We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Ranked #36 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Christmas holiday”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

After a stay in Ubud we had 5 nights here starting on Christmas Eve. The resort lies in 8 acres of beautiful tropical gardens which are very well cared for. The pool at the beachside is best for children and families but the garden pool is quieter and we used that most of the time. Breakfast provided a good selection for the buffet and food was regularly replenished, plenty of choice. We had a deluxe room with a most comfortable king size bed and a balcony overlooking a garden area. However the decor is outdated and the plumbing, aircon are showing their age. We ate in the restaurant several times, the menu is varied, reasonable in price and the staff are welcoming and courteous. The spa is nice with competent therapists and offers a wide range of treatments.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandAnn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Royal guest,

Thank you for your excellent and valuable comments on our hotel through Tripadvisor,

It is very pleasant to hear our loyal guests love our hotel accommodation and facilities plus service of employees who meet the standards of your pleasure.
Pleased to inform you that the hotel in the near future we will update the facility up to date of a modern Balinese concept without removing the actual unique design.
We ensure your comments and suggestions passed to the team member who have contributed towards your satisfaction to the highest level.

Once again thank you for your honest and kind feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Francischa Godellage
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    871
    239
    63
    29
See reviews for
607
1,328
104
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

It was a 3 day break. Not first time to Bali but first time to Seminyak. We were unsure of booking the ex-Sofitel after reading comments on rénovations being needed but finally decided to give a try to a Villa which was very good idea as Anantara Bali was constructed just in front of the normal room bulding blocking any view and maybe some light too. At check in, we understood a beach front villa was available which was also a fantastic news as most villas are very close one to each other so facing the beach created that exclusivity. Breakfast was good value for money (approx 10USD) but nothing crazy nor the japanese teppanyaki. Several other options were available at walking distance from hotel, including Anantara of course. Villa was not brand new (the sofa is main living room was cheap and ugly) but clean and a small kitchen and soft drinks available in minibar. The small jacuzzi was so so but the relaxing garden house was nice as it rained during afternoons. Main issue was beach : clean and big however while most surfers were respecting families swimming, one regular aggressive expat in his 50ies clearly did not care and even said 3yes I will hit you, I don't care because y're tourists". Security guard was informed but seemed not to be able to do much as this guy seemed to be take possession on the 100meters where the swimming flags were assigned. Other staff members were nice and friendly with checks in most accesses of the hotel. We had noise issue one night with another villa as most are very very close to each other (even you can't see each other) but staff seemed to be able to ask them to stop after midnight outside binging/

Room Tip: Beach front private villa a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NICOLAS N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Royal guest,


Thank you very much for your kind and valuable construct feedback on our hotel through TripAdvisor.
We are most concern to hear of the series of issues you had encountered during your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience caused, especially of having woken you up in the villa at such an early hour and some of the facilities which did not meet your satisfaction.
Rest assured we are reviewing our facilities some to be update through procedures to maintain our standard being part of ACCOR hotel worldwide for the convenience of all our guests. We have also taken note of your comments on our customer service skills and have addressed this with our team members for improvement.

We thank you once again for sharing your concerns with us and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future and offer you a better impression.

Kind regards,
Francischa Godellage
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Royal Beach Seminyak in the week before Xmas. We had an enjoyable stay, & as other reviewers have noted, the grounds are indeed beautiful, with ponds waterlilies and lush vegetarian. The open foyer in the Balinese style is very attractive. We had a ground floor room with bath & shower over the bath & overlooked a beautiful pond. The marble tiles were a little faded as the hotel was built circa 1992, but one could see that the original fittings were quality ones. One morning there was no water pressure, however we were out for the day, & the water was fixed by the time we returned, and there was a letter of apology and fruit and some chocolates supplied by the management.
The smaller swimming pool was very relaxing.
At the breakfast buffet we found little mistakes such as the pepoer in the salt shaker, but hey this is Indonesia.! On the last afternoon we checked into another hotel also on the beach, before our late flight back to Sydney, and ooh not nearly as nice as the Royal Beach Seminyak. The massage in the spa at R.Beach was divine, (my first massage after many years). All the staff were very pleasant . We hope to return to the Royal Beach soon.( Also confirm that on check in $200.00 deposit on our credit card was requested.)

Room Tip: Maybe upgrade to deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arafurapearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Royal guest,


Thank you very much for your kind and lovely review on our hotel through Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our services and accommodation met your satisfaction. Please accept my sincere apologise for the Incovenince you faced with the water problem that we are currently in the process of enhancing our facilities and we deeply regret that you have experienced the troubles coming with that.
Please be assured that we have placed your comment with the concerned department as our employees are trained daily to deliver the best services and we are glad you could experience and enjoy it especially at the Spa. Being attached to the beach is one of our unique feature and adds to our guest’s experience.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you once again very much for your kind comments and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future

Kind regards,
Francischa Godellage
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My daughter and I only stayed here one night after a trip to Ubud. The staff were very pleasant, the gardens were beautiful and they serve a lovely choice for the smorgasbord breakfast. I think the room we stayed in which was the superior double room was a little tired and dated looking. The bed was very comfortable with great pillows but the bathroom was looking a little worse for wear. Hotel is in a good location with SOS rooftop bar and Gado Gado restaurant right next door. I normally stay at the Novatel in Nusa Dua and although this hotel is a lot more expensive to stay at I think the Novatel offers far greater value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kez1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Royal guest,


Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel through Tripadvisor,

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good experience. We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the bathroom condition as we are currently in the process of enhancing our general facilities coming future and we apologize for the inconvenience caused.
Rest assured that we will raise the standard of our hotel to be part of one of the ACCOR hotels worldwide.

Once again thank you for your constructive comments and suggestions for enhancement
and looking forward in near future to welcome you back in our hotel with better impression.

Kind regards,
Francischa Godellage
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This was my second trip here. The service and people are outstanding however there were a no of things that went wrong during our stay . Firstly as stated by a previous reviewer my transfer did not show . I had e mailed hotel and had a confirmation . Luckily I knew from reading on trip adviser to grab a cab and that the hotel would reimburse me. Was given an upgrade to a deluxe room 224 but couldn't sleep as air conditioner was ridiculously loud . Changed room next day to 228 was fine although wooden blinds need fixing . One day there was no water in hotel ...toilet didn't work etc . Once the water was back on our toilet was still not fixed . I don't believe in losing my cool but there were plenty of dusgruntled guests as it seemed showers etc were not working . Guests services were amazing and booked restaurants etc . I will definately return as there are no other hotels for this price on the beach in seminyak

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dani73Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Royal guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel through Tripadvisor,

We regret to hear about the state of the accomodation and facilities problem inconvenience your stay at our hotel. Thank you for letting us know that the Air conditioner was on maintenance and very sorry it give you troubles in finding your rest cause of the noise.
Furthermore glad to inform you that we are currently in enhancing our hotel facilities to maintain our standar being part of ACCOR hotel worldwide.
Rest assured that the suggestions and feedback have been passed to the concerned team members to improve our service to a higher level.

Once again thank you very much for sharing your review and we look forward near future to welcome you back to our hotel with the better impression

Kind regards,
Francischa Godellage
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
1.3 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#23 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
0.9 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#12 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#24 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Property: The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#32 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#34 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel directly on the Seminyak Beach, surrounded by uniquely designed 4.5 hectares tropical garden. Featuring 128 rooms and 17 private villas, it is within walking distance to Seminyak fine dining restaurants, trendiest bars and luxury shopping. With outstanding modern Balinese architecture, the hotel offers a distinctive and memorable stay wrapped with the warmth of Balinese culture on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali Hotel Seminyak
Sofitel Hotel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Hotel Denpasar
Sofitel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Bali
Denpasar Sofitel
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing