We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private, relaxing, superb location”
Review of The Dusun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dusun
Ranked #11 of 145 Hotels in Seminyak
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Private, relaxing, superb location”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This was our fourth trip to Bali, Dusun was the best Villa we have stayed in so far. We stayed in a one bd villa for 4 nights - it was wonderful. Located about 400m down a narrow road, off the main road (which we later discovered was so awesome, because it was secluded and SO peaceful). Our villa was spacious, beautifully presented, immaculate. The pool was large, the whole Villa was superb. Location was PERFECT - across the road from Bodyworks Spa, 200m LaLuciola / Beach, 5min walk to the main 'eat-street' - we also recommend hiring a scooter from the shop at the entrance to the Dusun. You DEFINATELY have to book a BBQ dinner in your Villa - WOW!! - they decorate your Villa, your own chef, even bring in traditional Balinese music players - impressive and delicious!!!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank nathanandiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    51
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
184
227
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

As soon as we walked into our villa we were so impressed how beautiful it was and how much it really did look like the pictures on their website. After extensive research on TripAdvisor we chose the Dusun to stay for our honeymoon in Bali & we were not disappointed. We stayed in a one bedroom villa. We were originally in villa 11 which was favourite, but asked to move to another villa as there were workers working on the roof on the opposite villa (which has now finished) as we wanted more privacy. The staff were more than happy to meet our request & moved us to Villa 15 which was a little bigger & had another little bedroom attached to it & just as nice. The villa's are so spacious & private, the staff are so friendly & accommodating. The freedom of having your own living area and pool to use whenever you choose was bliss. On our first night we stumbled accoss La Lucciola which is about a 5 minute walk. The food was amazing! Also the Potato head club is a must for a sunset cocktail. We would also highly recommend hiring a scooter for your stay as you get to see so much more of the area (there is a scooter hire at the top of the street for about $50,000 Rupiah, which worked ou to about $5AUD a day. In summary if you are looking for one of the best places to stay in Bali, choose The Dusun. It is great for couples, family and friends. The Villa's are wonderful & the service is impeccable

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bianca_Robo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

A haven from the hustle and bustle of Seminyak. Impeccable service. Private pool. Great for families. We were a couple and travelled with friends with 2 children. The layout gave us a private villa across the pool giving us all privacy and space. We stayed in Villa 5. The staff cook breakfast everyday. It's a basic continental or American but perfectly fine. They did the dishes and served everything. We used room service a lot - they give you options from a range of nearby restaurants. They set the table and serve it. It's is often a bit cold. They have a courtesy car so if you are up for it just make the effort to go up the road to the restaurant. It's close to the beach so early morning walks along the beach are easy and beautiful. Go to Sea Circus cafe just around the corner if you want a better breakfast offering - great coffee. I think this is much better than Grocer and Grind. All the restaurants on the room service list are awesome. We dined at Kaisan (Japanese) - It was sensational and Mades Warung - AWESOME chicken Satay's. The Dusun couldn't have been more helpful in arranging day trips and helping with anything we needed. We weren't concerned about paying a bit more for their help. You can haggle in the street if you want but we had a short trip and just preferred the convenience. I loved this villa. If you are scouting around and don't want to be in the hustle of the Seminyak area I wouldn't be concerned being a bit out - Taxi's are cheap. Just ask for the meter to be turned on.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank VivaTravelcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed at the Dusun Villas in a 3 bedroom Villa and we loved every minute of it. The villa is clean, the service is fantastic and the location is right near seminyak square (walking distance). The staff are so friendly. The pool is beautiful. The rooms are very spacious, air conditioned, with an awesome ensuite in each bedroom. They also have free drop off service which was brilliant. This by far is the best Villa in Seminyak. Would strongly recommend it to anyone. We also looked at the sister company villas - Kunja Villas which are just as beautiful - only drawback is the 5 minute drive to the seminyak square as opposed to a walk away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beyonce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Stayed 5 nights in mid April for our 25th wedding anniversary. Found the villas to be as shown on the website and various reviews. They are spacious and well equipped and are well maintained. The only let down was really to do with the location, Next to the entrance was some building work and generally the local beach was not really what we had expected. Seminyak generally described in guides as the the upmarket neighbour of Kuta had a fair amount of construction.
All the staff at the Dusun were helpfull and particularly the night we had the private BBQ, great food and a surprise anniversary cake.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed our Villa! The pool was great and so was the open air concept, I wish we coulda stayed longer!! The staff were amazing, and the BBQ at our Villa was a highlight for sure! Nice comfy bed and very clean, would love to return one day :)

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Stayed in one bedroom villa for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. Staff couldn't have done more to help. Villas are set out really well and pool is beautiful. If you are staying here I would highly recommend you have an in villa BBQ. The effort they put into these is truly amazing, especially the setup and decorations which appear to be made new each day. If I was being critical, the things that could possibly be improved - In room breakfast - nice, but had better. Cleaning pool (with noisy pump ) when having breakfast not ideal. Chocolates on bed at night would have been good (although hand made decorations each night were nice too), and lack of constant free wifi internet (which is now common in most villas) could be added. Highly recommend stay here - best villa for us so far.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cruiser12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 145 in Seminyak
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 145 in Seminyak
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 145 in Seminyak
1,516 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 145 in Seminyak
1,772 reviews
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 145 in Seminyak
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Property: The Dusun
Address: Jl. Kayu Jati No. 8, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dusun 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dusun Hotel is located in the Petitenget area of Seminyak just a minute stroll from Bali’s famous sunset beach and Seminyak’s restaurants. The Dusun is a blissfully quiet property with 14 exclusively private villas. The Dusun takes a professional and friendly approach to hospitality. The service and ambience are natural and never intrusive, with all requests handled pragmatically, without any fuss. The hotel is laden with luxury; the villas, pools and gardens are spacious, set in a bright and tasteful decor. Pamper yourself at The Dusun with its charming atmosphere offering the perfect setting for romantic honeymoons, friends’ getaways or family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dusun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Dusun Hotel Bali
Dusun Hotel Seminyak
The Dusun Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing