We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great private pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Ranked #63 of 142 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great private pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

The roof and ceiling of this villas is structurally amazing and the pool superb. You can go out for breakfast, lunch and dinner at 100's of nearby cafés and restaurants.
The breakfast provided at the Layar needs huge improvement. The staff are great and do a good job. Beds large, though could do with more pillows and underlay. Overall very good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank travel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Layar-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you loved our roofs and large pools, definitely two distinctive features of our villas. We will review immediately our breakfast service to make sure our normal standard is always respected; we hope however you appreciated it is served everyday in the comfort and privacy of your villa. Thank you, and we hope to have you here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    39
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
75
53
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Numurkah, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My daughter and her partner took me to Bali for my 80th. I had been once before and stayed with them in a villa in Umalas which was nice.
This time we stayed at the Layar and it was fabulous. We felt like we were in a world of our own. It was very private and so quiet. I stayed and had my tea in the villa while they went out for dinner. There was a good room menu selection and the food was lovely. It was very peaceful sitting by our pool and looking across our wonderful garden.
We were only a short taxi ride from some wonderful shopping and our driver took me to Ubud and to a famous temple. He and all the staff were very pleasant and helpful. They could not believe I was my age.
The appointments were very comfortable and there was even a kitchen if you wished to cook for yourself. But we never did. How very decadent! Oh well, back at home now in Numurkah.
I hope I can go back soon. Perhaps for my 81st.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GwenythM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
179 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed at the Layar in September 2013. The property is new, larger than the average villa in the Yak' and overall we were quite pleased with it.

Entertainment system, large pool, bathroom were all highlights. Bedroom was air-conditioned well and quiet (unlike other villas in Bali). Breakfast was reasonable and layout of villas was adequate. Location a plus.

Negatives: Only stayed for a few days it was mostly positive however it would have been better if they were more welcoming to some of our helpers we had with us, they were told they cannot wait in the lobby for us and had to wait outside in the heat.

Overall a positive experience though and for the money would stay again. Not cheap but no where really is in Seminyak these days for a large sized private villa 5*.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelJT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

supernice villas 5 min walking from the main street of semyniak ( restaurant, shops, clubs)
brand new furnitures, cool design but still in balinese style, top service and concierge.
every villa has a private pool...best goodmorning dip under the sun and goodnite under the stars :)
wonderful days..wish I had more!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lallime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was very lucky to come across this beautiful property. The design is very intelligent and everything works well. It's not often you get a pool this big, especially in a villa in Seminyak. And the pool also gets a lot of sun so the water is not freezing cold in the evening.
They don't have an in-house restaurant but because it's close to cool places in Seminyak, it wasn't really a problem for us. Though we have to say that they can do a little better with the breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magicalrealism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Layar-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying at The Layar. We are sorry to hear the breakfast was not perfect: we only use the freshest ingredients and French croissants, and it’s all cooked at the minute; serving breakfast to all our guests directly in their villa is quite challenging, however we strive to improve our service day by day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at one of the one bedroom villas and had a great experience. Staff are very friendly and helpful - Bayu especially. The Villa is stunningly beautiful and spacious, I loved the modern contemporary Asian fusion design. My only issues is that the AC in the bedroom could have been cooler, I was uncomfortable the first night but managed to sleep better subsequent nights.
Breakfast was ok at the most, nothing amazing. We did not order any room service for lunch or dinner as we were out most of the time. I would love to visit again and stay at one of the bigger villas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kifah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a fantastic experience at the Layar.
Villas are stunningly beautiful, plenty of space and fantastic design… we could just stay there and relax the whole day…
Position is perfect, 5 minutes away from shops and restaurants in Seminyak, best place in Bali and 10 minutes from the beach
Service is real 5 star, whether it’s about food, yoga, massage… with on top of this the friendliness that can come only in a small place.
Price… well can’t call it cheap but really worth the money. I have been to places asking much more than this for not a fraction of what I got here
That was our first time there but definitely not the last one…

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alessandro2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seminyak
Peppers Seminyak
#22 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.3 mi away
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
eqUILIBRIA SEMINYAK
#18 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Jardin Villas
Le Jardin Villas
#41 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Elysian
The Elysian
#10 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ulin Villas & Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa
#4 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dusun
The Dusun
#16 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa

Property: The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa
Address: Jalan Pangkung Sari 10X, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#54 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa is a spectacular design-led villa resort in the heart of chic Seminyak, moments from Bali's best restaurants, boutiques and sunset beach bars. Cutting-edge contemporary architecture and ultrachic interiors characterise the 23 villas, which offer stunning living spaces sculpted by the planes of the architects signature sloping roofs. Each individual 1-, 2-, 3-, and 4-bedroom villa is set within a private landscaped tropical garden with large swimming pool, and from one to four spacious bedroom suites oriented for privacy. With its cool design, hot location, and five-star service provided by 150 staff, The Layar is designed for those with strong aesthetic principles seeking original experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Layar - Designer Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Layar - Designer Villas And Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing