We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time”
Review of The Dusun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dusun
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Second time”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

It's often said the second time is never as good as the first. Well this might be true for a number of places but not The Dusun. In fact, we'd say it was even better - if you thought that could have been possible. The friendly staff we now see as our friends. So willing to help out or just chat about their day when you stopped to say hello. If you stay at The Dusun don't make the mistake of thinking the workers are there to look after you. This they do in spades, but take a minute to enjoy their company, ask their story, it makes your stay in Bali even better.

I can not recommend The Dusun enough. There are plenty of beautiful villas and probably more recently built to stay in all over Seminyak but as far as beauty, space, quiet and peaceful, safe surroundings go, add in the wonderful people and you have a beautiful haven conveniently located to enjoy your days in Bali.

PS: go and see Eddie and Teddie at the end of lane way on the Bodyworks street, they're great guys and will look after you for bikes.

Heading back as soon as we can!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    53
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
188
232
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

beautiful villas, very private, really good customer service, the staff there really went out of there way to satisfy all our needs, and the drivers were so polite and helpful!!!! great value, lovely big private pool.Has met all my expectations an more!!! would definitely recommend them to everyone I know!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaelsaafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

What isn't there to love about the Dusun? Quiet, comfortable and relaxing, an oasis. 6 adults and a baby were pampered by the Resorts lovely staff.

Breakfast at your groups leisure cooked in your room, the Nasi and Mi Goreng are the best on the island. Excellent coffee and relaxed surroundings, the perfect way to ease into your day.

Generous bathrooms, well sized, powerful showers and every amenity you could ask for. Spotless cleanliness extends from your room, out to the manicured lawns and crystal clear pool or your villa.

Room service is prompt from surrounding restaurants and set up for you at the dining table.

The staff at the Dusun could not do enough to accommodate us, requests for Baby taken care of in minutes, requests for more Pocari by hung over adults with just as much speed.

The resort organised an east meets west barbeque in our villa for 10 people, amazing! Local musicians played soothing songs as chef prepared a succulent array of dishes meeting our never ending list of dietary requirements. The spectacle of the evening was magical, a memory we will carry for the rest of our lives.

In summary i could wax lyrical about the Dusun for another 200 or so words, but just go and experience a decadent experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 3 bedroom Villa number 4, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the Dusun for four of our 9 nights in Bali. The location, the staff, the home made breakfasts every morning at the precise time we wanted it are all reasons why we hated to leave. In tourist-heavy Seminyak, the Dusun was a private enclave with all the best Balinese amenities. If you surf, it is a perfect location to have your guides pick you up and scoot out of town. The private pool provided a very romantic homecoming after a long day of surfing. Service exceeded expectations - I will recommend that all my friends stay here when in Seminyak; you should too.

Room Tip: Villa 8 was perfect for the two of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CristinaBehrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We recently returned from our 3rd stay at the Dusun and wont stay anywhere else! We love this place as it is so relaxing. The pool and gardens are just beautiful and the villa itself is very modern and always spotless. With a 6 month old baby this trip, it was perfect having her sleep in the room whilst we could still enjoy the pool and outdoors. Something you cant do when in a hotel! The staff are all so friendly and welcoming, always helpful with everything we needed. Great location too! Perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kangas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Dusun in a 3 bedroom villa. The wow factor when we walked through the gate into Villa 203 was fantastic, our own private oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Seminyak life. The staff did everything that was expected and more, even organising transport to a medical facility and waiting whilst we were there. The breakfast were yummy with a great selection to chose from. Afternoon tea was a lovely touch. The crisp clean sheets were gorgeous after a long hot day, and rooms were air conditioned. We really could not fault anything and would highly recommend to anybody wanting to visit Bali. Dusun is located within easy walking distance to many restaurants, cafes and shops and also a 4 minute walk to the beach - what more could you want.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom villas perfect for 3 couples or families, rooms are all separate and have own bathrooms gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoneyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

It is hard to book anywhere else to stay when I visit Bali... Everything is immaculate. You just can't beat this place. Service is outstanding, villas and pools kept clean and well groomed. It's a bit expensive and would stay there longer if it was slightly cheaper but still great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlh2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 146 in Seminyak
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 146 in Seminyak
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,545 reviews
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 146 in Seminyak
3,346 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 146 in Seminyak
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Property: The Dusun
Address: Jl. Kayu Jati No. 8, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dusun 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun Hotel is located in the Petitenget area of Seminyak just a minute stroll from Bali’s famous sunset beach and Seminyak’s restaurants. The Dusun is a blissfully quiet property with 14 exclusively private villas. The Dusun takes a professional and friendly approach to hospitality. The service and ambience are natural and never intrusive, with all requests handled pragmatically, without any fuss. The hotel is laden with luxury; the villas, pools and gardens are spacious, set in a bright and tasteful decor. Pamper yourself at The Dusun with its charming atmosphere offering the perfect setting for romantic honeymoons, friends’ getaways or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dusun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Dusun Hotel Bali
Dusun Hotel Seminyak
The Dusun Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing