We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of town, tired, poor food”
Review of Puri Madawi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Madawi
Ranked #87 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Out of town, tired, poor food”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We booked this 'boutique' through I-escape.com, which in the past had helped us find some amazing boutique hotels. Unfortunately this time we were disappointed. Rooms whilst clean and of a good size, are tired and require investment. A number of things did not work in the room on check in (safe, shower holder, slow draining shower) and strangely the taps on the shower were the wrong way around - hence the first night I had a cold shower needlessly! Breakfast was absolutely horrible - my banana pancake was uncooked, cakey, and tasted of cheap margarine. My boyfriends eggs benedict looked horrible and tasted the same, with the hollandaise sauce more of a grey coloured floury white sauce over basic white sliced bread and cheap ham! The next day we choose the fresh fruit option! Other disappointments were the beach (unpleasant walk to the beach along an alley way, littered, red flagged) and the distance out of town. Whilst we knew to expect this, we hadn't planned for the advanced booking rate on the taxis (as it's down a side road so no passing traffic). Positives, in fairness, were the quietness/tranquillity,the pleasant pool and the friendly service. However I wouldn't go back, and I wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londongirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    55
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
22
72
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place is for you if-

- You want some peace and quiet
- Don't mind being a little walk from shops/ restaurants (We had a motorbike and it was perfect)
- Enjoy nice, fresh, Indonesian breakfasts and really friendly staff

We stayed here in Jan 2013 for 3 nights and loved it. Simple, but beautiful Bali style design with a nice pool, garden, outdoor bathroom, strong A/C, DVD player (perfect for watching those new DVDs when you are recovering from the sun), mini bar with Bintang, free tea/ coffee. Nice and easy. We hardly saw any other guests while we were there and that was fine with us! Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We just had a standard and it was more than adequate, nice outdoor shower, view of garden, just a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mereepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked a suite for four days but unfortunately checked in and checked out the next day. The room has nice high thatched ceilings but unfortunately is very musty and most importantly the air con did not sufficiently cool the room. We had it on 16degrees all night and the air still felt like a fan and as the room was so dusty it became very hard to breathe in there.
They did offer to put us in a new room but as it cooled over breakfast we could see there was no difference so we checked out.
The bathroom was great. Nice design. great shower head and the towels were clean and fluffy.
This is a good budget hotel but not for our needs.
There is also a sitting area downstairs but it felt a bit more like an old smoking lounge than one to rest to pass the time reading.
Some people are mentioning it's a bit of a distance away but we hired a motorbike for the time and so we felt it was in a perfect spot as it was off the beaten track but close to everything you need in seminyak. When we moved hotels we actually stayed on the same street. I suppose if you are only on foot then it would definitely be a long walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussieary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was a great hotel. We stayed in a suite which was beautiful. The garden and pool looked lovely. It was quiet and peaceful but only a short walk from the beach or taxi ride from the bars. Would highly recommend. Breakfast was good too!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The 2 storey bungalows are spacious and well designed.
The pool and gardens look beautiful and are perfect for relaxing.
The location is about a 10min walk from shops in one direction and 15min to the beach which means you're away from the noise of the main road but still close enough to access local amenities. Perfect for us.
Kuta beach is a taxi ride of around 50,000Rp (£3).
Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne_Alan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

A peaceful setting with attractive well kept gardens. If you just want to lie by a pool & relax it's ideal. The location means that unless you fancy a 20 minute walk you will need to get a taxi to go anywhere. The walk to the beach is down some narrow alleyways & the beach is not picturesque as you might expect. The staff were friendly & efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and could not have been better for us. Small hotel, lovely setting, bungalow room just gorgeous with great outside bath room. Pool set amongst garden was big enough. Breakfast was very good, prepared for you a la carte, not buffet. All staff very friendly. The location is out of the way and was very quiet, but also within walking distance to good food and shopping. Great beach bar just 5 minute walk away, as well as a good cheap spa on the way to the beach. Yes the road to it it a little broken up in parts, but no problem for walking or taxi. If you want quiet space with lovely landscaping, good comfort with style and great location, this is the place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
1.4 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#78 of 146 in Seminyak
248 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bali Agung Village
Bali Agung Village
#60 of 146 in Seminyak
459 reviews
1.4 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#76 of 146 in Seminyak
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#31 of 146 in Seminyak
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Balisani Suites
Grand Balisani Suites
#8 of 35 in Kerobokan
678 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 146 in Seminyak
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Madawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Madawi

Property: Puri Madawi
Address: Jl. Petitenget, Gg Cendrawasih 68, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Madawi 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Madawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Madawi Seminyak
Puri Madawi Hotel Seminyak
Puri Madawi Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing