We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location perfect, but not for everyone”
Review of Hotel Puri Cendana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Puri Cendana
Ranked #87 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Older style Balinese cottages, small hotel. Booked the Puri Cendana based on the fact that they said that a family of four could be accommodated in one suite, 2 bedrroms. Strictly speaking this isn't true - the Deluxe Star rooms are two levels, but the master bedroom is in the loft with a very noisy floor, and open to the lower level (the living area). Two mattresses were put on the floor for our children (aged 3 and 7). It didn't particularly bother us, but if you had older children I think it would be a bit uncomfortable. Big rooms though with a nice balcony with comfy chairs and a drying rack (love a drying rack for swimmers). Also the biggest bath I have ever seen. Small fridge and very small water bottles provided - though we ended up just helping ourselves because the maids just left their supplies outside our room, so I don't really think anyone was too particular about how much you actually consumed.

Gardens and pool area are very nice with a little massage hut where you could get very cheap and good massages etc. Breakfast was fine if a bit unadventourous, and the children ate dinner there and it seemed quite tasty. Small pool table as well which was quite fun fo rthe children. Sraff very pleasant and efficient ,, arranged doctor, bolt cutters (our padlock broke) and came straight away when we couldn't work out the TV (Indonesia satellite only). Babysitter was expensive for Bali Rp80000 per hour, but she spoke excellent English and was very prompt.

This hotel is very good value for money - its right next door to the Sofitel so about 2 minutes from Seminyak beach and pretty quiet - for 5 nights including breakfast, pickup at airport and a fe wextras it was $AUD750 - pretty happy with that. Would recommend but not if you are looking for the 5 star experience in a modern hotel but if you prefer something with a bit of personality then this could fit the bill!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jurluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 323 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is a little traditional balinese hotel with much to offer. Quiet location in Seminyak but close enough to walk to the Legian Restaurants on the beach. Little restaurant with pool table - great for the kids. A cute 17 metre lagoon pool. Room is great and sleeps family comfortable. Great Value for money. Have booked again. Very easy just email and pay on arrival $114 AUD including breakfast and taxes family of 4. No Bogan Aussies here.

Room Tip: Little Gem in Bali
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WanttobeNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Puri Cendana and were very pleased with our stay. The staff is absolutely lovely and extremely helpful. We arrived without prior booking so we had to change rooms every night, but this was not a problem for us. The rooms are set in a beautiful garden and the location is very good. A 2 minute walk to the beach and right on the border between Seminyak and Legian. The rooms are clean,well equipped, charming in traditional balinese style, air con, fridge, and nice big beds. Especially the Duplex is very nice. 2 minor drawbacks: Some rooms are next to the street which can be noisy, avoid these. We also had one room with a bad mouldy smell. Luckily we could change rooms, but the owner should definetely invest in some maintenance works.
The pool and restaurant area is lovely. The breakfast served there is very good. But the real treat here is the massage corner . The best massage we had in Bali! And very cheap too. We had one every day and each time was fabulous.Overall we had a great stay, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I have been to Bali now 3 times and whenever i go i do alot of research on hotels particularly in Seminyak. I have stayed at many places some a bit more expensive and some a little cheaper but nothing beats the Puri Cendana. Although I make an effort to always spend time in other hotels i always stay for some of my trip here.
For $80 a night we get the Duplex Star room which is two levels bedroom upstairs and living room and bathroom downstairs. There is a flat screen upstairs in front of the bed with a DVD player which is a must when i go to Bali. The bathroom is big and spacious with a massive tub. Although it is not super modern and has mostly wooden furniture i love the balinese touch and for $80 you can't get much better than this. It is about a 100m from the beach. Alot of other resorts that have beach "frontage" such as the puri saron not far down the road will charge you $130 dollars for a "Deluxe" room which is really their word for the standard room and all you pay for is for the fact the complex heads onto the beach.
In actual fact the deluxe rooms are about as far a walk from the beach as the puri cendana is as they sit right at the back of the complex.

This boutique hotel isnt huge so you arent going to run into a crowd of people at the pool. The pool is small but has enough seats for the guests who are staying there. What matters most to me when I look for hotels is that the pool gets sunlight as i like to sunbake. There are spots that are great for tanning the whole day and are not shaded by overgrown trees. There is a little basketball hoop in the pool which kept my boyfriend happy for hours! The food is not great but not the worst i have had. I tend to dine out and so this is not too important to me, apart from snack by the pool. The staff are friendly and so are the dogs the sit out the front! They have recently had a litter of puppies and they were just adorable to watch grow. I would recommend this hotel to couples, families and the elderly.
This is not the place to stay if you are looking for a party house. Everyone is generally quiet and keeps to themselves and there isnt a great deal of drinking going on by the pool. Because it is situated so close to the beach there are plenty of places nearby to go out. Shops are all within walking distance although we used a bike to get into the main seminyak strip and up near ku de ta! All in all my favourite place and well worth the money! :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashleygetsaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

i have stayed at this hotel on 4 occasions with my teenage son and have had a very enjoyable memorable holiday.great location, nice quite pool area with good value massage hut near by.lovely tradional gardens, and a short walk to seminyak beach.bathrooms are a bit tired and could need some attention,i have recommended the puri to many people and they have all been pleased with it.the cin cin restaurant isnt fantastic but its very cheap and there is enough nice things on the menu to be happy about, nice to have a beer in and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We enjoyed the different rooms at hotel. Breakfast was good, and pool is nice but small. Staff are very friendly and helpful around Kuta.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkawa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The Puri Cendana has clean and large rooms, nice bathroom, great bed, a very good location (quiet place in the quite busy Seminyak, 3 min to the beautiful beach, 5 min to the center of Seminyak) and a professional staff and management at an appropriate price.
I can really recommend this place, it's worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaltfront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#75 of 148 in Seminyak
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
#72 of 148 in Seminyak
933 reviews
0.2 mi away
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
#52 of 148 in Seminyak
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Destiny Boutique Hotel
Destiny Boutique Hotel
#90 of 148 in Seminyak
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#79 of 148 in Seminyak
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Agung Village
Bali Agung Village
#58 of 148 in Seminyak
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri Cendana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri Cendana

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk (Dhyana Pura), Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#45 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $45 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puri Cendana 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri Cendana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Cendana Resort
Resort Puri Cendana
Hotel Puri Cendana Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing