We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique in Bali”
Review of Luna2 Studiotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luna2 Studiotel
Ranked #17 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Unique in Bali”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is no ordinary hotel. From pick up at the airport in a groovy Luna Smart car (cold towels and cold beer too) to arrival you are in for an experience. Eclectic art greets you in the lobby together with an earthbound friendly welcome from the staff.

My room was large - and the bathroom huge by most hotel standards. There was a glass wall by the bath overlooking the room but the loo and shower had their own doors.

The bed was large and comfortable but the ceiling mirror over the right hand bottom of the bed led to a certain amount of speculation.

Televisions everywhere - huge opposite the bed - smaller above the bath and one with headphones for anyone wanting to watch an alternative movie.

All the other gadgets too - I- pad etc. - i didn't have time to play with them all. A retro fridge with a very well stocked minibar. Fast internet included and plenty of work space. My room - blue themed- overlooked the pool as all but one suite on the top floor do.

The roof top bar with its view over the sea is a must for sundowner cocktails and the sunset view is quite fantastic.

Later on its the basement bar with the viewing room next door that is the attraction. A huge screen for movies and very comfortable recliner seats - children loved the supply of pop corn!

Its an intimate but refined area and the staff aren't slow to notice an empty glass. Even if you go out to supper elsewhere this is a fun place to finish off the evening.

The walk to the beach is a couple of hundred metres down a private gang - past the Luna 2 private hotel to miles of sandy beach and rolling waves. Go for a walk down the beach early in the morning - its empty apart from some early morning joggers and a few people on horseback exercising their horses in the shallow water. Return to a delicious cooked breakfast in the dining room together with faxed copies of the UK papers - bliss if the Jakarta Post is the only alternative.

If you seek the Bali of Eat, Pray, Love this may not be for you - if you want comfort, attention to detail and pampering it is - and it works wonderfully for children too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    15
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
88
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Family trip to Bali with our two girls (6 and 8).

5 fantastic days at this very specific, one of a kind Design Hotel.

Did you know that one could say it is kind of a very individual spacey design hip hotel with the special features of a small "family run" high-end caring hospitality oasis.

Did you know that we got picked up by the Luna2 Mobil at Hanging Gaardens in Ubud and that the 2 hrs drive to the Hotel was already an experience filled with professionalism and great hospitality?

Did you know that the interior design concept is quite unique and I could imagine that is would not suit the everyone`s taste. But that would be boring anyhow, right?

Did you know that the staff literally can read your mind? Starting from the security team to the receptionist via the kitchen staff and management team.

Did you know that if you are looking for Bali furniture the reception team provides you with the intelligence for various nice places to go...

Did you know that the chef(s) actually care about your likes and dislikes and while asking for same in the very beginning they afterwards try to match same. In our case fantastic meals matching exactly the needs of two hungry girls for - inter alia - basic pasta and some fresh veggies while their parents were looking for a more distinguished variable but still basic and healthy food experience.

Did you know that the pool has underwater music playing?

Did you know that the staff even organizes some coconut milk for you at very inhuman hours if you would suffer some stomach problems?

Did you know that the private movie theater experience really is one of a kind? Forget about Singaporean Golden Village Business Class. I must assume that neither LeBron James nor any other Hollywood VIP does have a nicer private movie Theater at their premises...

Did you know that the location is within 2-3 minutes foot walking to the sea?

Did you know that compared to other high end places this one is not lacking of kindness and heartiness while providing you with high privacy and discretion.

Did you know that I would consider Luna2 NOT to be first choice for a family with toddlers or below? I would say it is rather a place for couples, groups or families with kids at age 8 or above... But still, our two girls felt very comfortable at all time. The staff was very kids friendly and there were all kinds of kids entertainment stuff like games or so available.

Did you know that the view from the roof top bar is amazing?

Did you know that the bar tender puts some cucumber and pepper in your Hendricks Gin and Tonic?

Did you know that we will return next week...?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having stayed in many great hotels around the world I've never felt compelled to write a review... until now. The setup, style location and staff at Luna2 make this a unique experience and we loved the beach front location, food and details such as the I-pad in the room and the private cinema (with the best reclining seats!). But the thing that makes this place really special are the people that run it, from the security on the door to the reception and kitchen staff, everyone went out of their way to make our stay perfect. From helping us plan our visit to the Gilly Islands to rescheduling a movie for us to watch in the cinema, to helping us search for a pair of lost glasses, the staff made an incredible effort throughout our visit. This may not be a traditional Bali hotel but the service alone is truly world class.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

That's what my daughter said while we were at the Luna2 Studios.

The Luna2 experience is like nothing else I've encountered in decades of visiting Bali. If you want a traditional Balinese welcome/atmosphere, then this is not the place for you. But if you want a cool, funky place to stay in the heart of Bali's top end social scene, then you should not look elsewhere.

From the Lego-meets-Monopoly-meets-retro decor, to the facilities offered and level of service, everything was of the highest order. It was wonderful to have a decent-length pool (complete with underwater music!), the children could have disappeared for life into the cinema and both the basement and roof-top bars were great.

There were original, creative cocktails that were to die for and while the menu was not super-extensive, the quality of the food was excellent - I'll take quality over quantity any day.

The bed was comfortable, the amenities offered in the room (sunblock etc) were carefully thought out and the fact there were three TVs was appreciated by the whole family.

In short, it's going to be tricky to convince the family to stay anywhere else on the Island of the Gods.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Cipayung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Seminyak itself is full and vibrant with beautiful surf beaches. Luna2 boasts bucketfuls of retro décor and nostalgic tweaks teamed with professional, five star hospitality services, making Luna2 a paradise for any jet-setting design-junky. The friendly but discreet service at Luna2 studios encourages you to sit back and relax, with the overwhelming feeling that no demand is too big. After following the Monopoly board-inspired hallway to my room, I was thrilled to see bedrooms of an equally quirky caliber with bold colours and patterns creating lively, fun-filled pads with all the comforts and gadgets you could possibly require. The culinary expertise available at Luna2 studios was made apparent from the very first sunset canapé. The head chef, Brenden, introduced himself to our table and consistently blew me away with a delicate yet daring menu. Later we indulged in passion fruit and vanilla martinis in Pop! the underground disco den with all the cool and exclusivity of any London club but with a funky Luna2 spin. The hotel is impeccably well-kept and the playful touches are a constant surprise! I would recommend Luna2 studios to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosie1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Luna2 suites hotel is a very unique and funky hotel located in Seminyak. The colourful decor is original and seems inspired by a mix of Lego, Monopoly and Dutch painter Piet Mondrian. The level of detail in the furnishings is impressive throughout the hotel, as is the level of service.

The food is delicious and well presented - I was lucky to try a selection of small dishes including fish and chips wrapper in small newspaper cones and wagyu burgers. The ingredients were evidently of a high quality.

The bedrooms are also cleverly designed with many bright colours and original touches such as an additional retro-style TV. The fridge contents are definitely more comprehensive than most other hotels, as is the selection of toiletries.

I was pleasantly surprised to find a cinema room with an excellent acoustic system and very comfortable reclinable sofas with extendable footrests. The hotel also boasts a cool little bar/club with a good selection of premium spirits and enough space for some dancing, if you're in the mood.

If you are looking for a fun, funky and stylish hotel, unlike any other in Bali, which still maintains a high level of quality and service, I would thoroughly recommend the Luna2 suites hotel. I really look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasonfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

An absolutely great product, high design and one you have to experience next time in Seminyak. I loved this place, no vanilla here, space, thoughtful execution with style. Luna2 does justice to the trendy Seminyak vibe. Highlights are is the trippy art, attention to detail and quality products and service. Why can't hotel chains be this cool? Love it and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thephuketinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,493 reviews
1.1 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#21 of 143 in Seminyak
3,222 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna2 Studiotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna2 Studiotel

Property: Luna2 Studiotel
Address: Jl. Sarinande no. 20, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Luna2 Studiotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna2 Seminyak, Bali is located in the heart of fashionable Seminyak just a few steps from the beach and within walking distance of renowned KUDETA and Potatohead Beach Club. Ranked among the best small hotels in the world, Luna2 studiotel has 14 super- spacious open-plan studio rooms, personalised 5-star services and ultra-modern interior design infused with nostalgia, futurism, and touches of fun. On site, intimate Orbit restaurant features signature Lunafood and an award-winning wine list. Outdoor, the 25m colour-blocked lap pool is the ultimate escape. Ascend four floors to Space rooftop bar for sunset cocktails with the ultimate panoramic ocean view. Dance the night away in underground ‘groovy-baby’ Pop! lounge bar, or relax in a plush recliner in Lunaplex 16-seat cinema ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Luna2 Studiotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna2 Studiotel Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing