We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Kresna Boutique Villas
Ranked #99 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at Villa Kresna for one week. Not only did they serve us food with ants in it but they also tried to rip us off double what it cost for a taxi to the airport. Most of all they double charged us for our room and it took 5 weeks for them to reimburse our money to which they returned the wrong amount and told us that because of exchange rates that this was enough. I had to explain to them and the booking website that they must return every cent they took. The manager phoned me and said that I would have to wait until he got paid because it would come out of his salary. I gave them one more week to pay the outstanding amount for which they failed to contact me of any transaction. This is probably the worst place I have stayed in Bali and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. They are disorganised and reluctant to render problems when they arise.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kipling W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa-Kresna, Public Relations Manager at Villa Kresna Boutique Villas, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Kipling W, First of all we would like to thank you for your input. We apologize for your unpleasant experience and would also like to response to few of your input. Transportation price that we have in our Villa is USD $ 15 per way, which is considered to be the lowest from all the surrounding Villas and Hotels in our area (USD $ 17 to USD $ 20 per way). Herewith we would also like to explain that the delay of your money back transfer, first of all we have called your bank and tried to block or cancel the second charge from bank, however for some reason your bank still released the payment. The payment reached our bank account until the 20th January 2012. After which we transferred it back to you including all the bank charges. We would like to apologize again for your inconvinience and also that one of our reservation staff (not one of our managers) phoned you and elaborated on unnecessary information which is not true and has nothing to do with the delay in you for the double charge cases that you experience. We thank you for your comments and take it very seriously in our continuos effort to provide our customers with better services in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    144
    34
    12
    12
See reviews for
59
157
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at Villa Kresna over Christmas with our two children, 5 and 4 in Lotus 1 which is the first ground floor Lotus Suite. The Lotus Suites provide a lovely deck area out the front of your room where you have a table and two chairs. We used this area constantly with the two kids in the pool most of the day. All the rooms in Villa Kresna are within 15 metres of the pool (some on the second story though).We requested this ground floor suite because of the kids and were pleased upon arrival to see that we had been placed exactly where we had requested. Inside the Lotus Suites the first room is a sitting area with a couch that seats three people and an extra chair and ottoman with a coffee table. The room also included a flat screen tv and DVD player. It is a great room with the kids, but be aware this room is only fan cooled and has two big locking (important with the pool so close) doors that are solid construction fly screen ie. the fly screen could not be pushed in or cut. Despite only have a ceiling fan in this room we did not find it to be uncomfortably hot and used it every day with comfort. The second room in the suite is the bedroom which of course was air conditioned and is a good size. The bedroom comes with a huge, very comfortable bed. We paid for an extra single for our 5yo which again was a very comfortable roll away. This only just fitted up the side of the main bed but this did not cause a problem. On the other side of the bed we put our 4yo in the free cot provided as she still (just) fits in one. This too worked well for us and she found it very comfortable. Be mindful though that the cot is very old style though and would not meet Australian standards. It also has a very hard base with an extremely thin mattress and for some reason did not come with a blanket and when we asked for one the blanket more resembled a curtain than a blanket. None the less our daughter slept like a dream. Out the back of the bedroom was a small private courtyard with a drying rack in it. We used it only for drying our laundry and the children played in it a few times with their toys.
Between the two main rooms is a small kitchenette on one side which was sparse but sufficient, providing tea and coffe making facilities and a small bar fridge and sink. On the other side was the bathroom which was clean and nice looking with a huge shower. The only problem with the bathroom was that the toilet gets repeatedly blocked. Being such a small property though it was never a problem to get the maintenance man to come and rectify it. We have found this to be a common problem in Bali and it didn't bother us.

The property's greatest advantage is that it is lovely and quiet in a very private location, this however is also it's greatest setback. You approach it in a taxi down a very ramshackeled lane way and there are no little shops or restaurants along the lane way. The Villa is also not sign posted and many taxi drivers did not know where it was. It is best to request an airport transfer when booking for this reason. The beach is only 100m further down the lane way and we found this the easiest way to get anywhere on foot. Just 10 mins down the beach there are a number of beanbag bars on the beach which were an easy place to drink and eat with the kids. The property also has it's own, very good, but small, restaurant open from 7.30 to 11.00.

The pool is only small, but certainly big enough with a good sized shallow area for kids and a safety edge all the way around. The remainder of the pool is nice and deep.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, however I have to agree with previous review, they are terrible at responding to emails from outside the country. This is the second time we have stayed there and both times I booked direct and beyond securing your deposit it was hard to get a response out of them via email. Despite that, they were there both times at the airport to pick us up so I can't complain and this time they did manage to organise a birthday party for me the day after I arrived via my email instructions, which turned out super well.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would happily book to stay here again. Our accommodation was nicer than all our other friends who had travelled to Bali with us and several wished they had also booked here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa-Kresna, Public Relations Manager at Villa Kresna Boutique Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Dear Anygreen, Thank you for staying at Villa Kresna. It is a great honor for us to have you here with us and we do hope that on your next visit to Bali, you will choose us as your accomodation provider during your vacation. Looking forward to meet you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Wonderful villa in a great location. We chose this place after reading its many wonderful reviews (which were all accurate).

Location: A quick (5 minutes) walk to the beach, Kudeta (10 minutes), and the shops/restaurants on Jalan Lakmana (10-15 minutes).

Accommodations: We stayed in Villa Merapi, and our family members stayed in Villa Bromo. It's great to choose these two villas if you are traveling with family/friends as they are right across from each other. Villa Merapi is HUGE and seems to be much bigger than the other 1 bedroom villas. It really is a 1 bedroom, and can sleep many people. Its huge living room is also great for entertaining (though can get a little hot since there is only a ceiling fan in the living room). The shared pool is really nice and feels like your own private pool. We traveled with a super active toddler, and this villa was perfect for her.

Staff & Amenities: The staff is super friendly and helpful. The Art Cafe has a really nice atmosphere with delicious (and reasonably-priced) food and drinks. Nice chill atmosphere with great live music. It was a great way to spend New Year's Eve in Bali.

I'd definitely return if we were to stay in Seminyak again, but personally Seminyak is getting a bit too crowded for me. I highly recommend Villa Kresna to those who would like to experience Seminyak.

Room Tip: Villa Merapi (same published rate as the other 1 bedrooms) is a much bigger villa compared to Villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cicak23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa-Kresna, Public Relations Manager at Villa Kresna Boutique Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Dear cicak23, Thank you for staying at Villa Kresna. we are happy to see that you are happy and enjoying your stay in Villa Kresna. We look forward to meet you again soon and we hope that you will stop by and stay in Villa Kresna during your next visit to Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Really nice villa, but not the surrounding area. Walking distance to the beach is 5-7 min. (thru mud and trash). Good, stylish restaurant with tasteful live music in the evenings. All in all: good alternative to hotel, but not so much privacy as I expected.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vygintas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa-Kresna, Public Relations Manager at Villa Kresna Boutique Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Dear Vygintas, Thank you for staying at Villa Kresna. We do apologize if you feel that there is not enough privacy during your stay here. We would like to suggest probably on your next visit you would like to book our 2 bed room villas which is more secluded and private. we do hope that you will come back to stay with us again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom villa (Villa Merapi) that was fantastic! There are two locations for rooms and villas, so do your research. The villa was beautiful, relaxing and huge. You almost need two couples staying there to fill up the space. The downstairs dining and lounge area is lovely if you want a sense of home and relaxation. We ordered in one night and watched a movie rather than going out. The pool is small, semi-private, and has some sun. The people in the villa across from us didn't swim so we had it to ourselves anyway. Our terrace overlooked the pool.

The staff at the hotel gave us lots of privacy and didn't intrude at all. When they came to clean our villa they even cleaned the sand off my sandals! The Art Cafe that does room service and breakfast is quite nice. The coffee was very good, as was the pizza and 'hangover' sandwich. The villas are about a 15 minute walk to the beach, which has lots of great bars right on the sand. You can walk along the beach to get to the clubs. I would love to stay at Villa Kresna again. Was such a lovely experience!

Room Tip: Villa Merapi is big enough for two couples if you add an extra bed into the second bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gretchen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa-Kresna, Public Relations Manager at Villa Kresna Boutique Villas, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Dear Gretchen T, Thank you for staying at Villa Kresna. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We do hope that we will be able to see you again. It was an honor to have you with us. Wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWScotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My fiance and I are in our late 20s/early 30s and stayed at Villa Kresna Boutique Suites in the Alamanda room for eight nights, November 2011.
The accommodation is located down a small back street about 10 minutes walk from the nearest bars/restaurants/shops, just 100m from Seminyak beach and is easily found on Google maps. The street is not particularly pleasant and serves as access to the beach and also the staff entrance for the neighboring larger hotels. It is worth noting that at time of writing there was new accommodation prepared to be built next to Villa Kresna suites directly behind on the beach side, Vibe? Studios, work was yet to start however the plot had been cleared and the accommodation advertised.
The entrance to the accommodation is very inviting, with a pale stone reception on the left overlooking the pool and the Kresna cafe to the right where breakfast/meals are served
We received a very warm welcome as we have come to expect in Bali and our luggage was taken to our room by the security guard who is there 24/7. The staff were excellent throughout our stay even by Bali standards. When booking other accommodation in Bali we have always received a confirmation email direct from the hotel and the offer of an airport transfer even when booking through a third party. We did not received this from Villa Kresna which was disappointing. I contacted them by email however received no response which was off putting, only the positive reviews here stopped us cancelling.
As stated we stayed in the Alamanda room which overlooks the pool and has a large private balcony. The room was very nice, very large and looks pretty much as in the advertised pictures. The bed was a proper double and was very comfortable. There were a few let downs, the towels were a little tired and the shower curtain had that orange stain at the bottom which could have been cleaned or replaced. The air conditioning was okay however struggled a little during the day cooling such a large air space. The private balcony is not quite as advertised, it is at the front end of the property so overlooks the street and is quite open to view although has two nice recliners and a small table. The balcony has an ugly air conditioning unit at one end and some sort of masked gas canister, possibly for hot water, which they do not show in the pictures! There were also power/telecoms lines directly across the front of the balcony about head height. The a/c unit blows hot air across the balcony when the a/c is on together with the noise is quite unpleasant, so you really had to switch this off when outside. To be honest I would rather have had a smaller, more private balcony with a table and chairs.
The room, although nice has some issues, the ceiling which is very nice to look at is a bit of an issue when it rains. It becomes something of a drum and we were wakened whenever it rained during the night. The position of this room is not ideal. It is at the front above the reception/cafe. Although the street is not busy any noise there is is easily heard in the room, whether it is cars/scooters coming and going/passing by or staff in the kitchen early in the morning. The room has a number of large windows and sliding glass doors so soundproofing is not great. The curtains are nice however are not thick enough to keep out light in the morning. These factors meant we never felt well rested during our stay and never managed to sleep past 7am so no lie-ins here.
The pool although small is very nice and quite warm, one thing I noticed was it did not appear particularly clean and was quite gritty. The biggest issue which I had not considered when booking is there are no parasols/umbrellas to go with the sun loungers, the small number of trees there are do not provide sufficient shade from the sun and there are only six loungers although this never seemed to be a problem.
Breakfast was very good (served in the cafe at the accommodation not Art Cafe), Balinese restaurant quality, small but sufficient portions. Staff were excellent although did not tell you what was included with the breakfast. We found out this was anything on the breakfast menu, side dishes extra (relatively expensive), with tea/coffee and/or fruit juice. We also had lunch on a couple of occasions which was good.
I feel I have to comment on the other rooms at Villa Kresna suites. As you look at the pool from reception all the other rooms are on the left hand side, as you look at the accommodation there are one type of room on the left (this building looks newer, Frangipani I think) and older looking accommodation to the right (Lotus?). I noticed that the Frangipani although nice inside have no balcony to speak of, they all have sun blinds outside the front windows/doors for privacy and only have a 'daybed' outside which is very open and not very private, the Lotus on the other hand have nice private balconies or a terrace, this would put me off the Frangipani as we like to have somewhere to sit and have a drink at night.
The biggest issue for me with this accommodation is value for money, we paid US$120 per night and I can't help but feel it is not great value for money as the suites are not outstanding and there are no real facilities beyond the pool and cafe. I am not entirely sure how this compares for Seminyak, which in general we loved and is probably our favorite area to stay so far. We stayed in Tuban (Green Garden Resort) and Sanur (Tamukami) last year for about half this and the accommodation exceeded our expectations, especially the Tamukami.
We may return to VKS but only to the Lotus suites and probably only if they dropped their prices. Will add photos soon.

Room Tip: Pick the Lotus? suites, the ones with the balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BazKA6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa-Kresna, Public Relations Manager at Villa Kresna Boutique Villas, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear BazKA6, Thank you for staying at Villa Kresna and thank you very much for your feedback for Villa Kresna. We have reviewed all your feedback and we already have general meeting in our management for the action plan which will be implemented for improvement. Rest assure that we valued your feedback and taking this feedback seriously. We will make several program that will allow us to present memorable experience for our guest stay. We hope that we will see you again soon and we will be able to have the opportunity to show our improvement on your next stay at Villa Kresna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Friendly staff.
Close to bars, restaurants, beach and shops.
Great size villa and very cool during hot days

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaAPendlebury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa-Kresna, Public Relations Manager at Villa Kresna Boutique Villas, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear LisaHillyer,

Thank you for staying at Villa Kresna, it is a pleasure for us to be able to serve you during your stay, and it is great honor for us to receive such wonderful comment for your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance that we can provide for you on your next visit to Villa Kresna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#74 of 143 in Seminyak
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#78 of 143 in Seminyak
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Agung Village
Bali Agung Village
#59 of 143 in Seminyak
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#30 of 143 in Seminyak
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 143 in Seminyak
607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puri Saron Seminyak
Puri Saron Seminyak
#97 of 143 in Seminyak
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kresna Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kresna Boutique Villas

Property: Villa Kresna Boutique Villas
Address: Jl. Sari Dewi 17 | Badung - Bali, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#71 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Kresna Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Kresna's two locations in the ever popular Seminyak and within walking distance to the beach and from each other. Villa Kresna Boutique Villas and Villa Kresna Boutique Suites, have a combination of comfort and elegance in every room. The beach is literally just around the corner and it is easily accessible to Seminyak and all the popular areas of south-western Bali has to offer. World class restaurants, boutiques, galleries and bars are just some of the attractions within walking distance of Villa Kresna. Set in the ever popular Seminyak and within walking distance to the beach. Boutique Suites located at Jalan Sarinande 19 and Boutique Villa located at Jalan Sari Dewi 17, Seminyak. Both properties just 300meter away to each other. Villa Kresna boutique Suites offers 13 Suites rooms. Each suites are individually designed with space in mind. It is easily accessible to Seminyak and all the popular areas of south-western bali has to offer.Chic eateries, boutiques, galleries and Seminyak's famous nightlife are just some of the attractions within walking distance. The popular Seminyak Beach, with its spectacular year-round sunsets, is just around the corner. Villa Kresna's Boutique Villas, which have a combination of traditional features and luxurious modern amenities. Serviced by highly experienced staff and run by the same caring owner. Villa Kresna Boutique Villas offers 9 unit of share and private pool villa. Villa Kresna is owned by a Balinese-German family who has worked in the villas for two generations and has lovingly built each of Villa Kresna's 22 individual suites and villas, one by one, over the years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Kresna Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kresna Boutique Villas Hotel Seminyak
Hotel Kresna Tropical
Resort Kresna Tropical
Villa Kresna Boutique Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing