We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful hotel I have ever encountered!”
Review of Uma Sapna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Uma Sapna
Ranked #14 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most beautiful hotel I have ever encountered!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Uma Sapna is without a doubt the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed at.

My fiancé and I have stayed at our fair share of hotels over the past few years (including some rather famous ones such as Marina Bay Sands in Singapore) and Uma Sapna is by far the best hotel we have ever had the pleasure of staying at.

Our private villa with plunge pool was perfect and the Hotel staff went out of their way to meet our every request.

During our time in Bali we stayed at other more expensive hotels (with higher star ratings) which paled in comparison to our stay at Uma Sapna.

STAY AT THIS HOTEL...you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Get a private villa with plunge pool as opposed to a villa with lap pool (this provides you with a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasapna, Guest Relations Manager at Uma Sapna, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Claire F,

We are very happy to read that you and your fiancé enjoyed your stay at Uma Sapna so much. Our staff is honored about the fact that you selected Uma Sapna as the best hotel you ever stayed with your hotel experience. Even in comparison to different hotels with a higher star rate.

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and especially for reccommending Uma Sapna to other users. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you and your fiancé again at Uma Sapna in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Team Uma Sapna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    222
    36
    7
    1
See reviews for
134
793
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked for six days and headed on our discovery adventure of Bali.
Pleasant surprise no 1: the hotel upgraded us to a full private pool villa. We arrived quite late in the evening and had the feeling of being expected and warmly greeted. Smiling and good wishes come easy to Balinean as we discovered.
No 2: whowever complained about the breakfast should seriously get a life. The menu has over 35 items and is the most extensive room service breakfast we ever had. Well done Uma Sapna.
No 3: the staff are soooo nice and helpful. I'm sure they have heard all the same questions over and over again but the answers are genuine and helpful.
No 4: we asked for advice on excursions we could do. Nonproblem, they assisted us and made bookings. One tour left very early before breakfast begins but they managed to feed us before we left.
No5: room service. A delicious selection of Indonesian, western, or French mains. It was all well presented and quite good.
No6: Balinese wine! Yes, there is one winery and their selection while limited is quite nice. A tad sweet but pleasant enough. Wine is relatively expensive here but local wine is a bargain

No 7: Uma Sapna is located away from noisy streets off an alley, well lit on the premise and a short walk to beaches or restaurants.
Tip for visitors looking a short cut to cafes. Take a right at the alley, then a right into another alley at the rice field and you will arrive at The Bistrot on the main drag.

Beaches and surf is awesome at Seminyak.

Disapointments? Tough to pick any but let's just say that litter everywhere (not at Uma Sapna) is a bit offputting for this piece of paradise. Harassment from street vendors is relentless but these folk have to make a living.

Thank you Uma Sapna for a great vacationm

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobalguyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasapna, Guest Relations Manager at Uma Sapna, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear GlobalguyOttawa,

With great pleasure we have been reading the compliments you gave on our villa park and we feel very much honored for it. We are really delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Uma Sapna villa's so much. We are always trying to provide our guests with the feeling of staying in a quiet, relaxing oasis but still only a minute away from the busy heat of Seminyak. Our staff is always prepared to help you with any question/problem that you might have and hopefully we can work out a solution with a smile:)

On behalf of the entire team of Uma Sapna I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and for recommending us to other people. We look very much forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Team Uma Sapna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Spent 4nights at the resort. Stayed in a 1brm deluxe pool villa.
As seen in the reviews here, the resort is very clean as u can see the staff going around cleaning, picking up leaves, painting and doing lots of maintenance to prevent it for deterioration. Its amazing to see an old resort, but still looks brand new, maybe even better than newer villas.
Hotel staff is amazing, gd attitude and always with a smile. They always try to accede to our request without saying no.

Why do i say its still fall short?

Dont get me wrong, its a very nice place to stay in. Huge villas, bed, pool, lounge area etc. However, since its huge, the aircon struggled in cooling the whole villa esp if ur staying during the hot season... Kudos to the staff who brought along a stand fan to help fan the heat.

Actually if uma sapna is willing to partition the bedroom from the toilet rather than the current open concept, the aircon wouldnt be struggling. U save energy and u may have guest who are friends staying, since this will offer more privacy.
Next the breakfast, though not that bad but seriously lack of variety.
Wifi is intermittent as we hv seen days wth good and bad reception.
Though i dont use the hairdryer, my wife did mention its low power wattage hence its takes awhile to blowdry her hair.
One of the rare resort which offers 60+channels but on a small tv! The villa is huge so it looks kinda far when ur watching tv.

Overall still a good stay but still room for improvements!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank adknet03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasapna, Guest Relations Manager at Uma Sapna, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear adknet03,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a report on TripAdvisor and giving us feedback on how to improve our rooms in such a way so we can compete with the big hotels.
We are very pleased to read the fact you enjoyed your stay in our villa's so much and the that you noticed the hard work our dedicated staff does to keep the park as clean and pleasant for our guests as possible. And always do so with a smile :)

On the other hand we want to take a serious look at the feedback that you provided us with.
First of all the air conditioning: At the moment we are busy replacing and upgrading our airconditioning in all the villa's. So we can guarantee our guests with a cool and refreshing night rest. Also we are currently busy with upgrading our wifi, So at the moment there is a switch going on between the old transmitters and the new one's which causes the unpredictable wifi signal.

As for the menu of our breakfast. The plan is that the new Uma Sapna restaurant is going to open her doors in July. So from that point on the whole menu including breakfast will be reorganized and our guests can enjoy the best French, Italian and Japanese treats in the new restaurant.

We hope we provided you with enough information on the different improvements that can be done in our villa's. We are working hard to improve! We are looking very much forward to welcoming you again in the near future so you can experience the new upgraded Uma Sapna!

Kindest Regards,
Team Uma Sapna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

A 30 minute drive from the airport, Uma Sapna was home to us for 7 days. We were welcomed with a surprise upgrade to an executive villa with a private pool.

Everyone from those at the reception, housekeeping, room service were very friendly and polite.

Location is perfect if you choose to stay at Seminyak - 20 minute walk to the beach, 10 minutes away from the market and restaurants.

Breakfast served in the room, always on time. Perhaps the only things that would have made our stay perfect was some variety in the breakfast spread. Having the same list to choose from everyday made it slightly disappointing for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pratima_Sourabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasapna, Guest Relations Manager at Uma Sapna, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Pratima_Sourabh,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us. We are very happy to read that you find the location of Uma Sapna perfect for the fact that the beach and the markets are only a few minutes away. Also we are very pleased to read about the compliment on the kindness of our entire staff. We also we try to provide our guests with the best possible services.

On the other hand we feel very much sorry about the fact that we disappointed you with the variety in our breakfast menu. Ideas and tips are always very welcome. So if you have any suggestions about the way we can improve our breakfast menu. Please feel free to write use, We will be happy to listen to your proposals.

Despite the variety in our breakfast menu we hope you enjoyed your stay in Bali and especially with us. We very much hope to welcome you again at Uma Sapna.

Kindest regards,
Team Uma Sapna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Bali is far and away our favourite holiday destination made even more appealing by the new Airport facilities ( and by the way,the new arrival hall back in Perth is high tech and amazingly fast)A short and inexpensive Taxi ride to Seminyak had us arriving at Uma Sapna for our 5 th visit.We were greeted with a delightful "welcome home" by the reception staff.
As we arrived a couple hours earlier than check in time,we left our luggage and headed for our Coffee Shop of choice ...Buzz, at the intersection of Jalan Seminyak and Jalan Kunti.They advertise the best coffee in Bali...and they are spot on.
We made a reservation at Chill Reflexology for a massage later in the day and then made our way back to the villas.
Our first surprise was an upgrade to an executive villa which was so pleasant and serene.A humourous aside, the shower room alone was almost as big as our ensuite at home.
A private swimming pool completed a very appealing and completely relaxing home for the next 10 days.
Uma Sapna is located In Jalan Drupadi which is a relatively quiet street only minutes away from the major shopping street and the best restaurants.
The staff are exceptional and incredibly friendly.Nothing is too much trouble for them,and on this visit we were even given daily basic Indonesian language lessons by the security guards.( which produced enormous laughter on both sides).

It is a 15 - 20 minute walk to the beach and is not at all taxing if you have a reasonable fitness level.
Breakfast each morning was prompt and enjoyable.Housekeeping was discreetly done while we were out each day.
Perhaps the only thing that would make the holiday perfect would be new televisions,as the existing sets are minuscule ( well maybe really little)
My wife and I have such enjoyable holidays here that we have already booked another trip later in the year.

Room Tip: Villas away from Jalan Drupadi are much quieter. Also don't save money by choosing a "plun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxwellk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasapna, Guest Relations Manager at Uma Sapna, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Maxwell,

On behalf of the entire team of Uma Sapna we would like to thank you very much for visiting us again and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor as well as recommending our hotel to other visitors in Seminyak.

We are really happy to read you enjoyed your fifth stay at our villa's so much that you already decided to book a trip for next year. We all look really forward to welcome you back home.

Kindest regards,
Team Uma Sapna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We arrived after a long trip from North East Bali to be greeted with the most delicious welcome drink and ice cold towels. The check in was smooth and fast. The welcome fruit platter was yum. Our one bedroom pool villa was lovely with a reasonable sized pool. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.
We were very impressed with the servicing of the villa. All the staff including pool staff arrived at once making the servicing one of the quickest and most efficient that we have experienced in Bali.
The staff at the Spa were wonderful and I had the best massage and facial for a very reasonable cost.
The breakfasts were pretty WOW. There was good choice with the breakfast always arriving on time and cooked food still hot. We loved the eggs benedict and traditional bacon and eggs.
The fresh juices were lovely and I had a pot of hot chocolate that would rival any hot choclate in Paris.
The only negative is the small television and bad reception.
We were so impressed with Uma Sapna that we wanted to book for our visit in January 2014 and asked to view the Executive Pool Villas. These are absolutely beautiful and very large. They have a great pool size with outdoor kitchen and living area. We chose the Nias. We were given a return price for this villa but unfortunately when we tried to book, the reservations department would not honour the quote nor guarantee that we could have the Nias Villa. We were very disapointed and went elsewhere which turned out to be fabulous. See my review on the Vasanti

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StormgirlA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasapna, Guest Relations Manager at Uma Sapna, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear StormgirlA1,

On behalf of the whole team of Uma Sapna we would like to thank you for staying with us. We are happy to read that you noticed the way our staff is always trying to provide our guests with the most quick and accurate services as possible. Also the cooks will be very happy with the compliment about our breakfasts.

We want to apologize for disapointing you for the fact that we could not honour your request for booking the Nias room. We are sorry to inform you but our company's policy does not allow guests to choose a specific room due to the low number of villa's we can provide and the high occupation level. When guests make a reservation for executive villa's and request for a specific villa we can check the availability of the villa at the moment of checking in, but we can't guarentee guests a specific room they want to pick because it is subject to occupation and time of arrival of other guests. Again we are sorry to inform you about this matter but we hope you can understand our situation.

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our company and we hope to welcome you again at Uma Sapna.

Kindest Regards,
Team Uma Sapna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

PROS:
very tranquil
well located - 15 to 20 mins walk to Ku De Ta & beach / 5 mins walk to Kayu Aya
strong WiFi
affordable SPA rates (when compared with Singapore prices)

CONS:
roads outside have very little lighting

Room Tip: ask for rooms across the road from the front desk - you don't want waiting guests to check out y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank username_traveller_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasapna, Guest Relations Manager at Uma Sapna, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear username_traveller_

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our villa's as wel for reccommending Uma Sapna to other people on ResidentAdvisor.
We are pleased to read that you were happy with the location of our villa park and the affordable spa treatments we offer to our guests. As the title of your review states: 'you just have to keep coming back' we would be delighted to welcome you again.

Kindest Regards,
Team Uma Sapna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
0.6 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 146 in Seminyak
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#31 of 146 in Seminyak
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 146 in Seminyak
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uma Sapna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uma Sapna

Property: Uma Sapna
Address: Jl. Drupadi no. 20xx | Basangkasa, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#13 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Uma Sapna 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a desirable residential environment in the heart of Bali’s prestigious Seminyak village, Uma Sapna is near an array of fashionable restaurants, shopping areas and vibrant nightlife. Sublime white-sand beaches are a few minutes from us and Ngurah Rai International Airport is 30 minutes away. Blends privacy and comfort with art, culture and design for a unique holiday experience in a place to soothe the senses-mind, body and soul. Self-contained villas are perfect for honeymooners or for the discerning travelers seeking an escape, just the way they like it. We also proud to house one of the best restaurant in Seminyak, Kilo Bali. Opened in September 2014, Kilo Bali offers Kilo’s signature dishes, but also presents specials that are created with local ingredients and produce in mind to transform the sharing experience while captivating the diner’s imagination and palate. Distinguished by unconventional and modern minimalist architecture that challenges the traditional landscape, Kilo Bali offers a quiet respite away from all the hustle and bustle of Seminyak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Uma Sapna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Sapna Seminyak
Uma Sapna Hotel Seminyak
Uma Sapna Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing