We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Divine...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uma Sapna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Uma Sapna
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Divine...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We have returned to Uma Sapna after 18 months to again discover it's tranquility. One this occasion we stayed for 7 nights in 'Nias' a Deluxe Villa with private pool. Again our stay as throughly enjoyable. Earlier reviews haven been critical of the property's location. Uma Sapna is located down a lane way off Jl. Drupadi. The entrance from Jl. Drupadi is lit at night with the distance to reception about 40 metres. The location of Uma Sapna is one of its assets, other than the occasion aircraft travelling overhead you hear nothing of the maelstrom that is Seminyak,yet you are close enough to walk to Seminyak's eat street. We again found the villa and courtyard to be well maintained and exceptionally clean. We noted an earlier review which commented on moss on the pool. Ours too has small patches on the underside of the stone surrounds but this was understandable given the high humidity of Bali. We did note that our villa and furniture is nearing the time where it will require renovation. We didn't consider a major problem yet but in 12 to 18 months steps will have to be taken to renovate the villas. Hopefully this will occur when the expansion of the property ( they are building a further seven villa) is finished. The staff were fantastic during our stay,but special mention must go to our driver and friend Dharma who exceed what you would expect from a member of staff. Dharma's friendliness and good humour was one of many highlights. Overall Uma Sapna was again a fantastic place to relax. We are already planning our next visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    206
    33
    7
    1
See reviews for
118
701
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Second time at Uma Sapna in a one-bedroom deluxe villa and have to say it's still the best of Bali. The service is excellent, the staff are so friendly, the villas are so good you don't want to leave! Perfect!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stanly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

uma spana is a picture of calm. upon entering the villa, you somehow feel relaxed. the private spa pool in the most basic room we got was great for dipping. and swimming could be done in the main pool. the room layout and deco was lovely. service was excellent. breakfast (a menu is sent to you and you have to submit it before 1am) is served into the villa at your chosen time. the only issue is, the location isnt great. you need to walk through a dark alley to get to the main road. and from there, take a cab to the legian beach. seminyak beach that is within walking distance is really quite dirty and not suitable swimming at all. i booked the room on offer, hence, feel it's great value. but without that offer, i'm not so sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lets start by saying thank you for having myself and my wife to have such a wonderful stay in Uma Sapna.
Service 5 - Very prompt housekeeping and service call. Staff speak averagely good English and will be able to understand most of our request. They even bother to call back if they missed a call from me. The staff are polite and humble, they quietly greet the guests and tries not to disturb the peace of the villa
Value 4 - Its not a low cost stay, but this Villa offers a good value and you do not mind paying.
Sleep Quality 4 - Very Peaceful and quiet bedroom. Bed are King size and airconditioned.
Cleanliness 4 - I would say it is not easy to keep a Villa clean like hotel rooms. Becuase its landed, you would expect to see few ants and some dead leaves. But the cleaniess is beyond my expectation, they kept the place neat and tidy.
Location 3. Entrance are along a dark and narrow alley. My first impression of the Villa was not good becuase of this. It takes a lot of movtivation to overcome this so that I could take my wife out on foot to explore nearby places.
Rooms 5 - No complains, Furnitues at the pool side are a little worn, but that OK with me.
Resturant 4 - There is no Resturant in Uma Sapna although they provide room service at competitive rate. Food isn't fantastic but this isn't an issue as there are tons of option out there in the Seminyak streets. We order only room serive once when we arrived and busy unpacking stuffs. We had honeymoon package dinner and lunch in the Villa too. Food was prompt and arrive on time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dampard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

First of all I want to comment on location, of the villa, it took us quite sometime to find it as it was situated in a small narrow lane where signage is not properly put up. 5mins walk takes you to the busy shopping area around the corner.

We Booked it via their website at a discounted rate as the were some renovation going on within the villa but that's not really an issue.

Me and my wife don't really like the layout concept of the villa as privacy is really compromised in the toilet area as the villa's wall is lower then expected. The glass panel is not frosted. There isn't any door that separate the sleeping area from the toilet WC. Feel awkward when one need to us the WC and your partner using the vanity.

After having a dip in the purge pool you had to walk pass your living and bedroom area to get to the shower room which you will wet the floor along the way.

Bed is huge, that's a plus point, but the TV is a bit too small as it is placed quite far away. If the fridge is placed inside the villa that will be better.

If the villa can do some touch up to make it look newer that will be nice.

Staffs is really helpful and friendly no doubt about that. Will consider booked again if their price remain at the current discounted rate.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaRRy0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

warm welcome from the staff. they gave us water melon juice and cold towel to freshen our body after long trip! check in process is fast, the ambience always feels right. order the nasi goreng from the food service, its delicious! only short walk to shops in the famous seminyak road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
282 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have returned after a year and sadly the shine is starting to fade. Staff are fantastic and the facility is everything someone seeking true privacy, private pool, (who misses the dawn pool lounge predators with their towel and paperback book?) and plenty of room in a sundrenched yard, but now signs of wear and lack of care in this tropical climate are showing.

WHAT REMAINS THE SAME?

• Private villas
• Own private pool in a private sun drenched yard (for the private villas)
• Very good high speed internet WiFi
• Great privacy
• Very good, friendly service with style.
• Offer several different accommodation configurations and we stayed in two bedroom villa with its own private pool
• Staff still respects your privacy. The cleaners still waited until we went out each day, always at a different time. There are no views which you trade for total privacy. There is even a door bell and an internal courtyard lock.
• Breakfasts are unchanged, are good and are provided to your room.
• Outdoor undercover kitchen areas are wonderful and perfect for working and internet access while jumping in and out of the pool.

WHAT WAS DISAPPOINTING?

• Water in the room (shower, taps) turned itself off after some 10 minutes and then back on again after say 2 minutes. Very frustrating standing in a shower, soap all over your face waiting for the water, anywhere, to come back on. Perhaps we should have turned to the bottled water!
• The private pool had moss in the bottom and edges. Obviously difficult to maintain in a tropical climate but last year our pool was spotless as it was as we moved through other accommodation in Bali and Thailand.
• Dirt on some window sills and in corners around the bathroom.
• Rust stains on the white feature wall outside the bathroom feature window. It’s time for a repaint.
• Some feature plants had fallen off a wall and remained for the length of our stay on the ground.

Uma Sapna has been a wonderful retreat and the facilities remain the same, we can only hope that the above early signs of decay and poor management are corrected quickly and this is not the start of a downward spiral.

Room Tip: We recommend emailing your requirements and clarifying everything before booking, including a guaran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaleenXTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#30 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#5 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#6 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uma Sapna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uma Sapna

Property: Uma Sapna
Address: Jl. Drupadi no. 20xx | Basangkasa, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#13 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Uma Sapna 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience privacy and luxury, "just the way you like it" at the Uma Sapna, a private villa complex inspired by contemporary design, is a reflection of Bali's creative essence. The resort is situated in a residential environment in the heart of Bali's upscale Seminyak village. Featuring 24 one bedroom and 2 two bedrooms villas, scattered over the property, each protected for privacy. Shopping and international dining are within five minutes walking distance. Uma Sapna boasts all the expected comforts and services you will find in a five-star resort. Private dining can be enjoyed in your own villa. The Uma Sapna Spa offers a luxurious full-service massage and body therapy in any of our three spa treatment rooms or in the privacy of your villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Uma Sapna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Sapna Seminyak
Uma Sapna Hotel Seminyak
Uma Sapna Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing