We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was Poor”
Review of Benny's Bistro - CLOSED

Benny's Bistro
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Service was Poor”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This place for it's location should be really good -- yet after years living in Bali I was never previously tempted to go in. We went in for drinks one night and I realised that first impressions are often the best. The terse service was entirely off putting and thoroughly unfriendly. A couple of drinks was enough for a lifetime ... I won't go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JalanJalan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    5
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cheap and filling”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had dinner here and found the food good. Alum for what you pay and was clean .The staff are friendly and. It's just a basic good place to eat if you want a I and out meal.
Would eat there again and out of six of us there were no complaints.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Be careful when you choose how to have your fresh prawns served”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

A display of beautiful large prawns allowed us to choose what we wanted - 420gms of medium prawns at INR260,000 per kg. we foolishly asked for them peeled and cooked with rice and noodles. Even accounting for the usual shrinkage during cooking the prawns we received were nowhere near the size of the prawns we chose. We disputed the fact with the manager without success and finally paid reluctantly knowing we had been cheated. Advice: when buying fresh seafood in this way, ensure that it is cooked and served separately. Best have prawns quickly stir fried in their shells to be certain you are getting what you have ordered.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth aus.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“entertaining”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

good food and drinks here, entertainment most nights, traditional Balinese dancing, friendly accommodating staff, very enjoyable evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank speed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

First dinner in Bali for this visit, arrived at 10pm and was one of the first restaurants we came across and settled at because we were hungry. Not very well presented. Very very average food. I had Nasi Campur it was dry and seemed a little suss. and my mum had a pizza which had a very floury bass. Won't be going back!

Helpful?
Thank Lamb891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benny's Bistro also viewed

 
Seminyak, Bali
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing