We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our anniversary celebration even more special”
Review of The Dusun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dusun
Ranked #9 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have visited Bali many times and stayed in the Seminyak/Legian area each time. This time we chose to stay for three nights at the Dusun and celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary there. It was the best decision ever! Kadek arranged everything before we got there including the celebrant, frangipani bouquet and buttonhole, decoration of our 1 bedroom pool villa with floating flowers and candles, Balinese umbrellas, flower stands, an 'aisle' of frangipani flowers and a love heart of rose petals to stand in for our vows, access to a 3 bedroom pool villa for even better photos, the photographer Made (who was brilliant) and a seafood banquet candlelight dinner. The attention to detail from not only Kadek but the other staff as well was second to none and they made the day extra special - in fact it was better than our wedding in Australia 10 years ago! We cannot recommend the Dusun enough to stay at and especially for a special event. We are booking shortly to return again next year ... and every year after!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 12 down the back and it was so quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarryWilliams_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 585 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Wonderful villas literally a 5 minute walk from La Lucciola and the beach. When inside the villas, you would never guess how bad the (car and human) traffic outside can get. The villas are a cocoon of peace and luxury though. This advantage of being in the heart of the action, with the option of getting away from it all in a second, is really a huge bonus.

The villas themselves are done up in Balinese, open courtyard style. While the villas may not be as plush as some others (being of a more minimalist school of design), they have all the amenities and the great service expected of villa properties in the Seminyak-Kerobokan-Canggu stretch. The in-villa swimming pool though is really the jewel in the crown, where my wife and I spent most of our time at the place.

Service, as everywhere in Bali, was great and everyone was very friendly. The free shuttle to the airport and to nearby spots is a nice touch. They don't have a kitchen, but guests can order in from a variety of restaurants, the menu cards for which are provided in the room.

There were some minor niggles though. While being bumped up from a 1 bedroom villa to a 3 bed one might ordinarily be an upgrade, but it ended up being just that little bit less romantic for a romantic getaway. The breakfast options and quality could be better, especially given the price bracket the resort falls in.

A couple of other dampeners, which were beyond the control of the resort staff, but could have an impact on your choice - we stayed there on a Sunday nigh, and even so, the noise from a bar next door got pretty loud at night. While it wasn't audible inside the bedroom, it definitely does take away from the ambience of the open courtyard. Finally, the airconditioning unit of our bedroom kept making a strange noise all night, which affected our sleep. When we mentioned this to the staff the next morning, they mentioned that we could have had this looked at in the night. It would have been useful to know this when checking in though.

However, on the whole, these are small problems with an otherwise great property. A few things here and there, and the "great" could have been "amazing".

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I've visited Bali over 10 times, but when I visited with my family and stayed at Dusun, it was remembered as the best visit to bali to date. In 2010 we stayed in a three bedroom villa and found the staff to be more than accommodating. What separates the Dusun from the other villas ive stayed at is the fact that it is small enough to get to know the staff, and not too big to be forgotten. The location is perfect, the pool was the perfect size, six sun beds were provided without us having to ask (unlike every other villa). The housekeeping cleaned the rooms impeccably, making the beds up beautifully with decoration during the day and providing a turn down service taking off the decorations spraying the room to prevent mosquitos and turning down the bed. It is the small things that made this visit to bali memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjmackie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Dusun Villas is located just off a busy street in the Seminyak area of Bali and a very short walk from the beach. The ten-odd villas built on a 3-4 acre plot however provide total peace, privacy and a green environment when you are in. All the villas have small pools attached, lovely plants & trees and great sit-outs. They also have a collection of books, a music system and comfortable chairs in the spacious verandah. In the four days we were there we never went in to the rooms except to sleep. There is a nice kitchen area in the verandah and every morning a cheerful bunch of Dusunians land up to make your choice of breakfast, make the bed etc. The staff are amazing -- always cheerful and helpful. Apart from the breakfast service in the villa the resort also offers to come & make other meals in your villa. You can also decide to order "room service" from any of the half-a-dozen nearby restaurants. The reception will place the order for you, receive the food and come to the villa, lay the table & serve the food. We found this a great idea in case you want to dine in! They also have a complimentary car service to drop guests to nearby places which is a great help.

Room Tip: All villas are similar so it really does not make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajashekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Dusun last week. I selected The Dusun due to it's location near the exceptional restaurants of Semnyak. The location did not disappoint and we were able to walk to a number of gastronomic delights nearby (La Lucciola, Ku De Ta, Sea Circus, Samaya, the newly opened Vin) and get a drop-off service to other eateries less than ten minutes away (Gad Gado, Sarong, Metis).

Last year we stayed at The Villas in Seminyak and the Dusun is run by the same manager and has the same style/layout. However The Dusun is a little more tired, but nevertheless of a high standard. The bedrooms are large and beds very comfortable. The baths large and luxurious. The separate bedrooms make it hard with a young family - my husband and I sleep apart with the children to ensure they are safe (aged four and younger). The pool safety fence is not the same standard as home but works well to keep the children away from the water

We had an in villa BBQ and the food was delicious and the children loved the entertainment. It is worth every cent

The service is really good and you can tell that the staff care ( and else enjoy their jobs) the complimentary drop off service in the local areas brilliant and make sit easier to get out and about.

The price is on the high side but it is hard to find comparable standards in this price bracket for a three bedroom villa

I would recommend a stay at the Dusun if it is in your price bracket. Your children will love the swimming pool!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyRou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

It's often said the second time is never as good as the first. Well this might be true for a number of places but not The Dusun. In fact, we'd say it was even better - if you thought that could have been possible. The friendly staff we now see as our friends. So willing to help out or just chat about their day when you stopped to say hello. If you stay at The Dusun don't make the mistake of thinking the workers are there to look after you. This they do in spades, but take a minute to enjoy their company, ask their story, it makes your stay in Bali even better.

I can not recommend The Dusun enough. There are plenty of beautiful villas and probably more recently built to stay in all over Seminyak but as far as beauty, space, quiet and peaceful, safe surroundings go, add in the wonderful people and you have a beautiful haven conveniently located to enjoy your days in Bali.

PS: go and see Eddie and Teddie at the end of lane way on the Bodyworks street, they're great guys and will look after you for bikes.

Heading back as soon as we can!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

beautiful villas, very private, really good customer service, the staff there really went out of there way to satisfy all our needs, and the drivers were so polite and helpful!!!! great value, lovely big private pool.Has met all my expectations an more!!! would definitely recommend them to everyone I know!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michaelsaafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 148 in Seminyak
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#10 of 148 in Seminyak
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 148 in Seminyak
1,621 reviews
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 148 in Seminyak
3,571 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ulin Villas & Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa
#3 of 148 in Seminyak
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Address: Jl. Kayu Jati No. 8, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $256 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dusun 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun Hotel is located in the Petitenget area of Seminyak just a minute stroll from Bali’s famous sunset beach and Seminyak’s restaurants. The Dusun is a blissfully quiet property with 14 exclusively private villas. The Dusun takes a professional and friendly approach to hospitality. The service and ambience are natural and never intrusive, with all requests handled pragmatically, without any fuss. The hotel is laden with luxury; the villas, pools and gardens are spacious, set in a bright and tasteful decor. Pamper yourself at The Dusun with its charming atmosphere offering the perfect setting for romantic honeymoons, friends’ getaways or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dusun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Dusun Hotel Bali
Dusun Hotel Seminyak
The Dusun Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing