We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vila Lumbung - Bali Oasis”
Review of Hotel Vila Lumbung

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Vila Lumbung
Ranked #42 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Vila Lumbung - Bali Oasis”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I've just returned from staying at Vila Lumbung. The staff were all friendly and helpful with any questions or advice. The accommodation, while slightly dated, was perfectly suitable for anyone wanting reasonably priced accommodation where you can get away from all the hussle and bussle of the craziness outside. A taxi ride to any area is so cheap as long as you remember to barter with the price (unless the driver advises he will use the meter).

The buffet breakfast is a great selection of fruits, cereals, danishes, hot food and omelettes or eggs cooked on request.

The location is close enough to walk to the many facilities in the local area as long as you take care as the footpaths are non existent.

My experience was fantastic and I would recommend Vila Lumbung to anyone looking for accommodation in Seminyak.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smurphs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVilaLumbung, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Vila Lumbung, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear smurphs4

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Vila Lumbung, a hidden gem in Seminyak - Bali!

Thank you very much for your incredibly positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the service, breakfast, and also our hotel location.

It is also wonderful that you enjoyed our facilities in our lovely resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Vila Lumbung in the near future and once again thank you very much for your time to write a good comment for us.

Sincerely Yours,


Noor Cahyo
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Vila Lumbung, Seminyak - Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    411
    110
    27
    23
See reviews for
230
432
46
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have been to Bali many times before and try at least one different hotel every time. I chose Vila Lumbung because of the atmosphere shown in the photos, as well as the price and we were not disapointed.
Our upstairs villa was much bigger than expected, had plenty of storage space, magnificent views over the gardens and the balcony with daybed was my favourite spot to relax. The King bed was very comfortable, bedding and towels nice and fresh (just a small suggestion, I would have a sheet on the bed as well as the doona - that way you can use just a sheet and don't need the aircon to keep cool).
The breakfast was plentiful with a variety of cooked dishes, egg station, lovely pastries, fresh pancakes, cereal, fruit, yummy bread, fruit juice and endless tea and coffee (small tip: the tea is VERY weak, ask for a pot of tea with 2 teabags left in the pot)
The gardens are beautiful, filled with flowers and orchids. The pool well designed, with 2 levels including a swim-up bar and Jacuzzi. Plenty of sun lounges for everyone and no "chair reserving" makes life very easy.
There is a Happy Hour, but the drinks are still quite pricey at rp 65000 to 90000 for Bali cocktails - which brings me to my one and only little quibble: the price of drinks and food, which I believe is too high. A glass of Bintang (not a bottle) is 32000 +21%, that is expensive even for Perth standards, the meals are from 70000 upwards, which might be ok if the food is great, but its just nice. So we ate out every night, except for the last one, even though you need a scooter or taxi everywhere you go. Maybe with a different menu, a few specials and more affordable drinks the restaurant would not be so empty and you could entice more guests to stay in. The restaurant certainly is pleasant enough in its surroundings.
Apart from that I would not want to change a thing, definitely recommend the villas if you can afford it. Upstairs for the views, amazing ceiling and balcony - if you are fit enough for the stairs, downstairs for the lovely outdoor bathroom with big tub (no bath upstairs).
4 nights of total relaxation, thanks to Vial Lumbung and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petr0nella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVilaLumbung, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Vila Lumbung, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Petr0nella,

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Vila Lumbung, a hidden gem in Seminyak - Bali!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post this review and your beautiful photos on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you’re enjoyed your stay at Deluxe Bungalow Upstair and indeed, our location, our design and cleanliness of the room, our breakfast quality and services are our primary concern for guest satisfaction.

Once again thank you very much and we do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Hotel Vila Lumbung.


Sincerely Yours,


Noor Cahyo
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Vila Lumbung, Seminyak - Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks with a 12 month baby and our extended family. The stay was fantastic and the facilities were excellent, especially for a group setting. The staff were extremely helpful and we even made a few friends.

The staff were especially helpful with the baby - they even allowed us to use their kitchen facilities.

The villas (in which we stayed) were very intimate and secluded. I would highly recommend a stay here!!

The pool is especially awesome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasquatch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVilaLumbung, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Vila Lumbung, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear sasquatch s

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Vila Lumbung, a hidden gem in Seminyak - Bali!

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

Our Guests feedback is our most precious source of information in order to consistently improve our services and facilities.

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our services, our room, our pool and also our friendly staff. it will be one of our major concern to improve and serve you better in your next visit at Hotel Vila Lumbung.

Once again, thank you very much for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.


Sincerely Yours,


Noor Cahyo
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Vila Lumbung, Seminyak - Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our 7 night stay at the villa lumbung was wonderful. The in room air conditioner worked a treat after a day out shopping at nearby seminyak square. The pool was superb especially for an afternoon swim, and dinner in the restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet was ample and had a good variety each day. We spent breakfast sitting in the huts where the free wifi worked the best. From the moment we arrived, the staff were friendly and helpful and got to know us well enough to know us by our first names, we would like to thank each and everyone of them who made our stay so much more enjoyable. Taxi was organised in minutes by the front desk and was only a few dollars to most of the places we wanted to go. We will be back with the kids next time, and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brun072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVilaLumbung, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Vila Lumbung, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Brun072

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Vila Lumbung, a hidden gem in Seminyak - Bali!

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Vila Lumbung Seminyak Bali for your valuable holiday. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our lovely resort and glad to hear that you will come back to visit us on your next holiday.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us it's our hope to welcome you again in the near future.


Sincerely Yours,


Noor Cahyo
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Vila Lumbung, Seminyak - Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I loved Vila Lumbung. Being my fifth trip to Bali I wanted to get out of Legian, where it is so easy to get stuck. I booked for 3 nights and it was great - the pool was just delightful and the restaurant was really nice. Not superb cooking but really nice. The warung next door was more my style and we ate there each night then crossed the road to the coffee shop and had cake and coffee for dessert. The room at Vila Lumbung was very comfortable with a fabulous bathroom. The balcony overlooked the pool and we enjoyed every second of our three nights there. The staff were great and extremely helpful. When my driver (an old Balinese friend) was caught in the horrendous traffic, I was offered the hotel driver to pick my friend up at the airport. So just remember - the traffic is a nightmare in Bali during Christmas/New Years and I would never recommend going there during this time. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyMissKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVilaLumbung, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Vila Lumbung, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear LadyKarens,

Warmest Greetings from Hotel Vila Lumbung, a hidden gem in Seminyak - Bali!

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and taking the time to post such a nice and detailed comment and also your beautiful photos on Trip Advisor.

We are so thrilled to hear that you loved our resort. On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again for choosing our resort for your valuable holiday.

Once again thank you very much and we are looking forward to making your next visit more memorable.


Sincerely Yours,


Noor Cahyo
Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Vila Lumbung, Seminyak - Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddington, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

What an amazing first experience in Bali. This property exceeded my expectations in every way for the price I paid. Firstly, the staff were fantastic! Attentive, engaging, knowledgeable, friendly but most of all real. The pool area and swim-up bar are divine as is the accommodation. I stayed in a superior room which was extremely comfortable and provided everything I could have needed. The restaurant provides a beautiful breakfast serving both traditional and western fair. Vila Lumbung is located far enough away from the mayhem of the main tourist areas that I was thankfully able to forget I was surrounded by fellow Australians. That said however, the property is within close walking distance to well known bars such as Ku De Ta and Potato Head. Alternatively, the designated transport desk in the facilities reception area can arrange a car or bike to pick you up within minutes. A fantastic trip thanks to Vila Lumbung. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I wrote a review for Villa Lumbung about 5 years ago that will be the same as this. Since then we've stayed about 5 more times as well as experiencing the luxury of 5 Star and a couple of 3.5 star alternatives also in the mix. But we keep coming back to Lumbung because it's just such an easy holiday for a family with very young, young and now not as young but still primary school children. The bungalows are enormous and we can all stay together without a fuss. The breakfast isn't special and to be honest, I eat it elsewhere, but great for the kids with enough healthy options and not so adult or stuffy that they (and we) don't feel comfortable letting them serve themselves. The pool is lots of fun and usually not that busy or noisy (although we did run into a couple of huge family groups last Christmas that killed the serenity somewhat, but that can happen anywhere family friendly). There's a cute, basic games room that isn't too precious and the kids can play a rowdy game of table tennis without raising eyebrows, or ruining anyone else's good time. And the staff and grounds are lovely. Finally, an amazing location that is no longer on the fringes as the sprawl of Seminyak has spread towards it. Just walk, or tiny taxi ride, to amazing restaurants, great beach clubs and fun shopping. Including 'proper' coffee just over the road and a great Indonesia Warung immediately to the left as you hit the road that I can't wait to get back to. For us, it's a case of what's not to love. All the money we save on accommodation we get to spend on food, drink and shopping.

Room Tip: Go for the older rooms - up and downstairs bungalows rather than the new complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essdee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 143 in Seminyak
607 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#30 of 143 in Seminyak
529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#65 of 143 in Seminyak
1,722 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Pelangi Bali Hotel
#80 of 143 in Seminyak
1,025 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Lumbung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Lumbung

Property: Hotel Vila Lumbung
Address: Jl. Raya Petitenget no. 1000x, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#37 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#40 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Lumbung 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Lumbung is located in Seminyak area, just 15 minutes drive by car from Kuta or Legian and 10 minutes walk to Seminyak Square shopping centre. Set on 15.000 square meters of lush tropical gardens and just 800 meters away from Petitenget Beach, this hotel also close to several famous restaurant and beach club in Seminyak. The hotel features with 36 Superior Rooms and 34 Deluxe Bungalow and this is the perfect place for those who seek a fresh tropical atmosphere. All villas are in the Lumbung style with typical Balinese wooden roofs (sirap) in spacious Balinese rooms. Flooded with natural light, the well-designed rooms with a balcony and DVD player prepared in each room. All of them are fully equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, in-room safe, minibar, coffee or tea maker facility, bath-up and shower, and free complimentary Wi-Fi access.In addition, an open air restaurant with an adjacent pool bar and 2 level swimming pool with waterfall and cave, tropical island, whirl pool, gazebo and day spa, kids playground, tour desk and recreation room. Luxury and style within a true Balinese atmosphere awaits you at this Bali resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Vila Lumbung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Vila Lumbung
Vila Lumbung Hotel
Hotel Vila Lumbung Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing