We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectation”
Review of The Dusun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dusun
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectation”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Always trusting Tripadvisor I booked this property for my second visit to Bali. A long weekend. The one bedroom Villa was exceptional and the service second to none. The Villa has large grounds and a brilliant pool. Most in Bali are shallow yet this one has a 2.2m area so you can actually enjoy getting wet. The gardens are beautiful and its very private. The staff excellent and the in Villa cooked breakfast with a choice of what you would like and the time you would like it is great. My partner and I had a brilliant time and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Including packing some wine for the car trip to The Rock Bar - its a must! Location is brilliant, just down the road from Kudeta and one street away from the main shopping in Seminyak. Don't hesitate to book this property. Its well worth the little bit extra you might pay. The room service is also great as they have a selection from many of the best restaurants from around the area, delivered and plated and served.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnewman38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    53
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
187
232
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teramo, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We've stayed in Bali many times, at the Oberei and other 5 start hotels. I chose these little villas to add a little luxury and privacy between Komodo and Raja Ampat based on trip advisor reviews.
Thank you trip advisor!
Their motto of beyond expectations is clearly engrained in their culture, we simply couldn't fault a single thing. From choosing your time for afternoon tea, or when to have your room cleaned, to free laundry, to arranging a car for the day. These little extras are on top of the perfect room designs, thoughtful layout, spotless clean surroundings, perfect little pool, fabulous breakfast cooked in your kitchen at your chosen time..
I could go on ......but then you only have to read other reviews to understand how good they are.
Definitely our stopover each time we need to stay in Bali.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillandderek44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed at the Dusun in 2005, actually got remarried in one of there one bed villas for our 30th Wedding anniversary, Just spent Christmas and New Year with them (same villa), well I can only say any body that keeps that level of excellence up over that period of time, are doing something right, we have been to Bali every year since 2005 and tried different villas, all very good but none compare withe the Magic of the Dusun, nothing is to much trouble they make you feel like its your extended home and that you are family. I could go on and on about the villas, the wonderful staff, the most considerate drivers, and the lengths that the Manager Gede will go to, making sure your stay is what you dream t of, but no thats part of the magic of a stay at the Dusun, you need to experience all of those pleasures yourself.
And if you do manage to stay Try any one of these restaurants; Mama San, Sardine, La luciola
The SemInyak, Bistrot, Metis and of course Sarong.

Room Tip: all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Dusun is above and beyond. Outstanding location: within the most happening part of Bali but also sheltered away and quiet; complimentary shuttle service available. Outstanding accommodation: stylish, homely and intimate design, attention to detail, spotless. Outstanding service: the professional yet genuine staff, happily cater for your every need. Would highly recommend the Dusun as it offers the best of the Bali "villa' experience combined with the advantages of a resort such as security and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AreWeThereYet98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at The Dusun over Christmas and New Year 2012./13 Both accommodation and the service were excellent. Couldn't fault the experience. I would recommend the BBQ in your villa The Dusun offer. Great experience and value particularly if entertaining friends..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BondiBoy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

What can I say The Dusun Villas were AMAZING! I was blown away by everything from the start. The fact that my partners name was printed out and presented so professionally on the board at pick up from the Airport. The fact that our driver was so happy and genuinely cared for our wellbeing as it was my first ever time in Bali!
The room OMG the room! For me coming from Darwin and living rural this Villa was the most beautiful Villa I had ever seen! It was perfect from the open living area to the very sexy pool to the abundance of flowers blooming on the trees everything was PERFECT!! The Mozzie net around the KING Sized bed was so romantic and the bathroom WOW the bathroom is what I now want in my own home!!
The service was impeccable the Dusun staff are just lovely and want to make sure you have the best stay possible very quiet we didn’t even know they were there when they came to cook breakfast every morning they were just amazing and the breakfast was DELIGHTFUL every single time!
We are planning a trip back to Bali now to stay in a 3 bedroom Villa with more family and kids I can’t wait for my kids to have this experience at the Dusun I can’t think of a better way to introduce them to such an amazing place as Bali then to let them stay at the Dusun for a week!! Im so excited to come back!!
Thanks a million Dusun you really know how to take care of your customers!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa # 11 it was perfect no noise from the outside we hardly heard anyone else the ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenserena1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It's been about 9 months since we've returned from Bali and our wonderful stay at The Dusun - still living the memories.

We can honestly say our time in Bali was the best family holiday ever enjoyed. The accommodation at The Dusun played a very big part in our Bali experience. The staff are all wonderful and always willing to help out. From the airport pick up to the time we left, nothing was a problem. If the driver wasn't available getting a taxi was of no trouble. The villa helpers cooked wonderful breakfast every morning and the place was always well looked after and respected when cleaning or managing the pool.

Beyond the comfort factor, the villa is haven of relaxation and enjoyment centred around the pool which got plenty of use, day and night. Congratulations on such a wonderful place, we will be back for sure. In fact just about ready to book for this April.

Stay at The Dusun you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 146 in Seminyak
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 146 in Seminyak
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,543 reviews
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 146 in Seminyak
3,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 146 in Seminyak
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Property: The Dusun
Address: Jl. Kayu Jati No. 8, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dusun 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun Hotel is located in the Petitenget area of Seminyak just a minute stroll from Bali’s famous sunset beach and Seminyak’s restaurants. The Dusun is a blissfully quiet property with 14 exclusively private villas. The Dusun takes a professional and friendly approach to hospitality. The service and ambience are natural and never intrusive, with all requests handled pragmatically, without any fuss. The hotel is laden with luxury; the villas, pools and gardens are spacious, set in a bright and tasteful decor. Pamper yourself at The Dusun with its charming atmosphere offering the perfect setting for romantic honeymoons, friends’ getaways or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dusun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Dusun Hotel Bali
Dusun Hotel Seminyak
The Dusun Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing