We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Gorgeous but a bit of a hike into town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Madawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Puri Madawi
Ranked #96 of 135 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous but a bit of a hike into town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I can only assume this hotel isn't well known as it was so quiet, and for the money it should've been rammed.

The place is spotless, breakfast great and bungalows are amazing! I didn't want to leave! The pool area is also lovely. The banana and chocolate sauce pancake at breakfast is to die for!

Only downside is it is a pretty long walk into town, but that didn't put us off and shouldn't put you off. I doubt you'd get more for your money to be honest, especially if you want an authentic Bali experience rather than the big, nasty generic hotels which are everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    45
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
18
47
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohope Beach, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this botique accommodation. The rooms were clean and nice. The pool area was great. We felt like we were the only ones here as it was so quiet and peaceful. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which had a downstairs bathroom which was abit of a nusience. Our friends were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our 12th trip to Bali - this time bought a group of friends instead of our children. Having a reasonable knowledge of Bali I was wanting to stay at a place that could provide our group with an escape from the hussle and bussle of Bali at the end of a busy day - Puri Madawi is exactly that. However each couple had motor scooters (arranged through the resort), so the down the lane location was no issue for us at all. But if you didn't have scooter is would be a bit of a nuisance, and it is hard to find for driver coming to pick you up for excursions. Overall a quiet paradise in Seminyak, we would definitely come and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
210 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Situated to the north of Seminyak this property is an ideal retreat from the hustle of the streets. It is probably too far away from the shops and restaurants to conveniently walk so hire yourself a motorbike and brave the chaos. We had a suite but with the upstairs/downstairs layout the single level bungalows are probably a better bet. The staff are helpful and accommodating. The air-conditioning in our room played up after 3 or 4 days - there was no hesitation in simply moving us into another room rather than have us put up with the potential inconvenience of work being done in our room. On arrival there was a minor problem with the shower - it was notified and fixed by the time we were back in the afternoon. If you are wanting a quite and tranquil property at a very good price this one can be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank litigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We booked this 'boutique' through I-escape.com, which in the past had helped us find some amazing boutique hotels. Unfortunately this time we were disappointed. Rooms whilst clean and of a good size, are tired and require investment. A number of things did not work in the room on check in (safe, shower holder, slow draining shower) and strangely the taps on the shower were the wrong way around - hence the first night I had a cold shower needlessly! Breakfast was absolutely horrible - my banana pancake was uncooked, cakey, and tasted of cheap margarine. My boyfriends eggs benedict looked horrible and tasted the same, with the hollandaise sauce more of a grey coloured floury white sauce over basic white sliced bread and cheap ham! The next day we choose the fresh fruit option! Other disappointments were the beach (unpleasant walk to the beach along an alley way, littered, red flagged) and the distance out of town. Whilst we knew to expect this, we hadn't planned for the advanced booking rate on the taxis (as it's down a side road so no passing traffic). Positives, in fairness, were the quietness/tranquillity,the pleasant pool and the friendly service. However I wouldn't go back, and I wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londongirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place is for you if-

- You want some peace and quiet
- Don't mind being a little walk from shops/ restaurants (We had a motorbike and it was perfect)
- Enjoy nice, fresh, Indonesian breakfasts and really friendly staff

We stayed here in Jan 2013 for 3 nights and loved it. Simple, but beautiful Bali style design with a nice pool, garden, outdoor bathroom, strong A/C, DVD player (perfect for watching those new DVDs when you are recovering from the sun), mini bar with Bintang, free tea/ coffee. Nice and easy. We hardly saw any other guests while we were there and that was fine with us! Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We just had a standard and it was more than adequate, nice outdoor shower, view of garden, just a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mereepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked a suite for four days but unfortunately checked in and checked out the next day. The room has nice high thatched ceilings but unfortunately is very musty and most importantly the air con did not sufficiently cool the room. We had it on 16degrees all night and the air still felt like a fan and as the room was so dusty it became very hard to breathe in there.
They did offer to put us in a new room but as it cooled over breakfast we could see there was no difference so we checked out.
The bathroom was great. Nice design. great shower head and the towels were clean and fluffy.
This is a good budget hotel but not for our needs.
There is also a sitting area downstairs but it felt a bit more like an old smoking lounge than one to rest to pass the time reading.
Some people are mentioning it's a bit of a distance away but we hired a motorbike for the time and so we felt it was in a perfect spot as it was off the beaten track but close to everything you need in seminyak. When we moved hotels we actually stayed on the same street. I suppose if you are only on foot then it would definitely be a long walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussieary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
1.4 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#74 of 135 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Devins Seminyak
Golden Tulip Devins Seminyak
#89 of 135 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Taman Ayu
The Taman Ayu
#97 of 135 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#59 of 135 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Balisani Suites
Grand Balisani Suites
#9 of 29 in Kerobokan
3.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bonsai Villas
Bonsai Villas
#101 of 135 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Madawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Madawi

Property: Puri Madawi
Address: Jalan Petitenget, Gg Cendrawasih 68 | Batu Belig, Kerobokan, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Madawi 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Puri Madawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Madawi Seminyak
Puri Madawi Hotel Seminyak
Puri Madawi Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing