We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & tranquil getaway”
Review of Puri Madawi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Madawi
Ranked #94 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Quiet & tranquil getaway”
Reviewed December 14, 2007

Puri Madawi is the kind of place where you can get away from the crowds and feel like you are in your own world. Just 5 minutes walk from a relatively empty beach, past a local temple and some massage huts, it is secluded enough without being isolating. Within 5-10 minutes by taxi, you can be in the heart of the shops and other resorts if you want some excitement and busy hustle of the outside world. The resort was very quiet and almost tranquil despite being fully booked. I enjoyed this aspect of it; laid by the pool without disruptions or noise. The staff is very friendly. Food was quite good when we had breakfast and dinner. Would recommend for those who want peace & quiet or for wedding parties who want to make their own party in being together. Suites are comfortable and simple with windows overlooking the pool. Mosquito nets were provided for the beds, although there wasn't any problem with bugs during my stay. The front porch was also very nice for reading books and enjoying cocktails.

  • Liked — Intimate & tranquil
  • Disliked — The room decor is lacking a bit of character
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    54
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
21
70
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2007

The adventure in getting to the place is part of the attraction - like no-one seems to know where it is. Including taxi drivers and courier drivers from the airport. Having studied Kerobokan road maps before we arrived, I knew more than the drivers.

Compact hotel, and loved the two-storey Lumbung we booked, but it took about ten minutes to get any attention when we arrived at about 21.00. The sole attendant was "On the toilet'.

Breakfast was included, but its restricted menu became a little boring after a few days. We didn't try any other meals.

Best features, quiet and secluded, excellent accommodation, clean and functional, top service, mainly from young and attracive ladies. Great place to crash out. There is a beach about 5 - 10 minutes walk away - but if you can say this about a beach - pretty scruffy, but again, you would sure have it to yourself.

Minus features - can' think of anything significant, apart from that the management or owners seem to observe strict 9 to 5 hours - maybe they have other interests. A little off the beaten track, but that suited us.

If there were not so many other great places to stay in Bali, we would sure stay there again.

  • Liked — It was really like the website promised
  • Disliked — Needs a handrail on the staircase
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2007

Puri Madawi is a beautiful boutique hotel, we enjoyed our stay overall, however there were a couple of small hiccups. I would recommend that you hire your own vehicle, the resort is a little far out from the main areas of Seminyak for restaurants and shopping purposes. It is ideal if you want "out" of the busy Kuta scene. The reception staff seem to need more training. When we arrived the staff member who greeted us did not seem to initially understand that we had already paid for the accomodation and that we only had to give her the vouchers from our travel agent. This was I admit resolved fairly quickly. When we were leaving several days later there was another problem when the same staff member overcharged us substantially for our food bill on our credit card. She did point this out to us so there was no dishonesty involved, however she did not know how to cancel the transaction. The manger was away for a few days which meant that there was no one at the resort who could resolve this. She then recharged the correct amount telling us that she would get the manager to cancel the previous transaction on his return. We were obviously a little concerned about this but as we were staying on the island we decided to accept this and contact the manager after a couple of days and ensure this was followed through and ask for a fax of the cancelled transaction.It took several follow up phone calls to rectify this. The food is the restaurant overall is very average. The rooms are beautiful and well kept, it is also wonderful and quiet. So for me very mixed views, I am not sure that I would stay there again.

  • Liked — The quiet location, the accomodation and the pool area.
  • Disliked — The food was average and reception staff need more training.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NatnDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2007

Puri Madawi is a great find, quiet and just far enough away from the busy areas without costing too much to get there. The room (a suite) was well-designed with a good eye for detail, very spacious and good value.
We enjoyed the breakfasts (included) and lunches in a pleasant dining area by the pool and the service was good. It is run (and was built) by an Austrian and maintained and cleaned to a very high standard.
It's about 5 mins. to the beach and then a pleasant walk (15-20 mins) to some very good restaurants.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicki_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2006

Stayed there for 2 weeks in late August 06.

I have been to Bali several times and Puri Madawi beats all the other places I have stayed before at.

The rooms are beautifully designed and really good value. Highly recommend to go for the suites, which offer an outside lounge.

Location is sufficiently far removed from the hustle and bustle to be peaceful, but still close enough to enjoy what Bali's nightlife has to offer.

Staff is well trained and very friendly.

  • Liked — beatutiful rooms and peaceful atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mfeitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

If you can ignore the worrying drive down the lane to the hotel, and the slightly more disturbing walk through a building site to the (excellent) beach, then this place is a gem. Extremely reasonably priced, very friendly and helpful staff, a wonderful pool and beautiful rooms, with outdoor bathrooms. We stayed for two nights and wished we stayed for longer. It's a great base for exploring the south of Bali, or to start a tour of the Island (we went on to the north from here). The food's not the greatest, but the bar and bar staff were lovely, and there are plenty of very good restaurants nearby. We'd definitely go back.

  • Liked — Peaceful, luxurious and affordable.
  • Disliked — Probably the menu in the evening, although it wasn't a problem at all - good for snacks, but not really an evening meal kind of place.
  • Tips/Secrets — The pool's open 24 hours, the club sandwich is great and there are some lovely restaurants nearby.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TimKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 18, 2006

Me and my spouse, we stayed at Puri Madawi for 5 days at the end of March. We loved the place from the moment we stepped into it. Although when we first entered the small road leading to Puri Madawi we were wondering what to expect.
Greeted personnally by the Manager we were brought to our rooms. We have been to Bali already a couple of times, but I have to say this is the most tastefull place we have been so far (our budget has its limits thogh). After we had settled in we went back to the reception to get some information about transportation and what to do arround the area. We were given a number of suggestions on restaurants, nightlife and tours - which we found very valuable. We hired a car for a very reasonable price and did not have to do anything as everything was smoothly organized.
The breakfast at Puri Madawi was the full treat - fresh croissants, fruit and more we could ever eat.
We had snacks during the afternoon a couple of times - yummy!
The beach is inviting for long and very private walks, yet the currents can be too strong for swimming. We prefered the beautiful pool anyway.
The staff was always helpfull and friendly - no more can be expected.

We will be back in August with some friends and looking very much forward to it.

Anna Spiegel

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
1.3 mi away
Bali Agung Village
Bali Agung Village
#61 of 143 in Seminyak
446 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#78 of 143 in Seminyak
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Balisani Suites
Grand Balisani Suites
#8 of 35 in Kerobokan
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Devins Seminyak
Golden Tulip Devins Seminyak
#79 of 143 in Seminyak
468 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#29 of 143 in Seminyak
608 reviews
1.4 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#74 of 143 in Seminyak
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Madawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Madawi

Property: Puri Madawi
Address: Jl. Petitenget, Gg Cendrawasih 68, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Madawi 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Madawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Madawi Seminyak
Puri Madawi Hotel Seminyak
Puri Madawi Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing