We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of Hotel Vila Lumbung

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vila Lumbung
Ranked #42 of 145 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

My daughter & I stayed in a twin room; it was clean & spacious & had everything we needed. The grounds & pool here is just gorgeous! Has it's own Spa too which was lovely & reasonably priced. We loved the location, far enough away from Seminyak Square as to not be too busy, but a few minutes taxi ride away (or 15/20min walk). LOADS of great places to eat within a few minutes walk.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kezzbee045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    416
    112
    27
    23
See reviews for
231
439
47
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This was my first trip to Bali with my partner and another couple and we loved the hotel! The two pools are fantastic surrounded by greenery. There is also a pool bar where you can order great drinks and even have your lunch there. The hotel restaurant was good and we also loved the breakfast buffet.
Our room was decent, we did have some problems with the toilet not flushing well.
Staff were really friendly and helpful. Location is great, close to restaurants/cafes.
Would most probably stay again although would like to experience other hotels as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dajana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I really loved my 10 nights at Hotel Vila Lumbung. I travelled by myself and I was very comfortable at this hotel. The staff are delightful, the location is not right in the middle of Seminyak (as in near Seminyak Square etc) but it doesn't matter. It's not a long walk, motorbike or taxi anyway.
I arrived at nearly 1am from Australia. The staff at the front desk were smiling and helpful, and joking about how tired I must be. Nothing was an issue.
The grounds of Vila Lumbung are beautiful. You wouldn't know that there are busy roads near by. It's tranquil and quiet.
The rooms aren't too fancy, but very clean and a great size. I had an issue with the air conditioning in my room. After they tried to fix it it was no trouble to move me to a different room which I really appreciated.
The swimming pool is gorgeous. There are a selection of sun loungers around half the pool and I loved my position in one of these chairs on quite a few days of my holiday.
The restaurant is open and sits right near a fish pond on one side. It's a beautiful spot to eat breakfast and use the wifi whilst looking out at the elements.
More than anything I need to applaud the staff. Their smiles are infectious, and they were so delightful and helpful.
Thank you Hotel Vila Lumbung. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgiaD839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Centrally located to all the great restaurants and shops of Seminyak.
Great value.
Comfortable, spacious and without too much hype.
Rooms are old but big and comfortable.
All you need for a quiet trip to Bali.

Room Tip: Get a pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights recently and loved every minute.

We stayed in a downstairs deluxe bungalow which was really lovely - only downside was the noise from the people upstairs (dragging chairs). Had a lovely balcony and the room was cleaned everyday.

The spa treatments were excellent (and very cheap) and all the staff were extra friendly (cocktails and cold towels on arrival). Breakfast everyday was great (made to order omelettes!). We had several other meals from the restaurant, all were mostly good - couple of not so great but very well priced also.

The hotel and pool area were very quiet at night but the location of the hotel is excellent and the night life is only a short walk/taxi away.

We had friends stay in the standard rooms, which were also pleasant enough.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asutralia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We booked two superior rooms months in advance for our stay in April 2014 and were looking forward to staying at Hotel Villa Lumbung as the photos of the hotel looked amazing. We have stayed in quite a few hotels in bali over the years but we have never come across a hotel that is so run down and grotty. Despite booking months in advance we were made to wait over an hour for our room once we arrived for check in. We were told that someone had extended their stay and they were preparing other rooms for us. Both superior rooms were barely furnished, no pictures on the walls, the one room had a broken air conditioner and despite asking reception staff four times to get it checked, nothing was done and the weather was really humid so it was not a pleasant start with no sleep on the first night. Both rooms had disgusting dirty yellow sweat stained pillows, mould on the bedside lamp, mould in the bathroom and very old and tattered bathroom towels and bath mat. We stayed one night and decided to check out and find a cleaner place for the other three nights. When we explained to the manager why we wanted to check out he offered to accommodate us in a villa, we decided that we would still like to check out as the state of the linen and towels etc would of been the same and we did not want to experience the same uncleanliness any longer and risk breathing in any more mould. Unfortunately we lost money on 3 nights accommodation for both rooms which added up to a fair amount of money. I certainly will not recommend this hotel to anyone, unless you want to lose your money that you have paid and still have to pay for another hotel on top of that just to have clean linen and no mould. It's just the normal expectation that when you book into a hotel that you will have clean linen etc, I have never stayed in a hotel in Bali prior to Villa Lumbung that has been so run down and unclean.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ozieAsutralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Vila Lumbung for 4 nights in April 2014 - the location was ideal - literally around the corner from popular restaurants and bars in Seminyak, no need for taxi cabs. Also only a small stroll to the beach which was nice and quiet.The deluxe bungalows are great value for money, very spacious and beautiful balinese style furniture & finishings. The grounds of the hotel are also very pretty, we were very lucky with the weather so got to take advantage of happy hour by the pool whilst soaking up some last minute sun. The staff at the hotel were also very friendly and helpful and even prepared take away breakfasts for us to take with us when we had to leave the hotel very early before the time breakfast was served - which I though was a nice touch.
I would definitely come back to this hotel and would recommend it for all types i.e. families, young and older couples. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in Seminyak, Hotel Vila Lumbung is the perfect location.

Room Tip: I would recommend to pay the little extra for the deluxe bungalows, whilst the hotel rooms looked ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiamhLiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#25 of 145 in Seminyak
616 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#31 of 145 in Seminyak
538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#48 of 145 in Seminyak
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#64 of 145 in Seminyak
1,748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
1.1 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Lumbung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Lumbung

Property: Hotel Vila Lumbung
Address: Jl. Raya Petitenget no. 1000x, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#36 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#39 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Lumbung 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Lumbung is located in Seminyak area, just 15 minutes drive by car from Kuta or Legian and 10 minutes walk to Seminyak Square shopping centre. Set on 15.000 square meters of lush tropical gardens and just 800 meters away from Petitenget Beach, this hotel also close to several famous restaurant and beach club in Seminyak. The hotel features with 36 Superior Rooms and 34 Deluxe Bungalow and this is the perfect place for those who seek a fresh tropical atmosphere. All villas are in the Lumbung style with typical Balinese wooden roofs (sirap) in spacious Balinese rooms. Flooded with natural light, the well-designed rooms with a balcony and DVD player prepared in each room. All of them are fully equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, in-room safe, minibar, coffee or tea maker facility, bath-up and shower, and free complimentary Wi-Fi access.In addition, an open air restaurant with an adjacent pool bar and 2 level swimming pool with waterfall and cave, tropical island, whirl pool, gazebo and day spa, kids playground, tour desk and recreation room. Luxury and style within a true Balinese atmosphere awaits you at this Bali resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vila Lumbung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Vila Lumbung
Vila Lumbung Hotel
Hotel Vila Lumbung Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing