We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Traditional Balinese style Villa with quality service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dusun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dusun
Ranked #24 of 137 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Traditional Balinese style Villa with quality service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We recently stayed for 8 days in the three bedroom villa at the Dusun.
The staff catered for all 6 adults and 2 children beyond our expectations. Every member of staff we met was friendly and helpful.
The villa itself is styled to look like a traditional Balinese villa with all of the mod-cons of a resort, including staff on call 24-7, room service and a driver that will take you anywhere in Bali free of charge. The standards are very high here, we would highly recommend The Dusun Villas for anyone planning a trip, wanting somewhere quiet yet so close to shops, restaurants and the beach.
Thank you so much to all the staff that made our stay so amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    47
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
166
203
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a 10 night stay at the Dusun, and I am sure this is a family holiday we will all remember. Family of 4 - my wife and myself plus two late-teenager children. Really nothing to fault and so much to praise. Walking through the front door you are greeted by a villa set up that if anything looks better than the promotional photos/videos on the website. Immaculate grounds, superb spotless pool and a fantastic indoor/outdoor area with ample seating, a large dining table and great kitchen area. The rooms themselves were excellent and spacious, each bedroom with a large ensuite. However even the villa was overshadowed by the outstanding and friendly service - nothing was too much trouble for the Dusun staff.

Not cheap but you do get what you pay for :) Would recommend unreservedly, I really can't imagine anyone being disappointed by the Dusun.

Room Tip: We had a 3 room villa #6 which was perfect for ourselves and our two teenagers, as they were able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Rogers67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our holiday here was PERFECT! A group of friends and I stayed here for a week and we had an amazing time. The service is fantastic, the staff are all friendly, would stop and have a chat with us, were happy to organise anything we needed, recommended great restaurants. They even surprised us with a birthday cake for one of the girls on her birthday! The rooms were beautiful, the pool incredible and breakfast each morning was so yum. We also had the traditional BBQ one night, the staff came decorated the villa, cooked sensational food and had a traditional band playing. The Manager would check in with us every few days to check that we were enjoying our stay and having the car drop us off at places was so helpful.
The location couldn't get any better. I came home and raved about it to all my friends.
We will hopefully be returning again this year!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our long awaited stay at the Dusun Villas was unfortunately a disappointment.... The main reason being that our neighbors decided to have an outdoor disco at their villa the moment we settled into our villa (4 pm). We made several calls to reception to ask them to handle the situation. The volume was tuned down for about 10 minutes, for it to go back to full. We got several calls from reception and from the manager to apologize, but nothing was really done. The manager offered us to move to another villa that evening, but as we had just finished the triathlon, we did not feel like packing up again. The next morning the disco started at 9 am! Once again, the management failed to handle the situation. Luckily for us, the couple left later that day, so on our last day we did have some peace and quiet.
We were very disappointed by the way the management handled the situation. This is not what you expect of such a high standard and expensive hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned from 4 wonderful nights at the Dusun. From the moment you arrive you feel special and the villas are to die for. We are a family of 5 and the 3 bedroom villas were perfect. Large pool for the kids to go crazy in, fantastic undercover/outdoor day couches, kitchen and dining area and beautifully lit at night.

The driver service was fantastic, although you sometimes felt guilty using it to go to the restaurants as they were such as short walk away. Mexicola is right next door which is a trully authentic mexican restaurant, not "Tex Mex". The Grocer and Grind is 100 metres away and everything delicious.

We had one mishap when one of the boys split his chin and required stitches. The manager was there instantly and organised transport straight away to the Bali clinic and had the driver stay while our boy was gettign fixed up.

The bbq in your villa is a must with the candles and ornaments setup, music played by two musicians and full service, a great way to spend your last night.

We have travelled extensively through Asia and this was by far the best place we have stayed in.

It is not just the luxury of the villas but also the friendliness of everyone who works here.

Well done Dusun, hope to stay with you again soon!

Cheers

Simon, Jane, Nick, Tom & Jack

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsonfamily28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and i decided to go different this year, and chose a private one bedroom villa with pool, cooked breakfast in villa. We had 17 night's which were absolutely delightful, very relaxing, very quiet. The staff were delightful, very polite, friendly, nothing too much bother. The villa was very clean, we were asked when we had breakfast, when we would like our room cleaned, the Gardner would come at the same time and clear any fallen leaves etc. The pool guys came every other day and cleaned the pool. You could choose to have meals bought in from various restaurants if wanted, they also had in villa bbqs and other choices.
Cars are available to take you to Seminyak, you make own way back.
The location is ideal, in a quiet area. But close enough to walk to the shops, and a HUGE variety of restaurants, we ate in a different one every night.
Highly recommend The Dusun Villa. We will go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The slogan says it all 'Beyond Expectation'. My wife and I stayed in a one bedroom villa for 7 nights, we arrived exhausted after starting our journey at 2.30am. On arrival we're greeted warmly by the delightful staff with refreshing cold towels, our check-in was efficient and we were soon being shown everything in the villa, and then left with the phrase "if you need anything just dial zero". We decided not to leave our beautiful and extremely private villa that day, so for lunch and dinner we dialled '0', there's no on site restaurant so you have takeaway menus from local restaurants, you choose, the Dusun staff order, collect and the plate up in your villa for you. What a start to a wonderful break.

Everyday all the staff were delightful, happy and helpful which just makes a good holiday great, they booked restaurants for us, the complimentary driver service dropped us off (and collected us again when called), they serviced the rooms beautifully, cooked breakfast in our villa and delivered afternoon tea. I could not think of anything they could have done better, just wonderful, thank you so much Dusun Staff.

The villas were well equipped with wifi available and well appointed, the pool was spotless and the water well balanced (I checked, sad, but it's my job in Oz haha). Before going I had read a couple of reviews that suggested the villas were a bit tired, yes if you look hard enough you can find evidence of this but please they weren't built yesterday and they are immaculate.

In summary I would highly recommend staying here, it's an Oasis in busy holiday spot, run by beautiful people.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 137 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ulin Villas & Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa
#6 of 137 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna2 Studiotel
Luna2 Studiotel
#2 of 137 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#5 of 137 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 137 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Property: The Dusun
Address: Jl. Kayu Jati No. 8, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dusun 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun Hotel is located in the Petitenget area of Seminyak just a minute stroll from Bali’s famous sunset beach and Seminyak’s restaurants. The Dusun is a blissfully quiet property with 14 exclusively private villas. The Dusun takes a professional and friendly approach to hospitality. The service and ambience are natural and never intrusive, with all requests handled pragmatically, without any fuss. The hotel is laden with luxury; the villas, pools and gardens are spacious, set in a bright and tasteful decor. Pamper yourself at The Dusun with its charming atmosphere offering the perfect setting for romantic honeymoons, friends’ getaways or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your The Dusun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Dusun Hotel Bali
Dusun Hotel Seminyak
The Dusun Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing