We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Downtown Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Downtown Villas
Ranked #42 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at Downtown for 10 nights in 1 bedroom villa which all have a plunge pool large enough to cool off and deck area with 2 sun lounges, table & chairs.
The rooms have kitchenette which is great as they are very close to Bingtang supermarket and not far from Bali Deli should you wish to make light meals or food for drinks. If you don't want ants don't leave out food - simple!
We found the Villas to be comfortable and the staff very helpful in attending to any problems (such as replacing sun lounge where cover has started to tear). They attend to the room twice a day. Clean villa during the day at convenient times then turn down beds, set lighting, clean dishes & remove rubbish around 6pm - great service.
Breakfast is provided in rooms at allocated time from Indonesian, American or continental. Take your own vegemite if you can't live without it!
The best asset for Downtown is the location in the heart of Seminyak 50m down the small road but is very quiet. Yes, there are some small potholes in the road that fill when it rains but Bali footpaths & roads are not in A1 condition and this is no different.
Downtown is close to supermarket, shops and great restaurants. A short $2 taxi ride (use Bluebird as they turn the meter on) to Legian / Kuta or up to Eat Street for many of Bali's best restaurants.
Has a room for a gym if you are so inclined but didn't go near that so can't offer any adivce on equipment but has bike, treadmill & weights.
Enjoyed a late check out which is normally to 6pm (additional cost at 50% or room rate) but were able to stay until we were taken to airport at 9pm.

Room Tip: My tip - if you walk further down the road away from the main street you'll find a lovely small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkl3128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 124 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. The 1 bed villa OK size wise for 2 people with small deck and plunge pool. Agree with previous review that it has not aged well and some minor repairs are needed. We didn't use the complimentary one way air port pick up as we travelled to Seminyak from Ubud. When we inquired about transport to the airport we were advised it would be US$25. A cab from JL Seminyak in front of Bintang Supermarket to the airport was Rp50,000 (about $5). The location is excellent and the staff friendly.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank luvtocycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday in Bali where we spent the first 5 nights of our 10 day break at Downtown Villas. Overall we had a great time and thought the accommodation in our two bedroom villa for 5 of us was fantastic. Beds very comfortable (pillows way too soft so if you want firmer ones buy them from Bintang supermarket across the road) the kids loved the 20metre swimming pool and the location was very private and quiet. A few things required maintenance such as loose decking, hot water tap dripping in kitchen and tiny ants in kitchen and if you want a place with a gym that is functional - this is not the place for you but overall, very clean and modern and Yes we would definately stay here again. Be careful of the laundry we sent a t shirt off to be cleaned and it came back with more stains on it than it had when it went. Its not really walkable to the beach but only a $2 fare in a taxi and you are there. It is however in the heart of seminyak shopping district and that was great.

Room Tip: All two bedroom villas are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCB3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the 1 bedroom villa (villa number 1), which I believe is the largest out of all the 1 bedroom villas on the premises. We had our own private pool and decking as well as our own deck chairs and outdoor setting.

The villa itself was a little outdated, however clean and very private. The service was outstanding and the staff were very friendly. There was no incidents with any personal belongings going missing at all. There were many times my husband and I left personal items outside the safe and they were not even touched by staff.

The breakfast system at the Downtown villas is the BEST system I have ever come across. Breakfast selection cards are left in your room from the night before and you fill out what you want to eat and at what time and they bring it to your room and set it up for you. Truly great service with a smile...

The location is perfectly tucked away from the hustle and bustle of busy Seminyak, but a stones throw away from boutique shopping and great food.

We will be back to Bali and would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBE2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

A bit of a debacle really! There would be numerous other villas which are more luxurious compared to this one! The plunge pool is definitely a bath tub! The gym is not upto scratch! And there is more insects and geckos getting about than leaves!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dtvallweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I stayed at this place for 1 night a month ago and I liked the environment because of the air conditioned living room, then I tried to reserve for my birthday a week after that.
I was emailing with the manager (Mr. Ricky or Mr. Gede) for 3-4 days to make sure the villa was reserved for me, 10 days before I left to Bali, he gave me a day to put down payment, but couple hours that the manager just sent me an email saying it's fully booked.
Basically he just gave the villa to someone else without any notification, without saying sorry, and offered me a 1 BR villa (btw I had 6 people traveling with me).
I called the manager and tried to resolve the problem, but he wasn't really helpful and I realized that he gave the villa to someone else because they were willing to pay more (foreigner rate).
I was so disappointed with the villas management, I will not ever stay in that place and also I will not recommend that place as long as the manager still works there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dedy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My partner and I stayed in villa #1 for 3 nights. Great villa, the outside shower didnt work but the fantastic rain shower inside did, wow!
Bed was comfy, villa is spacious, lounges are squeaky!!!
Dont leave anything foodish on the bench overnight, little ants invaded our mugs.
Great quiet spot down the laneway, away from all the honking of the scooters.
The plunge pool was awesome, that is all you need to cool off, not a big huge overrated pool.
Across the main road from the laneway is Cafe Seminyak, great food. I ordered a bacon egg and lettuce bun......it wasnt on the menu.....i still got it! Bintang supermarket is next to the cafe, for all your comfy needs (like chocolate and $1.20AU pringles!!!)
Be carefull of the traffic, there is a crossing with a man and whistle to assist you across so you dont get run over, a little bit down from the cafe. Great dvd shops and nice clothes shops.
There is a little girl and her mum walking around who sell bracelets made from immitation leather, just buy a bundle for 50,000, make the little girls day. and blow her a kiss.
Downtown is nice, floors are polished to a slippery quality. Dont use more of anything than you dont need...tea bags, shampoo, toilet paper, water. Be nice to Indonesia xxxx Peace.

Room Tip: Villa #1, outside shower doesnt work, but it doesnt matter, because there is a shower inside right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicthechick5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.5 mi away
Annora Villas Seminyak
Annora Villas Seminyak
#25 of 426 in Seminyak
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Four On Drupadi
Four On Drupadi
#57 of 426 in Seminyak
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#16 of 426 in Seminyak
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Transera Grand Kancana Villas Bali
1.5 mi away
Tonys Villas & Resort
Tonys Villas & Resort
#54 of 426 in Seminyak
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Seiryu Villas
The Seiryu Villas
#34 of 426 in Seminyak
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Villas

Address: Jalan Pura Dalem 9d, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $101 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Downtown Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Downtown Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Villas Hotel Seminyak
Downtown Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing