We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of The Dusun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dusun
Ranked #12 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed June 17, 2010

This was my 2nd stay at The Dusun. The first, so enjoyable that when there was an opportunity to return to Bali, this time with a bunch of friends - there was no doubt, where we were going to stay - The Dusun!

This time, there were 5 of us. We had the 3-room villa, which was perfect. Its sooo spacious, bedrooms, toilets, outdoor living rooms...and the pool is huge! which was a big bonus, as we had more friends dropping in and joining us at the villa.

The location is perfect in Seminyak, walking distance to all the great places to eat and drink, if not, flagging a cab was no problem to bring us to the city centre or Kuta.

The service here is impeccable, always friendly, always smiling and accommodating. You will enjoy free daily laundry and fresh home-cooked breakfast.

It's in a word - perfect.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    51
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
182
226
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed at the Dusun at the beginning of our honeymoon in Bali, I wanted somewhere private and relaxed where we could unwind after the craziness that is a wedding. The Dusun exceeded my expectations in every respect. We had booked a 1 bedroom Villa but were lucky enough to be upgraded to the 3 bedroom Villa which gave us the advantage of a full sized pool. We were greeted by friendly staff who seemed like old friends. We learned that this seems to be the Balinese way as all of the staff we encountered were just as friendly. As we entered through the gate to our Villa we felt instantly at home. After a little tour of the villa and a run down of the services provided we were left to begin our honeymoon. The Villa was sparkling clean and the pool was crystal clear. Our very comfortable bed was decorated with flowers, we had a beautiful fruit platter and the outdoor bath was filled with water and rose petals, everything was in it''s place and very very clean. The Villas are very spacious and you really do feel as if it is your home. The whole experience at the Dusun was amazing, nothing was too much for the staff, a hot breakfast cooked in your villa daily, afternoon tea served again in your villa. Even when we came home late at night and the room service had closed the staff still went down the road and brought back food for a late night snack. The location is great, there is a spa at the end of the st and it is close to the beach and some amazing restaurants. There is also a free shuttle that will take you into town (you need to make your own way back but taxi's are so cheap it is of little consequence) I am a travel agent and anytime I have clients going to Bali I always recommend the Dusun Villas. I have done a lot of traveling and have stayed at many hotels and the Dusan is by far my favourite. It was a perfect way to start our honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neat77Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kogarah, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We booked the 3 night honeymoon package for the first 3 nights of our 9 night honeymoon in Bali. We were greeted at the airport by the smiling Putra who had a lei of flowers for each of us and a cold bottle of water. When we arrived at the Dusun and opened the gate to our villa, we were so impressed with what lay before us. The villa was so lovely and spacious with a large, deep pool being the focal point. There is an outdoor kitchen and lounge room overlooking the pool, and inside was an amazing netted king size bed and gorgeous bathroom.

Our package included a breakfast prepared each day in our villa, a lunch, a four course dinner, afternoon tea and a 2 hour massage session in our villa, mini bar (beers & softdrink), and valet laundry service. We didn't have to spend anything more. For the dinner, we went out for a drink while they prepared in our villa, and when we arrived back for dinner our pool was surrounded by candles and there were floating floral hearts in our pool with candles... it was so romantic. The only issue with the dinner was that we had four courses in about 40 minutes as they stood and waited for us to finish each course, then promptly collected the plates and presented the next course.

We loved staying at the Dusun and would highly recommend it. It is only 5 minutes walk from La Luciola and close to Ku De Ta and Sea Circus. Although, while we were there, we didn't want to leave our villa!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kulbardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, wa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Stayed in March for my dad's 70th. Went with parents. sister, brother-in-law and young adult children. First time staying at villas. The staff were lovely and they cleaned your rooms two times a day. We stayed at the 3 bedroom villas and it was lovely and big. The bathroon was fantastic and big but watch out for the floor. It has stones on it and is partly outdoor (meaning that it isnt airconditioned) and can get warm when getting ready. The show is big and open. You have to say what time you want to have breakfast every day and what type of breakfast you want which i found very restricted. Missed just waking up and going down for big breakfast of all sorts in the bigger hotels.Staff were lovely and the pool was quite big. Cleaned to perfection. Complimentary transport into town with around a half hour notice. We tipped each time but it was nice, airconditioned and big enough for our group of 6. Open plan for the entertainment area including the kitchen which could get very warm in the afternoon. Staff lovely and friendly. Wouldnt stay in an open planned villa again as i found it all too planned and restricted and hot. The bedrooms were lovley and cool and included flat screen TV. Staff fantastic but never saw any of the other guests the whole 10 days we stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazziePerth_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

First timers to Bali, so had no idea what to expect. Stayed 4 days at The Dusun, well what an amazing place it is. First class treatment from check in to check out. We had a 1 bedroom villa which was very very spacious. We loved the outdoor living area and the big pool and sun chairs. Spent many hours in the pool and enjoyng the sun. Privacy is very much respected. Gardens are immaculate and very well maintained. They even come and light insect coils and spray every night for your comfort.
We loved the amercian breakfast served every morning which they come and make for you at your appointed time. Very quick and efficient. Housekeeping excellent, in and out before you know it. We found the courtesy driver really great for drop offs to wherever we wanted to go. Nothing was ever a problem.
The bedroom was very roomy with a good size walk in wardrob with a safe. Bed and pillows very comfortable, great air conditioning also.We had a huge bathroom with a shower over a huge as bath. Didn't take a hairdryer, not one in the villa but just had to enquire and they brought one down for me.rather than shut ourselves away in the room. We are talking about another trip back to Bali and will
The staff very courteous and very very helpful. Great to advise us on what we should pay for taxis etc. The only thing we would of liked was to have a TV in the outdoor area, as at times just wanted to kick back outside and watch a movie certainly be staying back at The Dusun. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyandandrew2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Have just come back from a relaxing week in Bali staying once again at the Dusun. They have the friendliest staff I have ever encountered at any hotel anywhere!! We like to play cards and the table in our villa was a little too big. One offside remark to a staff member and within 15 minutes we had a smaller table that they had covered in a velour fabric for us. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Beautiful rooms, garden and private pools.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeriSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2010

The Dusun Villas in Seminyak are fantastic. The staff are extremely friendly and willing to please. The front of office manager Gede is very polite and happy to help where he can. We stayed in the three bedroom villas and the are very spacious. The pool is enormous and the gardens are well kept. Location is only minutes from the beach and Seminyak shops. The free driving service into Seminyak, legion and kuta is very helpful. I little local shop just out the front sells Food, beer etc, very convenient.
Gede showed us the one bedroom villas, and they are also very nice for couples.
I have stayed in many places in Bali, and so far have yet to experience accommodation, staff, location etc better than the Dusun.
We Will be back there soon.
Thank you Dusun staff for a great holiday

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thailandwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
700 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,599 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Property: The Dusun
Address: Jl. Kayu Jati No. 8, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dusun 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun Hotel is located in the Petitenget area of Seminyak just a minute stroll from Bali’s famous sunset beach and Seminyak’s restaurants. The Dusun is a blissfully quiet property with 14 exclusively private villas. The Dusun takes a professional and friendly approach to hospitality. The service and ambience are natural and never intrusive, with all requests handled pragmatically, without any fuss. The hotel is laden with luxury; the villas, pools and gardens are spacious, set in a bright and tasteful decor. Pamper yourself at The Dusun with its charming atmosphere offering the perfect setting for romantic honeymoons, friends’ getaways or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dusun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Dusun Hotel Bali
Dusun Hotel Seminyak
The Dusun Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing