We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Private Oasis”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Does this look relaxing? Enjoy your time in Bali
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Does this look relaxing?
Enjoy your time in Bali
The Pool
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
Bathroom (Twin Bedroom)
Bathroom (Twin Bedroom)
Bathroom (Bedroom)
Bathroom (Bedroom)
Bathroom (Second Bedroom)
Bathroom (Second Bedroom)
Entrance
Pathways
Welcome to your own private villa
Swim in your own private pool whenever you want
Pool at night
Sun yourself on the pool loungers
Some of our wonderful staff - Juwini, Adi & Putu
Bedroom 1 - Super King bed 200cm x 200cm
Bedroom 1 - individual touches
Bedroom 2 as King layout - Super King bed 200cm x 200cm
Bedroom 2 - overlooking pool
Bedroom 2 - Twin layout
Bedroom 2 - Twin layout
Bedroom 3 - Super King bed 200cm x 200cm
Bedroom 3 - Super King bed 200cm x 200cm
Bedroom 3 - Super King bed 200cm x 200cm
Breakfast in bed anyone?
Lounge at night
Lounge area
Looks good, doesn't it.
Dining / kitchen
Who's ready for dinner prepared by their own private chef?
Picture yourself here with a good book...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Trina S
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Private Oasis”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

From the time we arrived at the airport through to the Villa everything was seamless. Nothing is to much trouble for Juwini & Putu.

The villa is beautiful and kept to a very high standard. Juwini does a fantastic job and is an amazing cook.

My family loved their stay and we would all love to come back again.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2015
Hi Trina,
Thanks again for choosing to stay at Umalas Retreat.
I'm happy to hear that you were well looked after, especially by Putu and Juwini.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin M
2 reviews
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Lovley villa, food and service was all incredible. Was a little bit far out for us it would of been a bit easier to walk into town instead of catch cabs but we very much enjoyed our stay at Umalas.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Juwini
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2015
Thanks for your review Caitlin.
We're glad you had a good time.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueMcH
Albany, Australia
1 review
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I stayed here with my daughter (for her 21st birthday and first trip to Bali) and my sister for five nights at the end of a "Girls trip" What a perfect way to finish our holiday. When we arrived Juwini greeted us with cold towels and refreshing fruit juices. The villa is beautifully decorated and feels very welcoming. The living/kitchen area is open air but the bedrooms are all private and lockable (plus having 24 hour security made us feel very safe) The beds are so comfortable and have a variety of pillows to suit everyone. The bathrooms are spacious and spotless. The outdoor area around the pool is beautiful. Lovely gardens, comfy sun beds, big bean bags and cushions to relax on. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Juwini is an amazing cook and looked after us so well. Each evening she lit mosquito coils and placed around the living area, sprayed our rooms and turned down our beds. We felt very spoilt and were able to totally relax.
We loved the peacefulness at Umalas Retreat and will definitely be back
Thank you Kay for making it all so easy and enjoyable - the online booking process, the transfers, the comfort of the villa and your lovely staff all made for a very relaxing stay and one we would happily recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Loved everything about the villa and Juwini's cooking is amazing
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2015
Hi Sue,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.
We're glad that you all had a good time, and that Zoe had a memorable 21st.
I know what you mean about the comfy beds; I love them too!
Please visit us again soon,
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy h
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

What an experience we had at Umulas . From the airport pick up to the retreat . We were greeted by beautiful lady Juwini who had cold towels and cold drinks for us . Nothing was to much for Juwini , the meals she cooked were to die for , she keep the place beautiful she even turned down our bed at night . The pool was so nice we spent a lot of time in there . Our room was like a 5 star hotel . There was sercurty at the villa 24 hours a day . We had such a great time. My husband is visually impared and he coped very well .

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Juwini
Liked least: Could not walk to beach had to catch a taxi
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2015
Hi Judy,
We loved having you stay, and we loved living vicariously through your holiday posts on Facebook. You looked like you had a blast.
Come back and visit us soon.
Kindest regards,
Anythiny & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C
2 reviews
“Best holiday ever!”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

As soon as we entered the villa all 6 of us knew we had made the right choice! The villa is beautifully decorated with super comfy beds and quality linen. The staff is so friendly and everybody was so nice to us. Juwinee is a wonderful ! We decided to have most dinners in the villa as we loved her food so much! We rented scooters which was a perfect way to explore the surroundings, especially Berawa and Echo Beach! The only thing we regret is that we couldn´t stay longer. Thank you again for a lovely stay, We miss Bali and Umalas resort so much.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and Juwinis cooking!
Liked least: to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2015
Hi Anna,
Thanks for your review, and for your lovely words regarding Juwini. It is hard to dine elsewhere after you've tasted her cooking.
Come back and visit again, and stay longer next time.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BecL87
2 reviews
“Ahhhhmazing!”
Reviewed November 28, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Wow! I was blown away the minute we walked through the front entrance! The photo's do not do this villa justice. The staff at Umalas are fantastic, Putu was our driver for a few of our day trips and did not disappoint! And as for Juwini, Kay this lady is a godsend, beautiful breakfast every morning and she cooks an amazing mi goreng! On my birthday we spent the night in and she cooked a wonderful dinner and surprised me with a beautiful birthday cake! Evan the security staff make you feel right at home, all of the staff at umalas made our trip so enjoyable we loved seeing there smiley faces everyday!

I found the villa to be further from Seminyak then I thought but we loved the piece and quiet, and with scooters it made our days more adventurous!

Everything about my holiday at umalas was fantastic, I started looking at photos on the plane when we were leaving and it bought a tear to my eye, beautiful bali and beautiful people, I've definetly left a piece of my heart at umalas!!

Will see you again soon :)

Date of stay: November 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2015
Hi Bec,
We're so glad you decided to spend your birthday with us in paradise.
We too feel that Juwini is a godsend - thank you.
Come back and visit us again soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narelle19...
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect 8 nights away with some of my bestfriends ;)”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Been home over a week now from an awesome 8 day break to beautiful Bali...
Left my husband & 3 sons home and went with 6 of my best girlfriends & we had an unbelievable trip.
I felt a fair bit of pressure as I'd selected the accomodation & hoped it lived upto the reviews & photos etc.... Well ~ it certainly didn't disappoint. Exceeded our expectations and wer'e already planning our next trip.
The place itself is absolutely stunning (the photos don't lie & it's even better in real life)
I wasn't aware we had 24/7 security outside when booking but this was very reassuring to us all. The staff were AMAZING from the pool cleaner, the driver from the airport & the security guys. The biggest treasure we found on our trip tho' was the beautiful Jerwini :)
She was the housekeeper/chef & now friend. She made the room light up in the morning, answered any of our questions regarding Bali (where to go, what's a good price for something etc etc....) & did it all with a smile. Might I add too...... boy oh boy can she cook! We ate out alot of meals BUT the couple of lunch and dinners we had at home were outstanding and as good if not better than the restaurants. She truly was a highlight of our trip & we all feel blessed having met her. One day in the next year or so we hope to be back to see her & relive our wonderful getaway. Thankyou to all who made our holiday so amazing ~ we miss you all & hope to see you again in the near future xox

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff & place is beautiful :)
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words N, especially regarding Juwini's service.
She's a real treasure and we love her.

Please come back and visit us again soon.

Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing