We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very dated and shabby service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Ranked #36 of 145 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great location, very dated and shabby service”
Reviewed December 25, 2010

The worst hotel experience in Asia in the last few years.

Mislead at time of reservation on hotel facilities/date of last renovation.

Great location but very dated - everything is a patch fix. Service is shabby and inconsistent.

Our initial room did not have a working aircon despite a request to check it before we unpacked. We got upgraded to a villa the next day where the aircon worked but other aspects failed.

Would pay more and stay elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AK6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager5551, Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
Dear AK6,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mgallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

(The Management)
Viva Yuliana Dewi
Marketing Manager
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    884
    240
    63
    32
See reviews for
616
1,363
104
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Hotel with its own beach and beautiful tropic garden plus billed in typical Balinese style is just enough for the perfect holiday. Open air reception, friendly stuff, wild greenery all around you. Imagine your ideal breakfast at place plenty of colors, exotic flowers and extremely intensive green. Rooms are comfortable and stylish, bathrooms big and modern that you simply gets urge to have shower more often than usual. With a first sip of freshly squeezed pineapple juice all your troubles will be far away...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5starhotelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager5551, Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
Dear 5starhotelreviews,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

(The Management)
Viva Yuliana Dewi
Marketing Manager
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katanning, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

My husband and I have just returned on 13 Dec, 2010 from a 6 night stay at the Royal Beach Seminyak and must say that we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the resort. Yes, it is a little dated but we found it scupulously clean. Yes, our room - a Deluxe King (upgraded from a Superior) was a little dark but that was nothing a couple of strategically placed halogen lights couldn't fix. However, the aircon was super-efficient, the bed more than comfortable and all the little extras in abundance. We had super room staff who ducked in and out morning and night even when we were just out for an hour or so.

The facilities at the Royal Beach are beautiful. The location is superb - right on the beach but away from the hustle and bustle of the stores. Magnificent pools with whirlpools and a swim up bar (sort of) and lots of loungers in strategic positions, all serviced by happy and willing staff.

We arrived in Bali at 23.45 so it was getting on for 01.00am by the time we checked in but the service was still immediate with cold towels and a cool drink offered as we checked in. We were taken to our room and shown all the facilities very promptly.

Breakfast was served in the magnificent Amreeta Restaurant and was more than adequate - so much so that we didn't need to find lunch most days.

All the staff were most courteous and gentle and extremely helpful when called on to assist with a tour guide etc.

I would most definitely recommend you stay at the Royal Beach Hotel Seminyak without any qualms.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager5551, Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
Dear Cinnabel,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

(The Management)
Viva Yuliana Dewi
Marketing Manager
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Hotel on arrival looks terrific, however our room ( Delux king bed) was a good size, on the ground floor with no outlook other than some grass and very dark - even with the lights all turned on would have been difficult to read. Bathroom was ok but needed total refurbishment. However had to move room due to huge smell of sewerage in our room - ongoing problem we think as lying beside the pool you got assailed at various times with the smell. New room was supposed to be up a grade but didnt notice much difference. Food was ok, not great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager5551, Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 12, 2010
Dear Lalalch,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mgallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

(The Management)
Viva Yuliana Dewi
Marketing Manager
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
1.3 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 145 in Seminyak
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 145 in Seminyak
1,623 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#22 of 145 in Seminyak
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Property: The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#32 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#34 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel directly on the Seminyak Beach, surrounded by uniquely designed 4.5 hectares tropical garden. Featuring 128 rooms and 17 private villas, it is within walking distance to Seminyak fine dining restaurants, trendiest bars and luxury shopping. With outstanding modern Balinese architecture, the hotel offers a distinctive and memorable stay wrapped with the warmth of Balinese culture on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali Hotel Seminyak
Sofitel Hotel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Hotel Denpasar
Sofitel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Bali
Denpasar Sofitel
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing