We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Stay. Overall good stay I would say.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Transera Grand Kancana Villas Bali
Ranked #55 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here for my honeymoon a couple of weeks back. Transfer to villa from airport was smooth. Driver was friendly and spoke good English. Honeymoon setup in villa was splendid. We were assigned to villa 07 which was the closest to the reception area. They remembered my special request of towels folded into elephants on the bed. The setup made me very happy.

Villa- The villa was considerably small but I guess for 2 pax it's good enough. Pool side has lots of ants in which you will find more drowning in the pool. I had my reserves when it comes to swimming in the pool but we braved it anyway. Need to work on cleaning the pool more often. There was a plate of fruits that was left at the living room area as complimentary but it was immediately infested with ants right after we checked in. :( Ants problem in the villa is inevitable Iunderstand as it's outdoor but I just hoped the situation was better.
We were supposed to be given a 2 bedroom villa for me as stated in the confirmation letter by Transera but we were only given 1 instead. But we didn't let it matter, just that it would be nice if we were informed prior. There wasn't much mosquitoes problem only a few that were combact-able. They provided insect repellents and the turning down service each evening was good but not consistent. Some days they had repellent lit, sometimes not. Some days they had slippers laid out properly beside the beds, and some days, nothing.
The outdoor shower was disastrous though. The water strength was soooooooooooooo small that it was impossible to shower that at all. A pity.

Food - We had our lunch there upon arrival and we were amazed. Amazed by how not-very-tasty it was. Very disappointed as it was our first meal there in Bali. Breakfast selection were plenty but for the fried stuffs, it was oily and also, nothing that screams wow. Just to fill the stomachs. Candlelight dinner was much better, the food was much tastier but small in quantity that a few mouthfuls and it's all gone. The dessert that came with the dinner was good too! Maybe you guys could up the quantity and include the candlelight menu for the regular ones. Really needs more working upon for the food and bevarage part as it is one of the most important factor in ensuring a comfortable and fulfilling stay!

Service- Friendly staff around the villa, restaurant etc.

Others - Complimentary bottled of waters are restricted to only 6bottles per day. On days that we stay in or return from a long trip, would appreciate if it wasn't that rigid. Even 5* hotels doesn't limit their customers to a number.

There's nothing much around the area but its shuttle service to seminyak Sq and beach was a bonus as it was one of the most memorable place for our visit there. Kudeta is just there and we didn't need to go too far. Taxi back to the villa was a tad scary as not many people know the location of the villa and tho there was a namecard given by the management to show to drivers, it was vague. Thankfully my hubby was good at remembering places if not we would probably not get back to the hotel much faster.

Overall, it was a lovely stay and we hope if we were to come back someday, things would have improved much but still, keep up the good spirit and service!

Room Tip: Maybe further away from the reception area as the constant playing of instruments each night at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melisstarr82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 216 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

we stay at transera grand in april 2014 for 2 day.we got the great experience during our holiday. the villa is very large and clean. we can enjoy stay in this villas because the location was not far from the city besides that all staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: use the villas for honeymoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay here. I bought a Travelzoo voucher for about $150 a night. For the price it was worth it but wouldn't be happy if I had paid full price. The villa clean and had everything we needed. Living area ok but definitely needs some more comfortable furniture to laze on by the pool. The food was very average. Please work on your food and quality as it would make this resort much better. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The massage was average and the hour we were meant to have went for about 50 minutes. Wouldn't have another one there. This resort hasn't got much around it in the way of shops or food so keep in mind you will need to get a taxi everywhere and it is a very busy area so takes a bit of time to get in to central Seminyak. Also on check out they ask if you want a car for $25 USD. Don't pay this as they will offer it to you for $150000 IDR which is about $10 cheaper, if you say you are going to get a taxi instead. Overall not bad. Could use some minor adjustments.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at the Transera Grand in Apr 2014 for 3 days. We had bought a Groupon which included 3 nights, 1 candlelit dinner, airport transfers, breakfast, and a one-hour massage. The property and facilities were great-really no complaints. The Villa was awesome-huge and new, very clean. Housekeeping did a great job. Nice amenities too in the room.
The only issue really was with F&B. The food was mediocre-nothing special. Also, the menu was quite limited for being really the only option for guests to dine while at the resort (no food places located nearby, walking distance). They should perhaps have a snack menu. Great drink list though.
So, for our first dinner, the service was horrible. I am not over-exaggerating, and not trying to be offensive. This could be used for development. The waiter seemed very very inexperienced. His demeanour was very cheerful, but there was no skill there. We ordered and it took about 30 minutes for our food to come. That was after he asked us a second time for what we had ordered. We ordered wine, and he brought the wrong kind (white, not red). For dessert, we ordered two separate dishes. The waiter served mine, and we waited about 20 minutes for my husband's. It never came. We finally asked and he said he hadn't heard our order (when he actually had repeated it to us). Not a good experience. I think the server's English was not good, and maybe he just didn't understand us.
For the management--we wanted to order the lychee tea (you didn't have lychees). We wanted to order the banana chocolate dessert (you didn't have bananas--by the way, there is a store next door to the resort that sold them--the manager could have gone and bought quickly). We wanted to get a Pastis-Pernod (you didn't have in stock).
Breakfast was a bit better, but the food quality was lacking.
Drink service by the pool was good though, quick, and accurate orders.
The candlelit dinner was nice, right by the pool. We also enjoyed the musical entertainment.
The airport transfer was very smooth, with friendly drivers and very clean vans.
The massage was nice, but rather quick, and our masseuses left the room for about 5 minutes at the end to clean dishes (that's what it sounded like).
One morning, loud music was playing from a villa near us and I called the front desk to send security-they responded super quickly and the music stopped :)
All in all we did enjoy our stay, but please make sure your F&B is upgraded a bit in terms of service quality and stocking of items.

Room Tip: Try to get a Villa on the end of the row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kourtneyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

i discovered this hotel in Travelzoo website and bought vouchers there to enjoy our honeymoon trip in Bali. Despite the lovely honeymoon setting provided by the hotel, the most impressive area is hugh washroom. I need to walk a least four to five steps from the bedroom door to the "toliet". There is another door connected from washroom to the private pool. You can jump into the pool immediately after bathing:P.

The voucher also included hotel spa, my husband and I felt asleep when doing spa. i guess they are so professional. so relax:)

Hotel has provided shuttle bus to Semiyak Square for two times a day (around serveral minutes travelling). But need to go back by yourself coz they do not have shuttle bus to go back to hotel. so i guess if you stay there, better to mark down the address and contact number clearly. or just ask hotel for the name card. In case if the taxi driver don't familiar with the address, he/she can call to hotel directly.

One thing i wanna share is about the transpotation in Bali coz traffic jam is always happened. Need to spare some time for that. coz we had experienced that we suppose to go to temple within 30 minutes but finally spent more than a hour to get there and the temple was closed:(

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank La_Wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalKancanaVillas, General Manager at Transera Grand Kancana Villas Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Mrs La_Wong,

Thank you so much for your recommendation to our future guests. I truly appreciate your kind words and will be sure to share your review with our professional and service excellent oriented team. We will keep continue improving our services and guest facilities in our Villa to ensure every guests have a memorable staying experience with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and give you more amazing staying experience in Transera Grand Kancana Resort Villas.

For further inquiry or information needed, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at dewi.tgkan@transerahotels.com. Once again, thank you.

Kindest regards,
Dewi Sartika, Ms - Corporate DOSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I can't give a 3.5 / 5 but I really did not feel our experience was a 4/5.

Resort/Villa: This is a new Villa in Bali. We got a Groupon which included a bunch of other freebies (detailed review below).

No complaints about the villa. Seeing as it's new, all the facilities were in great shape. Nice private pool, gazebo, outdoor seating area, bedroom and HUGE bathroom with bathtub and a semi-outdoor shower. There's a small fridge and coffee / tea facilities are provided. I like the Narumi chinaware - very nice touch. Pool towels and slippers are provided. We did not utilise the larger main / common pool but it looks well kept and clean.

Housekeeping staff turned down the room twice a day. We tend to laze in our villa till mid afternoon before we head out for a jaunt so we would miss the first round of housekeeping that tends to take place in the morning. But when we come back in the evening, the room is always made up, fresh towels, amenities provided, pool would have been cleaned etc. Big thumbs up for that.

Facilities: The in-house spa was pretty good with reasonable prices - about USD 35 for a basic 1-hour massage. We had a 2-hour couple package and I felt the masseurs were good and it was nice that we didn't have to head out for a massage.

Our Groupon included a romantic in-villa dinner. The staff set up a small table with 2 chairs right by the pool - it was really lovely to eat under the stars. However, the food was just ok.

Food: I had a big issue with the food. Now my husband is not a fussy eater and even he felt the food was quite mediocre and sub-par. The complimentary daily breakfast was not tasty. At first I thought it's because I had the western selection so the next day, I picked the local selection - fried rice and again, it was not tasty. We ate in-room twice, the in-room food was slightly better than the breakfast but even then i would just give the food a 5 or 6 upon 10.

Now there is nothing to eat within walking distance of the Resort. So if you plan to stay and eat in-house, this may be an important consideration. This definitely affected our stay as we stayed in the Resort most of the time to relax and it's the main reason I'm not rating this property as a 4.

Service: Polite and courteous. Staff spoke basic English but had to be reminded of guest's requests e.g. we requested for our complimentary afternoon tea to be served at 2 pm daily. First day we got it on time, second day 2 pm came and went and they only started preparing it after we called the reception to enquire where our tea was. Also, on our last day, we paid extra to extend our stay by half a day as our flight was at night and we were told they had a strict check-out timing of 12 noon. So we requested they clean our villa pool so we could use it but our pool was never cleaned.

Our Groupon included a complimentary return airport transfer. Very smooth and punctual on both trips. We also utilised the in-house car and driver for a short return trip to the restaurant as we felt the price was reasonable and we didn't want the hassle of dealing with a taxi driver whom may not be familiar with the location of the resort.

Location: about a 30 - 40 mins drive from the airport with no traffic jam. The Resort is located in a residential area - you can go for a walk along the street but it's largely craftsman shops selling handmade furniture and other trinkets. As I stated earlier, there's nothing to eat within walking distance. There is however, a small minimart right outside the main gate so it's convenient if you want to buy ice-cream, drinks, snacks, etc. The hotel mini-bar isn't very expensive though.

The Resort is however, conveniently located for trips to Uluwatu, Jimbaran and Kuta. It was only an hour's drive to Uluwatu temple.

Wifi: Free wifi throughout the resort. Very convenient.

Overall it was a satisfactory stay but it could have been better if the food was tasty and our requests attended to without reminders. I think the Resort has potential and the location would suit guests who plan to head out for day trips and dining as the Villa and Pool is really beautiful and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalKancanaVillas, Director of Sales at Transera Grand Kancana Villas Bali, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Ms Yvonne K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences while staying in our Villa, as it is through feedback like yours that we are able to improve our products and services, we know where we were up to.

For your kind information, since a while ago this Villa took over by a very professional management company, Transera Hotels & Resorts, we did a lot of improvements with the villa services and facilities for our every guest enjoyment. The most improvements we did in FB department, changing the restaurant ambiance, breakfast menu, improving the taste and quality. And redo the menu ! Im sure when next time your travel brings you back to Bali and especially to Transera Grand Kancana Resort Villas, you will find us much better than before. When a variation needed in between relaxing in this tranquility, our Shuttle Service based on hotel schedule is available time to time...which easier for our guests go to any preferences close by.

If you have any further inquiry or information needed, I would be very happy if you can send a direct email to me at dewi.tgkan@transerahotels.com. I would assist you accordingly.

Again, thank you so much for your very constructive feedback.

Kindest regards,
Dewi Sartika - Corporate DOSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

One of the things we love the most is the food, especially the Tom Yum Goong Soup and their Fried Rice. The staff are very courteous and friendly. The only thing they need to work on is their customer request. They tend to need us to remind them on our request. Overall, it is a great place to stay in.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AlessandroAsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.4 mi away
Annora Villas Seminyak
Annora Villas Seminyak
#26 of 426 in Seminyak
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bali Dream Villa Seminyak
1.4 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#15 of 426 in Seminyak
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kanishka Villas
Kanishka Villas
#49 of 426 in Seminyak
510 reviews
1.0 mi away
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
#65 of 426 in Seminyak
192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tonys Villas & Resort
Tonys Villas & Resort
#52 of 426 in Seminyak
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transera Grand Kancana Villas Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transera Grand Kancana Villas Bali

Address: Jl. Gunung Jayawijaya no. 494 | Kerobokan, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $96 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Transera Grand Kancana Villas Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transera Grand Kancana Resort Villas is a stylish retreat designed to capture the restful ambience of a traditional Balinese village. A collection of 30 luxury villas are spread across a landscape of tropical greenery in a concept that harmonizes with the surrounding environment. The property truly anticipates the travel needs of honeymooners and couples seeking private villa Seminyak Bali time alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Transera Grand Kancana Villas Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transera Grand Kancana Villas Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing