We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Ranked #35 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Was a really nice, clean hotel. The staff were all very freindly and helpful.

Would definitely return and recommend to others.

Only downfall would have been the gym didn't have enough in the way of weights equipment but there was plenty of other equipment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank amanda_down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are pleased to know that your enjoyed our property and recommend it.
At MGallery we strive to provide day after day a superior service therefore your feedback is important for us.
We are looking forward to making your next visit even more pleasant.

Sincerely,
The Royal Beach Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,576 - 1,582 of 2,807 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hotel has such a beautiful territory: garden, little lakes, all traditional design and natural materials used!Swimming pool is amazing to spend hours and hours swimming, hanging, playing and having cocktails!Wasn't really happy about paying for the beach bed on the beach,but I guess that's the way in Bali and the guy was such a friendly fun person. Breakfast was good, service was good, let's say nothing really was so impressive to make me wish to come back. Everything just good! Some amusement program during the day and evening I am sure can make guests more happy and having fun.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a nice and constructive comment.
It's always a real pleasure to know how our Royal guests enjoyed their holiday.
I have noted your comment regarding the amusement program and i would like to share with you that our recreation team works on a daily activities, as well the Food and beverage team for our “night escapes”
On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again for your kind review and choosing The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali for your holidays in Bali.
At MGallery we strive to provide day after day a superior service therefore your feedback is important for us.
We are looking forward to making your next visit even more pleasant.

Sincerely,
The Royal Beach Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Im almost reluctant to write this review- I don't like to cause pain and complain about my 'first world' problems, but I have to say that this hotel was quite a big disappointment. Have been travelling to bali since 1985, not sure how many times, but it would be at least 20, so I think I have had lots of experience to compare accommodation.

Unfortunately our arrival at the hotel was VERY disappointing, and I think that this left a very bad taste in our mouths, and despite some token effort by management to make amends, the overall experience was disappointing.

We arrived at the hotel, 6 friends holidaying together- we had already spent three fantastic days in Ubud at the amazing Alam Jiwa. The attendant at reception was really quite surly, and proceeded to tell me that I had booked an extra bed in one of the rooms- no, I told her, I had initially made that booking but had cancelled it many months ago due to a travel plan change by one of our party. So, minutes (5 or so) pass, whilst she is fiddling around on the computer, and then she tells me (in a very surly voice), that we were supposed to have checked in yesterday. Now at this stage Im starting to get a little annoyed- fortunately I had hard copy of my emails and was able to confirm that the booking was indeed for that day. Now, I know that we are all human, but gee, some sort of small apology would have been appreciated, especially as we then had to wait another ten or so minutes to have the problem rectified. No smile, no apology, no nothing- just an obviously annoyed receptionist. So, then we are told that all three rooms are not ready for us to check into, despite it being after check in time!!! (and they are not going to be ready for another hour). Long and the short of it MUCH complaining to the manager resulted in us being provided with lunch at the bar pool, which we were appreciative of, but it was too little too late.

The pool was fine, the food was fine, the view was fine, but the smell in our room was NOT. And, it took three days and repeated phone calls to management to have someone come to the room and try and work out the problem- even though some equipment to take moisture out of the air and an oil burner was eventually placed in the room, this was only on our last of four nights at the hotel. From memory four phone calls were made to housekeeping to come and look at the issue- no one ever came!!- this is not good enough for a hotel of this supposed quality.

A quick postscript- we stayed at the AYANA in Jimbaran bay for the last two nights of our stay- unfortunately there was an issue with the airconditioning in one of the rooms- the hotel attended to it immediately AND offered the occupants a free one hour massage whilst the problem was being fixed- now that is how to get return business. Needless to say I will return to AYANA for my third visit next year, but will be finding alternative accommodation in Seminyak!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojobMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,
I would like to apologize should your experience did not meet your expectation. Please rest assured that we take your comment into high consideration.
At MGallery we provide a superior service therefore your feedback is important for us.
Regarding the inconvenience caused due to the delay of your check in, we tried to allocate the rooms according one of your request, which unfortunately took time.
I understand your consideration and we will work harder on our check in process with the team, as well as our efficiency in the service in room.
I have straight away shared your comment with our Heads of department concerned for their awareness and to be more reactive. Please accept my sincerest apologies.

Again sorry for the inconveniences caused and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you even better in the future.

Sincerely,
The Royal Beach Seminyak - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

U get what u expect from a 5 Star resort like Accor. Lovley rooms pool etc. Great location right on the beach for walks n very close to many restaurants n shops. Service staff were great and we did have a small problem with our first room and were very helpfull in moving us.

One of the special items was a cooking course with one of the hotel chefs (Ge De). U go to the local market n back to the Hotel n cook looking over the beach n lovely garden.

Exceptional service staff from all. Another great initiative was a cocktail party for all the new guests n u could meet all the senior staff which was very interesting to hear their experience.

Room Tip: Top floors are good for more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us this kind comment.
We are so pleased to read that you enjoy your stay with us, especially the memorable moment of the cooking class.
I am happy that we were able to fix the problem as your expectations.
Your review will even more motivate all the team to continue improving our services.
At MGallery we strive to provide day after day a superior service therefore your feedback is valuable for us.
Again we would like to thank you for choosing the Royal Beach Seminyak Bali for your valuable holiday in Bali.
We are looking forward to making your next visit even more pleasant.

Sincerely,
The Royal Beach Seminyak Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brisbane
22
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed stay - excellent entertainment each night around pool. Would stay there again, even though a few things were not quite up to scratch, but these were minor and did not impact on the excellent food and location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words further to your recent stay with us. Nothing better than knowing our Royal guests enjoyed their holiday.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us, I will share them with the team.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again for your kind comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming your back in the next future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel overall was well maintained and clean which is a primary requirement for my wife & myself. The food offer was quite limited but quality good. Service was slow but the staff were polite. The facilities are great and access to the beach a best seller. Very conveniently located as well for dining & shopping. We stayed in a superior room which was quite spacious but it seems that in an effort to make the toilets very modern, the allocation of space for the respective activites was misconcieved. As a result there is more space to bathe and less place for everything else.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank strikertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words and taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to know that your enjoyed our facilities and services.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again for your kind comment.

We are looking forward to welcoming your back in the next future.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights at The Royal Beach Seminyak and everything was perfect from start to finish. Staff were very friendly and spoke great English for Bali standards and could never do enough to help you. Free wifi in all major parts of the hotel and your room. Everything was perfectly clean all the time. Great location in the heart of Seminyak but didn't feel super busy. Short walk up the beach to ku de ta and potato head if your wanting to go to those sorts of places. Can walk to Kuta (about 45 mins) or get a taxi there for $5 AUD (and that's probably being generous!) All food at the hotel was fantastic, great buffet breakfast with all you can think of western options, some Japanese food aswell as traditional Balinese options. Everything we are at the pool side bar was fantastic also. ...sorry to write such a long review but I really liked this place!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashgeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. It's always a pleasure to receive nice comments. We are glad to know that you had a memorable time at the resort.

I will share your comment with the staff and I am sure that your review will motivate them even more to continuously improving our services.

Again we would like to thank you for choosing the Royal Beach Seminyak Bali for your valuable holiday in Bali.

We are looking forward to making your next visit even more pleasant than the previous ones.

Sincerely,

Camille Ringeard
Marketing Coordinator
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 148 in Seminyak
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
1.3 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 148 in Seminyak
3,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Pelangi Bali Hotel
#85 of 148 in Seminyak
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#32 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#33 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $134 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel directly on the Seminyak Beach, surrounded by uniquely designed 4.5 hectares tropical garden. Featuring 128 rooms and 17 private villas, it is within walking distance to Seminyak fine dining restaurants, trendiest bars and luxury shopping. With outstanding modern Balinese architecture, the hotel offers a distinctive and memorable stay wrapped with the warmth of Balinese culture on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali Hotel Seminyak
Sofitel Hotel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Hotel Denpasar
Sofitel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Bali
Denpasar Sofitel
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing