We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun staff and excellent Tuna dishes.”

Meja Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #78 of 510 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The MEJA experience starts the moment you turn onto fashionable Oberoi street in the Seminyak - district of South Bali. Just look for the blue on the left. Set like a glowing opal, with a striking, modern façade of louvered steel, one look at this two tiered venue and you'll know you are going to have a great dining experience. We are presenting to you the concept "Back to the Roots": Indonesian cuisine at its best. Meet the tradition empowered by modern touch and aesthetics of our chef. The travelling with your taste buds can start. The traditional food from all over Indonesia will be served for you on one place: snacks, main dishes, sweets, Signature cocktails with local spirit and Balinese healthy drinks. For your comfort, we're also serving the International dishes and classics of Asian kitchen. Once inside, you will immediately feel at home. With its well trained and gracious staff, its soft teal and turquoise accents and murals, minimalistic modern design of the interior, MEJA is the perfect place for a first date, a business meeting, a family gathering or a private party. All in all, Meja Kitchen is an affordable stop for a dynamite dinner, with live music every day & promotions you'll enjoy. A great place to kick-start any adventurous evening in Bali, Meja is set to become a destination restaurant for any lover of great food and even better memories.
singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun staff and excellent Tuna dishes.”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

While staying in Bali we ate in Meja .

The food and staff were so good we ate there 3 times over the week.

Their grilled fish dishes were outstanding quality. Try the sesame crusted Tuna , or the Mahi Mahi.
Fantastic fruit juices and iced Tea creations , like the Passionfruit ice Tea with crushed ice... Perfect refreshment during a scorching hot day.

The seafood melt baguette is also highly recommended.... Also the waffles... And all day breakfast!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joshy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komang D, Manager at Meja Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Joshy


Warm greetings from Meja.
Thank you very much for your excellent review and all of Meja team are very happy knowing that you were having great experience with us.

We look forward having you back at Meja.


Best regards


Meja kitchen & bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    89
    17
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“only because it was included”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

we stayed at ize, and breakfast at Meja was included in our booking. it was ok - not a huge selection, and not the best quality. We didn't choose to dine for lunch or dinner as the menu options weren't very inspiring compared to other restaurants on the street. Coffee was ok, not fantastic, and we had better cocktails at other locations.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank A-G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komang D, Manager at Meja Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear A-G D


Greetings from Meja team.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding our restaurant.
And we do apologize for what you felt regarding us.

But I do appreciate if you could share me in details regarding experience at Meja through komang.darma@mejabali.com.

Re breakfast :
We do rotation breakfast which allowing people have different item everyday otherwise people will get bored having the same thing every morning.The selection is not huge but we can say very complete breakfast with almost having 3 - 4 choices in every items and will be rotated every day with different item unless item that has to be stay like croissant, orange juice, coffee,egg dishes.
For sure we will keep it up to enrich the selection and quality.

Re Lunch & Dinner Menu
Our menu basically straight forward menu without exaggerating in every single items.
We try as much as we could selling the best quality of product instead of words.

Re Coffee
So far people hangout for coffee are choosing our place for such a coffee time.
Basically coffee almost like wine which every single place and brand have different character.
we do apologize if our coffee doesn't suit on your character expected.

Re Cocktail.
Seems as coffee ,every place or restaurants are having different character in how they set the taste of the cocktail.
So far our cocktail especially mojitos are taking special place in our customer as it mentioned in most of our review .But of course we still have very good selection of cocktails other than mojito.


We look forward welcoming you back at meja and please feel free to contact me.
I will guide you through our product to ensure your good experience.


Best Regards


Komang
Meja kitchen & bar
081236331364
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful for the first breakfast - refused for the second ”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I came here on a Monday and had a lovely Aussie full breakfast. It was delicious, couldn't really fault but the scrambled eggs were a tiny bit too runny but I ate them anyway.

It's great priced and in the middle I seminyak on Lakasmana - opposite Soho, ultimo, Rumours etc

Although, I returned on the Friday morning for breakfast but was told no as it's for hotel guests only. I didn't want the buffet - I just wanted the menu to order breakfast like I did a few days prior.
There is even a sign at the front saying breakfast all day :/ go figure!

Very disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Brooke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komang D, Manager at Meja Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Brooke W,


Greetings from Meja team.
Thank you for spending your time to share you experience at Meja.
We do apologize for your second experience, and I am very sure this is just miss communication from our staff in delivering words.
Unfortunately we were fully booked on Friday by the Hotel behind us that we have to keep space for them.
We open for public everyday for sure.

We all glad you enjoyed with our Aussie breakfast.
We look forward having you back at Meja and we will make sure its not happened again.


Kind Regards


Meja kitchen & bar Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for Special Occassions - Loved it”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited the Meja kitchen bar in a small group (3) to celebrate a Birthday.

Whilst the prices werent the cheapest (nor most expensive) in Bali, the food was exceptional.

Presentation of each dish was spot on, the Tuna was cooked to a perfect medium (try doing that at home!), the drinks list was just the right size with a good selection of alcoholic and non alcoholic, and the service was calm, respectful, attentive and professional.

Our total bill for 3 entrees, 3 mains, 6 drinks, 1 dessert (we were too full to order 1 each) was 800,000Rp ($80AU), understandably this will vary based on your order, however, we had no hesitation is leaving a 200,000Rp ($20AU) tip on top.

Well done. I'll most definately visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komang D, Manager at Meja Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Rob B.


Greetings from meja team.
Thank you for spending your time in writing such a very good review regarding our restaurant.
All of the team are very happy acknowledge that you were having good experience with us.

We look forward having you back at Meja.


Best regards


Meja kitchen & bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great coffee and food. Slow service when busy”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I've dined here twice and the coffee and food are great. Service was very slow this morning but to be fair it was the buffet breakfast time for guests and I walked in off street. I waited about half an hour (fortunately wifi is free and fast) and then had to call passing wait staff to order coffee. I had to call wait staff again to order breakfast and again for bill. Coffee and crepe were excellent and good value but maybe not worth waiting an hour for. I'd definitely recommend trying this restaurant but suggest going at non peak times to ensure better service

Helpful?
Thank cargo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komang D, Manager at Meja Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Cargo999.


Greetings from Meja team.
Thank you for spending your time to review our restaurant.
We do apologize that you were taking long time in getting service from us on your visit at Meja.
I believe this will be addressed right away to ensure the speed of our staff especially during peak hour .

I have shared this review to the team and they are happy acknowledge that you were enjoyed with our coffee and crepes.

We look forward welcoming you back at meja and we will ensure it will not gonna happen again.
If you need any further assistance regarding Meja please feel free to send me an email on komang.darma@mejabali.com.

Best regards


Meja kitchen & bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meja Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Meja Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing