We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Fabulous”
Review of The Ahimsa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ahimsa
Ranked #95 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
ADELAIDE
1 review
“Beautifully Fabulous”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I travel to Bali frequently and for the past 12 years have only stayed at The Ahimsa Villas in Kunti Street. I could never stay anywhere else as the staff are absolutely fantastic and always go the extra mile. The villas are beautifully designed, spotless, the breakfasts which are cooked in your villa are delicious - anything you desire. Any request to the staff is accommodated immediately. Having our own pool is always wonderful.The Ahimsa is truly "Heaven in Bali".

Room Tip: All the villlas are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VICKI G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    54
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
63
64
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I could not fault this lovely villa, the staff were so pleasant and went out of their way on many occasions. Beautiful, clean rooms and close to shopping, eating and Bali Deli across the road. Breakfast cooked in your villa, and you could have anything you requested. Everything was spotless and the decor was very nice with a balinese touch. I would certainly return to the Ahimsa.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Ok, first of all, I need to be clear that this review is for the Ahimsa at Jln Kunti and not the one by the beach. I accidentally booked this place without realising that it's not the one near the beach. No regrets, however. It was a truly satisfying stay and I simply love it!

When I first arrived at the villa, I was taken aback by how small the reception area was and the location as well. It was a small room located at the entrance, opposite the guard house. I was actually expecting a grand reception possibly overlooking a big pool or some sort. I soon realise that there was no need for this as the breakfast was cooked and served at your own villa with your own private pool! It was absolutely brilliant!

Some previous comments about noise was quite right. Even though we were in our own villa, we could still hear the sound of motorbikes but that didn't bother us too much. I love that they had a huge tv in the common area and tvs in each room as well. You could have your own privacy as well as enjoy time with friends and family in the common area.

The decor was nice and balinese with a modern touch. But I must say that the villas needed a little upgrading. I understand from the locals that the villas are 11 years old so there is quite a fair bit of wear and tear around the villa. Walls needed to be re-painted, even the paint on the door was coming off. The rain shower in our bathroom wasn't really like the rain as some of the holes were stuck. Drainage cleared fast enough so that was good.

Overall, a really good place to stay and the location is perfect. I would've given this place 5 stars if the other little things were taken care of. The staff were great!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miss_natq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Why was I not told of this place before? Not only was Ahimsa resort tastefully done, but the service, the people and the food was out of the world. The staff went out of their way to please us. We had a Spa and a manicure and pedicure included in the deal of the hotel for a very reasonable rate. A definete return to Ahimsa. After travelling to about 70 places, Bali has become one of my favourites.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

After deciding to spoil myself with the best Bali has to offer, The Ahimsa delivered beyond my greatest expectations. My villa was fringed on one side by a rich, tropical garden and on the other – an aquamarine swimming pool. The luxurious Western amenities coupled with beautiful Balinese influences provided the ideal oasis to relax and forget about the busy year I'd had. The service was excellent and the in-house chefs presented me with the kind of dining experiences that made in increasingly harder to leave the Villa. With that in mind – the only issue was I was so enamoured with what the Ahimsa had to offer, I barely got out to see the rest of Bali but as far as I'm concerned – it was a good problem to have.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralston57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

stayed for 2 nights in this beautiful hotel/home, nice set up and great room amenities.. definitely will be back in very near future

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balihgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

As parents we loved the Ahimsa. The children were scared to death because of the open plan living room. They are not to keen on nature. After 3 days they were used to it.
Excellent service, wonderful villa. Breakfast cooked in the villa by two excellent cooks.
It leaves nothing to wish for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Banoyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.0 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#16 of 146 in Seminyak
632 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pradha Villas
Pradha Villas
#64 of 146 in Seminyak
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Jineng Villas
The Jineng Villas
#42 of 146 in Seminyak
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Seminyak Suite Private Villa
1.1 mi away
The Ahimsa Estate
The Ahimsa Estate
#189 of 340 in Kuta
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ahimsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ahimsa

Property: The Ahimsa
Address: Jl. Kunti 121, Seminyak, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#46 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#68 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#69 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ahimsa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AHIMSA group redefines luxury accommodation by providing discerning guests with the ultimate boutique villa experience. Contemporary design and traditional Asian architecture coupled with impeccable five-star service ensures your stay will be an unforgettable one. Our philosophy is embodied in the Sanskrit word 'AHIMSA' - meaning 'to abstain from harm or violence to all earth's creatures'. Followers of the Hindu faith believe embracing this ideal will lead to a better way of life. Our hotel stands as a reminder to our valued guests and the people of the world that Bali is a gentle island with caring inhabitants. The Ahimsa is situated in the heart of vibrant cosmopolitan Seminyak. Choose from sixteen private villas, ranging from one to three bedroom. Our villas are strongly influenced by ideals of tropical, outdoor living. The Ahimsa Estate features five luxury villas comprising 2 one bedroom pool villa, 2 two bedroom pool villa and 1 three bedroom pool villa. Our villas have all the superior appointments of the Seminyak Villas but incorporate a more contemporary architectural treatment. Located 5 minutes walking from Seminyak Beach-just off Bali's most fashionable street for dining and entertainment. Jalan Oberoi - next to famous restaurant Kudeta, Ahimsa Estate affords guests all the pleasures they seek for the ultimate Bali experience. The Ahimsa Beach boasts eleven luxury villas situated 150 meters from one of Bali's best swimming beaches and only a stones throw from the Four Seasons resort and spa. The Ahimsa Beach consists of seven one-bedroom, two two-bedroom and two three-bedroom exquisitely appointed villas fitted with the air and essence that have made Ahimsa hotels one of the most popular boutique style hotels on the island. En-suite bathrooms, full-service kitchen, state -of-the art entertainment systems, open plan lounge and dining areas, ensure your every need is catered for. Our villas are strongly influenced by ideals of tropical, outdoor living. The use of local materials in the choice of interior fitments ensures the indelible spirit of Bali is captured in all its grace and beauty. Dining is a pleasure at The Ahimsa where a team of culinary experts will prepare a la carte breakfast every morning for guests as well as any special meal requests for nights spent relaxing in your own villa. Experience a better way of life The villas are constructed in a style that combines the very best of traditional Balinese architecture with luxurious Western amenities. This combination places the Ahimsa hotels the forefront of this beautiful island's boutique -style accommodation. Honeymooners, discerning travelers or families can look forward to the guest services the Ahimsa has become famous for, including secure private accommodation, in villa spa, beauty treatments, the famous Ahimsa Barbecue, a well-equipped business centre, personal tour guides and sight seeing packages plus much more. Travel arrangements, tours and cruises can all be organized by the resort's staff for guests. Popular activities include scuba diving, snorkeling and rafting. Whether you stay at THE AHIMSA, THE AHIMSA ESTATE or THE AHIMSA BEACH, you will enjoy the best this magical island has to offer and as a result - discover a better way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ahimsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahimsa Hotel Seminyak
Ahimsa Hotel Seminyak
The Ahimsa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing