992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at The Ulin Villas & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear “AmandaP992”

Thank you very much for returning to your Bali home and it was a pleasure to have you again with us (can not believe it was your 4th stay), we are honored. We are happy to find you time with us was again amazingly relaxing as always. Thank you very much for recommending us to your friends and family. See you again on your next Bali holiday.

Happy days,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
699 reviews
0.8 mi away
The One Boutique Villa
The One Boutique Villa
#2 of 143 in Seminyak
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,493 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#6 of 143 in Seminyak
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ulin Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ulin Villas & Spa

Property: The Ulin Villas & Spa
Address: Jl. Merta Sari, Seminyak Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ulin Villas & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate Bali holiday experience in the heart of the evolving Seminyak lifestyle district, The Ulin Villas & Spa is the place to be. This multi award-winning villa retreat puts you in the vicinity of world-class restaurants, vibrant boutiques and after-dark hotspots on the beach. It is located just off Bali's famous "Eat Street" where everyone comes to enjoy food, fashion and fun. Following its recent aesthetic refurbishment, The Ulin Villas & Spa reinterprets contemporary Balinese design through customized interiors and luxurious touches. Each villa is a tropical sanctuary cocooned within a native garden featuring its own private swimming pool and essential modern home comforts. At The Ulin Villas & Spa, we understand the importance of relaxation and spending quality time with loved ones. Trained in the art of Balinese hospitality, our team is on hand to ensure that all of your needs are taken care of with a warm smile and a few friendly words to enrich your stay. The Ulin Villas & Spa is another exclusive property managed by Karaniya Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ulin Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ulin Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Ulin Villas And Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing