We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little slice of heaven in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
Ranked #4 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

After a first class experience at The Samaya for 5 days, this will definitely be my first choice of accommodation in Bali from now on. Having done extensive research on Tripadvisor.com on villa options in Seminyak, I decided on The Samaya based on the wonderful reviews that this fantastic place has garnered from its fans. And once again, I am glad I took the advice of fellow travellers who took the time to give their comments on this wonderful website. We had such a great experience, this is going to be a long review.

Firstly, the villa - we decided on the newer Royal Courtyard Villas across the road from the main resort and were not disappointed. Staff were always quick with their buggy service whenever we called and the distance was actually a nice walk after a heavy dinner. The villa itself was beautiful. My partner and I posted photos of the villa on our Facebook accounts using the free WiFi the day we arrived, and you won't believe the amount of comments and requests we got from friends to find out the name of the villa. What really sold us on the Royal Courtyard was really the large swimming pool (definitely not an itsy bitsy plunge pool) and it certainly did not disappoint. From the pool in fact, we could turn the wall mounted 42" inch LCD TV so that we could watch our favourite Discovery Travel & Living whilst lounging in the pool - heaven! We loved the nicely landscaped garden and pavilion as well, where we had our breakfast and afternoon tea.

The bathroom itself was a real treat and a lot of thought certainly went into it. We lit candles, drew a bath with the complimentary bath foam and bath salts, and lounged in the jacuzzi with glasses of the complimentary sparking wine whilst watching cable on the wall mounted LCD TV. Then, we could both shower in the double shower stall which came complete with double rainshowers and a wooden bench. Loads of frosted glass in the bathroom also meant that in the day, the bathroom was beautiful with natural daylight and it was a treat to shower with the blinds all open and overlooking the pool and garden.

The staff - certainly the best in Bali! Smiles were genuine and warm, and everyone we met were topnotch. Every morning and evening, we were asked by our butler our preferred time for daily cleaning and turn down service. Room service was always prompt. What was really exemplary was that after we had asked for ice several times, we came back from dinner one night to find that the butler had delivered ice to our villa without our asking for it. On another occasion, we asked the butler to make reservations for dinner at Samaya's beachfront restaurant The Breeze (which was wonderful!) for 7.30pm. Not only did he reserve one of the best tables in the place -absolute beachfront and in our own private corner - he sent a buggy for us at 7.25pm without our having to call for it.

There were many things we loved about The Samaya - the beautiul resort grounds with two public swimming pools, the wonderful beachfront location with amazing sunset views from the lounge area and restaurant, our own private pool and gardens, the lovely bathroom, the comfy king-sized bed, the Bose iPod dock, the two LCD TVs, the free WiFi, the complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and mini bar, the little cakes/chocolates which the staff leave for you after turn down service, the free shuttles to Seminyak, the list goes on.

It is obvious that a lot of thought went into the planning and running of this place, and on on island where beautiful resorts and villas are commonplace and where service is always warm and friendly, The Samaya stands heads and shoulders above its competition and rightfully deserves all the accodales it has received. We will be back ...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,517
    134
    35
    10
    15
See reviews for
258
1,221
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

Have just returned from a wonderful week on honeymoon at the Samaya. Quite simply this place deserves all the praise it receives and more! From the friendly welcome you receive you're made to feel at home instantly. On arrival Ray Clark called our villa to ask if everything was ok and said he'd be around at the beachfront that evening. We went over for sunset drinks and had a great chat. Thanks for the Mojitos!
We decided to stay at the Royal Courtyard Villas and were glad of this choice. They're newer than the main site villas and have a nicer feel to them. The pools are bigger too. What we really liked about this area was the peace and serenity. The restaurant and main pool area here is practically deserted. Nice and peaceful for the complimentary afternoon tea, this was lovely. Fresh scones, cream, jam, sandwiches and a little cake. The journey to the main area on a buggy takes no time at all and can be walked in a couple of minutes anyway. There is also a gym here with immaculate, practically brand new equipment.
Breeze is a fantastic restaurant, lovely food and unbeatable setting. Breakfast was plentiful and faultless, something to look forward to every day. Directly opposite the main resort is Sate Bali, a cheaper and local restaurant that serves excellent Indonesian food. Otherwise the Samaya's drivers will take you to restaurants in the area. We preferred to grab a taxi home rather than be picked up, for the sake of £1-2 it's nothing.
What really makes the Samaya so special though is the staff. Every member is superb, you really are catered for on every front. For instance, at breakfast I mentioned one of our A/C units was dripping. By the time we returned to the villa an electrician had been and fixed it. Another example is after finishing afternoon tea I jumped in the main pool to cool off. By the time I'd swam over to my wife a towel had been unfurled and a glass of ice cold water was on the table. What more can you ask for? We'll definitely be visiting again, don't hesitate to do the same!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoldShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed in Samaya for our honeymoon. It is a great hotel, a great experiment. We felt like a prince and princess. Staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. we certainly will go there again, for our second honeymoon.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shooleyshoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

We spent 8 nights at the Samaya after checking out similar hotels in Seminyak at the beginning of 2009. We couldn't have made a better choice!

Ray and his team made our stay truly memorable and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in one of the Royal Pavillion Villas overlooking Seminyak beach. To say that the views and setting were incredible is an understatement!

All the rooms at the Samaya are spacious and the private pools are a good size. The restaurant serves good quality modern asian and western food and is perfect for dinners overlooking the beach.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for rest, relaxation and pampering in a piece of paradise and we certainly hope to be going back soon.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEXCURTIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

I have to say we had a hard time choosing our accomodation between all those Bali's top rated hotels. Moreover we had a trip to Maldives 6 month ago to another great place and we were still under impression how paradise should look like . So we had a very high expectations and we never regret that we choosed The Samaya.
The place itself is beautifull, gorgeous swimming pools, lovely gardens. Villas are big ( we stayed in Royal Courtyard , the one across the street ) , nice swimming pool in villa with a little waterfall, sundesk, daybed...everything you ever need to relax, spacious bathroom, nice modern interior. Very clean
The food . Breakfast .We had only in villa breakfasts, they have a great choise for every taste. Lunch and dinner. Big choise drinks, cocktails , snacks and salads..we always had lunch infront of the beach....yammi... I would highly recommend The Breeze restaurant for dinner , great food, fresh, tasty, very well presented, good selection of wine.
We had also dinner at KuDeTa and Gado Gado, would preffer "the look" of KuDeTa and food of Gado Gado.
The Spa. We had several spa treatment, loved it.
And of course i have to say how great was the service. Everyone starting the driver who did assist us in the airport , reseption and villa host who showed us around and did help you with anything we ever needed during our stay, the staff on the beach who was always here to bring you fresh drink and help you with the beach umbrella, all the team, were just extremely nice and helpfull. We felt that they do really care to make your vacations wonderfull. They payed attention to every detail of your stay and it was great .

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cioccolatoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

We have just returned for the Samaya Bali. We had 10 wonderful nights is the Royal Courtyard Villas across the road from the Main building. The Villas are immaculateand have a huge private pool cleaned twice a day. The service was far superior than anywhere I have stayed before. The staff always greet you by name and were absolutely wonderful, professional and friendly. Management should be and are proud to have such a wonderful team.Breeze resturant was AMAZING. You must have cocktails along the front and watch the beautiful sunsets over the water. I will be recommending this hotel/villas to everyone travelling to Bali. It was my first visit back after the bombings and I have never felt safer. Thank you to the whole team at Samaya for giving us one of the best holidays we have had. Well Done!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louiemez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

We were curious why The Samaya had such a high rank in Trip Advisor that's why we booked it for a 1-night stay online. Quite pricey for my budget but I felt it would be a nice gift to my wife for our honeymoon. The moment we stepped in the resort, we were so awed by its beauty. We were then guided to our villa which fortunately was upgraded (for free!) to the royal pavilion. Their villas were extremely nice! It was very stylish and elegant. Couldn't stsop taking pictures of the place. We didn't want to waste out day so we immediately went to the beach which was just in front of the resort. It was very clean and not too many people like what we saw in Kuta. There were also very few vendors peddling their goods, but they didn't pester us to buy their stuff, unlike other vendors in other places. The food in their resto was also very delicious! We also love their infinity pool. They also provided us free shuttle to go to Seminyak town and back. The pool and jacuzzi in our villa was very well maintained and the water temperature was just right. They also provided free champagne in the minibar. Was it worth the money spent? Definitely YES! The only thing disappointing is that we had to leave the next day already. Will definitely come back to this magnificent place and I hope that when we come back, it will be just like when we left it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#25 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#12 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Property: The Samaya Bali Seminyak
Address: Jl. Laksmana | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Samaya Bali Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaya Seminyak has an outdoor pool, a steam room, a sauna, and a fitness facility. This 5-star Luxury Boutique Seminyak property features massage and treatment rooms, body treatments, and facial treatments. Business amenities at this 5-star Luxury Boutique property include complimentary wireless Internet access and business services. Samaya Seminyak has an award winning restaurant Breeze and a bar/lounge. 24-hour room service is available. Transportation services at this property include a complimentary airport shuttle (available on request) and a complimentary area shuttle within 2000metres. The staff can arrange wedding services, dry cleaning/laundry services, currency exchange, and computer rentals. Additional amenities include valet parking, a concierge desk, and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Samaya Bali Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
Samaya Bali Seminyak
Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing