We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Ranked #37 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect spot”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel was ideal for us on our first visit to Bali. It was in a great position with easy access to the beach, restaurants and shops. The room was quiet, spacious ,clean and always lovely and cool. Staff were very helpful and friendly. It was also a great spot for a "rest day" if the daily travel was becoming too tiring. We particularly enjoyed the garden pool where you could enjoy a peaceful, private swim while the frangipani blossoms fluttered down on the tranquil water. Another highlight was the Bali night. We enjoyed a delicious dinner at the beach garden whle Balinese dancers performed in front of gently breaking surf. Thanks for looking after us so well. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind compliment. It was a pleasure to having you stay with us.
I will share your review to our team and I am sure that it will be a great motivator for us to serve you better in the future.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Ana Dewi Permana
Marketing Manager
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    886
    240
    63
    32
See reviews for
617
1,364
104
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful four day break in Bali. We stayed at the beautiful Royal Beach Hotel in Seminyak and it proved to be an excellent choice. The hotel is old but is very clean and the rooms are in very good condition. The food is first class. The buffet breakfast has something for everyone and we really enjoyed eating there. We ate our first dinner at the Teppanyaki restaurant and chose the beef fillet rare for the main dish - it was spectacular. Second dinner was at Husk, also very good. Third dinner was the lobster on the beach - this was superb. Lunches at Capris were very good - I can particularly recommend the Tropical Gravlax for a snack lunch and the Gado Gado for a more substantial one. The staff were fantastic - friendly, professional and very obliging. All in all a great experience in a really excellent hotel. We shall return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlesMulvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear ChuckM31,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are happy to know that you found our culinary services are meeting your expectation. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Ana Dewi Permana
Marketing Manager
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I looked for the 5 star hotel around Seminyak beach because I think this beach is more beutiful than any other beach in Bali. I found that The Royal Beach is the perfect one. You really can enjoy the beach right in front of the hotel, moreover you can just relax, have a drink, or reading books in one of the sun lounger, or cabana, or even hammock (you don't find this in many hotels though) provided by the hotel. Apart from the beach swimming pool, they also has garden pool which is much quiter.
The room is spacious for a standard size of superior room, including its balcony.
For traveler with family, eventhough they don't have kids club (only Wii games corner), the activity on Seminyak beach will obviously make them busy.
About the buffet breakfast, this hotel could have served more variety of food for a standard 5 star luxury hotel. I've been in one of the 4 star hotels that served more varied food than this hotel.
Again, the location of this hotel that is on Seminyak beach really makes me want to go back again, to forget life for a while..

Room Tip: choose either a room close to garden pool or beach pool as this is a big hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cahya-Awl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Bapak Cal-Jakarta,

Greetings from The Royals!
I am sorry for the late response as I might have overseen your review. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I will surely share it with our team and I am surely it will motivate us to serve you better in the future.

I have noted your comment about the food variety on breakfast and share it with our F&B team.
Once again thank you for the positive feedback, and we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort.

Sincerely,
Ana Dewi Permana
Marketing Manager
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Weve just returned from 8 nights at the Royal Beach Resort - our second stay but our first with our children and once again it was superb. Yes, the resort is getting a bit dated - however when you consider the direct beachfront location its a sacrifice Im prepared to make. For a more modern beachfront resort in the same area you'd most certainly pay way more - and, to be honest, although the rooms are a bit tired (bathrooms in particular), I find the resort charming and more in keeping with true balinese style rather than some newer villas which are super modern and not traditional at all. The other bonus of an older resort is the established gardens - honestly this place is an oasis from the frenzy of Seminyak, step inside the Royal Beach and the noise and chaos is left behind - the gardens are stunning.

I did notice when we stayed under the Sofitel brand the toiletries were L'Occitane and now they are M gallery - a small thing however, I don't care what the staff say, this resort has been downgraded to an 'upgraded' Mercure..(even using the same 'M' logo)...which is fine, but I think the prices could have gone down a little with it, in particular the Spa which charges top dollar for treatments in (again tired) rooms - crazy when you can wander down the street and have the same treatments at a third of the price or less. I cant understand why they don't drop the prices for the spa to get more people in - most people would choose to have treatments at the resort rather than outside if the prices weren't so high - I know I would have had a massage a day had it not been so exorbitant (I did elsewhere!)

Breakfasts were great and I loved the little tasting plates which were brought around each morning, also the fruit skewers by the pool were a nice added bonus. Upon arrival a platter of petit fours and a selection of seafood hors dourves were delivered to our room with a jug of iced tea and we were really impressed by these added touches. Yes, dining in at the resort is more expensive than walking down the street - its the same the world over, but the pizza in particular here is worth staying in for and all the food we ate at the resort was lovely. We ate at LaLucciola one night and paid way more than we would have had we eaten at the resort - with the same ocean views - we wished we'd stayed in!

Staff were all lovely - special mention to Ari at the poolside bar, he was always so friendly and helpful, sharing some stories about the island and his family, it was a pleasure meeting him. All staff were wonderful with the kids.

Theres not much more to say about this resort, I find anyone that goes to Bali regularly has 'their' hotel that they stay in time and time again and this one is ours, we just love it. Our kids are getting older now though so next time we would possibly get a villa (this time we had a grand deluxe room)...apart from that, I wouldnt change a thing!

One more tip - if you want a great cheap meal outisde the resort head to Delicious Onion in Jl Drupardi (head out of the main entrance,turn left,walk to the second street on your left and its a short walk along this street on your right hand side), its a mix of Chinese,Indonesian and Japanese style food, inexpensive and friendly service!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tajyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Tajyd,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is always nice to receive positive feedback.
We are indeed have different setup now, and it is including the amenities. However, kindly be ensured that we have also implemented the highest standard of quality of services and facilities.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to our team.

We are certainly hope that we would be able to welcoming you and the children back again in the next holiday.

Sincerely,
Ana Dewi Permana
Marketing Manager
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have been staying at this Hotel for the last 6 years, the food and the grounds are always great, howver its time for a renovation

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirisydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroyalmanager, Manager at The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Kirisydney,

It was always a pleasure to having you stay with us and on behalf of your Royal Team I would like to say thank you for your loyalty and kind support towards our hotel.

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to inform you that we have plan for renovation especially in the room. Hopefully on your next visit you will be able to enjoy the progress.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Ana Dewi Permana
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
1.3 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 146 in Seminyak
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 146 in Seminyak
1,625 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#21 of 146 in Seminyak
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Property: The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak Beach | PO Box 3384, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia (Formerly Sofitel Seminyak Bali)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#32 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#35 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel directly on the Seminyak Beach, surrounded by uniquely designed 4.5 hectares tropical garden. Featuring 128 rooms and 17 private villas, it is within walking distance to Seminyak fine dining restaurants, trendiest bars and luxury shopping. With outstanding modern Balinese architecture, the hotel offers a distinctive and memorable stay wrapped with the warmth of Balinese culture on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali Hotel Seminyak
Sofitel Hotel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Hotel Denpasar
Sofitel Seminyak Bali
Sofitel Bali
Denpasar Sofitel
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing