We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in an increasingly expensive location”
Review of Uma Sapna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Uma Sapna
Ranked #14 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Good value in an increasingly expensive location”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed at Uma Sapna because we were guests at a wedding in the Legian - which is literally 3 times the price. We were very pleased with our choice! We had a private pool villa with a lovely pool that yes, WAS big enough to swim in and a small lawn with a frangipani tree. The rooms were nicely done and the shower was huge. Service was excellent and smiling. Seminyak/Legian now seems to be a very expensive area in general (unjustifiably so, in my view) but if you want to be in the area, this would be a great choice. There are some little details around the edges that give away the fact this is not a US$500 a night place, but do list them would make me sound very pedantic, and certainly the Uma Sapna does a great job. The communal areas are beautifully done in a Balinese/tropical style and there is some interesting art as they have some kind of link to a gallery - a significant notch above the oft-hyped Balinese art kitsch. They don't have a restaurant but they do bring breakfast to your room and they do do room service (untested by us). Internet is free, which is great! Highly recommended - go for the full pool villa option if you can afford it. Be aware - it's not on the beach - taxis are easy but the nearest beach isn't great and traffic can be bad beyond the first 500m-1km or so.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    220
    36
    7
    1
See reviews for
132
783
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We had spent the first part of our trip in Sanur - so decided to do a "villa" vacation to end it off. Our stay in Uma Sapna was excellent. Service was so good - even better than some of the 5-star/ 6-star hotels we have been in. Rooms were clean, food was delicious and the pool was very well-maintained. Even though we had the room that was closest to the main road, we still felt that we had our privacy.
Because of our toddler, we had quite a few requests, and the hotel staff was quick to respond and was always friendly, patient and extremely courteous. We loved every minute of our stay at this hotel. Everyone said HI (even the gardeners!) and the place was beautiful. We wil definitely be returning!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleverants16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Just returned from Bali after a 4-night stay at Uma Sapna. The pick up was there when we arrived. We booked into the executive villa with private pool. We were greeted by friendly staff at the villa and were served a mixed fruit juice. The room itself was of a good size with flat screen tv, DVD player, free wi-fi, a good selection of toiletries (shower gel, shampoo and conditioner came in ceramic jars) with large stoned bath and separate shower area (which can fit a whole family of 4 comfortably if that appeals to anyone), a two-seater sofa with two rattan stools. The pool was also adequate in size, just nice for a relaxing dip (but forget about doing laps). The lounge area is located outside by the pool which has a fridge, tea-/coffee-making amenities, lounge chair for suntanning and seating and table for breakfast which was served on time every time and well-prepared (try the eggs benedict). Generally each villa is very private even if your neighbours are around.

The villa is a about a 5-10min (between 200m-1km) walk to trendy restaurants and shops along a street that leads to the beach and a good 20-30min (1.5km) to the beach itself. It is also about a 3-5min walk to another shopping area (via an alley) full of quaint shops, spas, good eating establishments. So the location of the villa, while not at the doorstep of the shopping/restaurant belt, is within a stone's throw, which is ideal if you want a quiet getaway without being isolated from the action.

Plus points: Extensive breakfast menu selection, clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff (everyone whom I came across greeted me with sincere smiles), sizeable straw-weave bag for trips to the deli or yoga.

Minus points: Pillows were not comfortable (but it is a matter of one's preference); no black-out curtains for bathroom's floor-to-ceiling glass wall so got woken up when sun rose (which was about 6:30am); could have a bar fridge in the room as well rather than having to go out to the lounge area for the fridge; could provide moisturiser.

Places patronised:
Restaurants: Cafe Bali (extensive western menu with Indonesian offerings; reasonable for decent nosh); Cafe Moka (neighbourhood cafe with yummy cakes, pastries and coffee; main courses are okay); Bali deli (small supermarket with delicatessen and cafe - had their quiches, sandwich and salad); Grocer and Grind (mainly western; had their sandwiches and salad - a bit overrated); Queen's Tandoor (very good but a bit pricey by Bali standards)
Spas: Prana Spa (did yoga there too) (expensive but atmosphere was lovely); Espace (very reasonably priced and very good - clean, efficient)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookiethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Excellence services...starts from pick up from airport, during check in, stay, check out and airport transfer to airport...

During pick up from airport - Cold towel & water is provided immediately after you get into the car provided by Uma Sapna. Its so refreshing...

During check in - Refresing fruit drinks were served during check in.

During stay - Room is clean, spacious, nice design, swimming pool clean. Breakfast is delicious and deliver to room on time requested. Location is good. Short walk to boutique street. Room service food is good too. It a wonderful private world...

During check out - Fast service. No mistake on bill.

Transfer to Airport - Car aircond is working very well. Good Driver.

Never regret. Wish to go back to Uma Sapna soon. We just loved everything.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Granted that this review is a bit late..but the place was fantastic..the service was warm and friendly..never a frown and efficient..the pool was fantastic..the laundry service was good! I'd recommend this for all honeymooners...There were many trendy restaurants outside the villa as well.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mystiq1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I planned this holiday as a special surprise for my girlfriend and wanting things to be perfect I bugged the staff at Uma Sapna with lots of emails but they were extremely helpful and arranged everything perfectly particularly the candlelit dinner in our Villa. We were upgrade twice first to the executive villa then the deluxe! both were fantastic beautifully laid out and very good value. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly throughout our stay and they made our stay in Bali.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

What's there not to like about Uma Sapna? Absolutely nothing! The villas are quiet, private, spacious and comfortable. I love the contemporary design - the concrete floors, the white walls and warm wood furniture. The private pool is big enough for you to swim and frolick around in. It also didn't hurt that we got an upgrade from an Executive Villa to a Deluxe Villa which is slightly bigger :)

Location-wise, it's an easy walk around the corner to Jalan Laksmana if you want to do a spot of shopping or grab some lunch. If you want to head down to the beach or have dinner at one of the fab restaurants on Jalan Petitenget, the reception staff will call you a cab. Cheap and easy, make sure the driver turns on the meter. The staff at Uma Sapna are lovely - friendly and helpful but not in your face.

For me there were only two downers, which didn't dampen my experience at all but just something to note. I found the pillows too soft so I wasn't completely comfortable at night. Would be fab if they could offer firmer pillows. Also, breakfast is prepared in a central kitchen and brought to your villa rather than cooked in your villa which meant that often, the food wasn't hot. However, it is free and they serve generous portions so I can't complain!

I would definitely stay here again if I was to stay in Seminyak. You absolutely cannot beat this place for value for money, style, and an awesome getaway.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missduhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
0.6 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 146 in Seminyak
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#16 of 146 in Seminyak
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#31 of 146 in Seminyak
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uma Sapna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uma Sapna

Property: Uma Sapna
Address: Jl. Drupadi no. 20xx | Basangkasa, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#12 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#13 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Uma Sapna 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a desirable residential environment in the heart of Bali’s prestigious Seminyak village, Uma Sapna is near an array of fashionable restaurants, shopping areas and vibrant nightlife. Sublime white-sand beaches are a few minutes from us and Ngurah Rai International Airport is 30 minutes away. Blends privacy and comfort with art, culture and design for a unique holiday experience in a place to soothe the senses-mind, body and soul. Self-contained villas are perfect for honeymooners or for the discerning travelers seeking an escape, just the way they like it. We also proud to house one of the best restaurant in Seminyak, Kilo Bali. Opened in September 2014, Kilo Bali offers Kilo’s signature dishes, but also presents specials that are created with local ingredients and produce in mind to transform the sharing experience while captivating the diner’s imagination and palate. Distinguished by unconventional and modern minimalist architecture that challenges the traditional landscape, Kilo Bali offers a quiet respite away from all the hustle and bustle of Seminyak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Uma Sapna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Sapna Seminyak
Uma Sapna Hotel Seminyak
Uma Sapna Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing