We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A place one would want to go back to again and again ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A place one would want to go back to again and again ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Given that Bali is strewn with innumerable resorts, I'd booked our holiday in the Samaya purely based on Tripadvisor feedback. And it turned out to be an excellent choice. The Samaya staff made sure that even the most routine and minor experiences were awesome! It started with the Airport, the Welcome Drink when we reached the resort and then the stunning Villa. Everything was luxury redefined, and everything was delivered with warmth and a smile that made us feel so special.

The Breeze restaurant overlooking the ocean was the perfect start to each day and the Menu was pretty expansive and there were vegetarian dishes as well, so that was great for us.

The resort is bang in the middle of all the action in Seminyak as well. Its a 5 minute walk from the main street with all the restaurants, pubs and shops, and the staff is glad to assist if we need a Car to explore the rest of the districts in Bali. Ubud is a good 1 to 1.5 hour away (one way), so may be a good option is to split your holiday between the Samaya resorts in Seminyak and Ubud.

Ray Clark, the manager was extremely warm and chatted about his experiences of having managed the property over the years. Full marks to him to have kept the property extremely traditional, yet with almost every modern amenity one could think of. And Yes, the Wifi rocks!! :)

Room Tip: Choose a villa in the main resort, rather than the villas on a street opposite. You'll keep doin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viraj_Chatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    128
    33
    9
    15
See reviews for
236
1,158
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I spent a week at The Samaya which truly is an outstanding hotel. We have travelled extensively and would definitely out the Samaya up there in our top 3 hotels around the world. We could not have been better looked after, the staff were so attentive. The rooms were fabulous and the facilities beautiful. The menu at the Breeze is outstanding and my husband's steak was the best he'd had and that's going some considering we have spent a great deal of time in argentina. Watching the sunset with a fabulous cocktail had us hooked so we came back night after night, despite the restaurant options in Seminyak we just couldn't find a match for The Breeze at the Samaya. I would highly recommend both the hotel and the restaurant to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Thank goodness we chose to stay at The Samaya. The staff are efficient, gracious and elegant. The food at the Breeze restaurant is wonderful and the villas are cleaned to a very high standard every day. The day starts with a beautiful breakfast overlooking the ocean with a large choice of juices, cooked food and healthy food. I get the impression that anything you ask for will be catered for. The beds are huge and comfortable and if you desire, there is also a pillow menu. We ate at The Breeze twice and didn't find the price too bad compared to the UK. We also ate at Chandi, Ku De Ta and Junction, all walkable from the hotel. The food in all four restaurants was very good. To give you some idea, Ku De Ta is a tad pretentious but good for people who like to pose and the price reflects this. However The Junction is about a third of the cost, the food is just as good but pay back is that it is on a busy main road. Like a previous reviewer, we were also disappointed with Seminyak which is incredibly touristy, noisy and busy and has no charm whatsoever. Walking along the beach towards Kuta we discovered that this area is even worse and makes Seminyak look like heaven.

Room Tip: There are some villas 'Royal Courtyard' I believe they are called which are across a busy ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryandMungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is great with amazing rooms and service. It felt like luxury from top to bottom. The food was generally great and the pool and sun deck is a great spot with some nice extra touches like fresh fruit and afternoon tea served complimentary. Would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxed luxury stay. We were slightly disappointed with Bali and its beaches weren't the paradise we were lead to expect by the lonely planet but this was made up for by the Samaya.

Room Tip: We stayed in a delux pool villa and it was out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeChurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

It was our family holiday in mid-June and we stayed in a 1 bedroom villa. The villa was clean, spacious and the bathroom was huge, with both indoor and outdoor showers. The villa had its own pool which my kids really enjoyed jumping into first thing in the morning! The location of the hotel was perfect for us - right on the beachfront and the hotel's restaurant, Breeze, overlooks the beach so we could watch our kids play on the sand while we enjoyed the afternoon tea served by the hotel. We had dinner at Breeze restaurant as well and would highly recommend it for the amazing sunset views.

Service by everyone at the hotel was outstanding. Our villas was cleaned while we had breakfast and our butler would arrange for our nightly turn down service while we were out for dinner. The hotel does not have a "kids club" but it can arrange activities for children. When we requested for a horse ride on the beach for our children, our butler was able to arrange for it that same day with the horse riding operator. We really enjoyed our stay at The Samaya and our only regret was that we couldn't stay there longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel was truly incredible from the very warm welcome to the little touches in the villas. Everything was thought of and nothing seemed too much to ask for. The Royal Pavilion was stunning! The outdoor pool area was amazing and that made it so hard to leave! Iudt thank Ray and all the team for making our stay the best experience in Bali!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waitey147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the huge Royal Courtyard Villa. It's about 2-min golf buggy ride from the main hotel but their buggy would arrive right away as soon as requested so it was not inconvenient at all. Butler services were also available for the villas so you can easily call up and have your meals and afternoon tea delivered to your villa. The villa was HUGE with its own deep swimming pool and jacuzzi. It also came with complimentary food and drinks (incl. a bottle of wine!) from the minibar. The beachside restaurant has a very lovely view of the sunset. The spa services were also good and you can hear the crashing of the waves while you have your massage so it was very relxaxing. We were not allowed though to swim at the beach because of the strong waves but nevertheless it was just nice to lounge around by the beach while having an afternoon tea. The hotel also has free shuttle services to Seminyak Centre with free pick-up if needed. Highly recommended for couples who would like quiet time for themselves!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AthenaMarieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#6 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#7 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak
0.6 mi away
Luna2 Studiotel
Luna2 Studiotel
#2 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 138 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samaya Bali Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Property: The Samaya Bali Seminyak
Address: Jl. Laksmana | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Samaya Bali Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samaya Seminyak has an outdoor pool, a steam room, a sauna, and a fitness facility. This 5-star Luxury Boutique Seminyak property features massage and treatment rooms, body treatments, and facial treatments. Business amenities at this 5-star Luxury Boutique property include complimentary wireless Internet access and business services. Samaya Seminyak has an award winning restaurant Breeze and a bar/lounge. 24-hour room service is available. Transportation services at this property include a complimentary airport shuttle (available on request) and a complimentary area shuttle within 2000metres. The staff can arrange wedding services, dry cleaning/laundry services, currency exchange, and computer rentals. Additional amenities include valet parking, a concierge desk, and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Samaya Bali Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
Samaya Bali Seminyak
Samaya Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing