We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awesome Villas”
Review of The Dusun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dusun
Ranked #12 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awesome Villas”
Reviewed May 21, 2010

First timers to Bali, so had no idea what to expect. Stayed 4 days at The Dusun, well what an amazing place it is. First class treatment from check in to check out. We had a 1 bedroom villa which was very very spacious. We loved the outdoor living area and the big pool and sun chairs. Spent many hours in the pool and enjoyng the sun. Privacy is very much respected. Gardens are immaculate and very well maintained. They even come and light insect coils and spray every night for your comfort.
We loved the amercian breakfast served every morning which they come and make for you at your appointed time. Very quick and efficient. Housekeeping excellent, in and out before you know it. We found the courtesy driver really great for drop offs to wherever we wanted to go. Nothing was ever a problem.
The bedroom was very roomy with a good size walk in wardrob with a safe. Bed and pillows very comfortable, great air conditioning also.We had a huge bathroom with a shower over a huge as bath. Didn't take a hairdryer, not one in the villa but just had to enquire and they brought one down for me.rather than shut ourselves away in the room. We are talking about another trip back to Bali and will
The staff very courteous and very very helpful. Great to advise us on what we should pay for taxis etc. The only thing we would of liked was to have a TV in the outdoor area, as at times just wanted to kick back outside and watch a movie certainly be staying back at The Dusun. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyandandrew2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    51
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
182
226
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Have just come back from a relaxing week in Bali staying once again at the Dusun. They have the friendliest staff I have ever encountered at any hotel anywhere!! We like to play cards and the table in our villa was a little too big. One offside remark to a staff member and within 15 minutes we had a smaller table that they had covered in a velour fabric for us. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Beautiful rooms, garden and private pools.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeriSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2010

The Dusun Villas in Seminyak are fantastic. The staff are extremely friendly and willing to please. The front of office manager Gede is very polite and happy to help where he can. We stayed in the three bedroom villas and the are very spacious. The pool is enormous and the gardens are well kept. Location is only minutes from the beach and Seminyak shops. The free driving service into Seminyak, legion and kuta is very helpful. I little local shop just out the front sells Food, beer etc, very convenient.
Gede showed us the one bedroom villas, and they are also very nice for couples.
I have stayed in many places in Bali, and so far have yet to experience accommodation, staff, location etc better than the Dusun.
We Will be back there soon.
Thank you Dusun staff for a great holiday

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thailandwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Well the title to my review should sum up our honeymoon experience at the Dusun...

To be honest when we first got here from Ubud - we were not going crazy over the place...but once we settled in and started lazing around on our lovely sun deck chairs & huge private plunge pool... our opinion of the Dusun completely changed...peaceful, clean and contemporary villas.

The bedroom was nice & cozy - not too big - functional with a small walk in closet. The bathroom was huge (with pebbles all over the floor), a lovely bath tub filled with rose petals. The direct sunlight added a nice touch.

The best part of the Villa was the outdoor area - the kitchen, living room and the poola nd the sun deck chairs (where we spent most of our days at the Dusun). They made breakfast each morning in our villa - which was quite nice and unintrusive.

Nice shuttle service to Seminyak & Kuta.

Another plus point of Dusun was that although there are other guests staying there, we never really bumped into anyone else... felt like we owned the entire property.

The Dusun is less than 5 minutes (walking) from Jalan Laksmanya (also known as EAT STREET) (need I say more!) & also 5 minutes (walking) from The Semaya (Breeze), La Luccolia, just 10 minutes (walking) from KU DE TA (on one side) & Sarong (on the other).

Definitely recommended for someone looking for a non-intrusive holiday experience.

  • Liked — the huge private pool
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dhruv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

I have been to Bali many times over the years but always stayed in traditional hotels. After much research my sister and I selected a villa over a hotel for the privacy factor at the same price level. What a great decision. I would certainly recommend the Dusun for singles, couples, friends or larger families. I caught a peek in a larger villa with a big pool and it looked ideal for a family or couples/friends traveling together.
Now for the Dusun itself: breakfast is included each day - the staff come at your requested time and cook whatever type of breakfast you want in the outdoor kitchen - the food was always delicious. The outdoor kitchen had a couple of really good features: a full size fridge (so you could fill with your own drinks, snacks etc), coffee maker, full size water cooler - this was great to refill our water bottles and keep up the fluids in the humidity. Our pool was cleaned every day (along with everything else of course) and the staff were just delightful.
There is a shuttle van that picked us up and took us to the airport. We found that if the drivers were free, they were always more than happy to drop us off up the road if we didn't feel like walking.
The villas are about a 5 minute walk to the beach where La Lucciola is and about 6-7 minutes the other way to the main shopping area in Seminyak.
We took a taxi to Kuta one night (I used to stay there a bit when I was in my 20's) and we swore we would never ever go back, it was just awful - unless you like fake everything and being hassled non stop! None of that in Seminyak whatsoever. We really think we stayed at the most wonderful place, just take a look at my photos.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

We came back from our first trip to Bali this morning. Although we are both seasoned travellers were both absolutely blown away by The Dusun Villas. We had a one bedroomed villa which was VERY spacious and had a beautiful large bathroom ensuite. The pool was amazing, and I wish we had their two pool attendants to clean our pool at home, as it was immaculate. The staff at The Dusun were fabulous, and even baked me a cake for my birthday last week, which was totally unexpected and a lovely surprize. The staff came in and cooked breakfast and we had 3 choices : American, Continental and Indonesian. The Dusun Villas are on a quiet laneway which is 5 mins walk to the heart of Seminyak. They offer free travel to places like Kuta which was handy. The villa we had was so beautiful, that we could have stayed there all day and not gone out ... the room service menu is extensive, although we chose to eat at a different place each night. Our favourite was The Junction Restaurant - great food, great prices, unpretentious. We celebrated my birthday and anniversary at Breeze at Samaya - an absolute must for that special occasion. Went to Ku de ta - over-rated, full of posers and drunk Aussies!! We also went to Hu'u which was great. All in all - HIGHLY recommended.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SwanValleyDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
700 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,599 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Property: The Dusun
Address: Jl. Kayu Jati No. 8, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dusun 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun Hotel is located in the Petitenget area of Seminyak just a minute stroll from Bali’s famous sunset beach and Seminyak’s restaurants. The Dusun is a blissfully quiet property with 14 exclusively private villas. The Dusun takes a professional and friendly approach to hospitality. The service and ambience are natural and never intrusive, with all requests handled pragmatically, without any fuss. The hotel is laden with luxury; the villas, pools and gardens are spacious, set in a bright and tasteful decor. Pamper yourself at The Dusun with its charming atmosphere offering the perfect setting for romantic honeymoons, friends’ getaways or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dusun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Dusun Hotel Bali
Dusun Hotel Seminyak
The Dusun Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing