We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night from tash and Dev!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger Moon Canteen

Ginger Moon Canteen
Ranked #41 of 463 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: Indonesian, Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Ginger Moon is a relaxed, casual, modern Asian eatery spread over 2 levels, serving up seriously tasty fare. Creative design and air-conditioning throughout ensures a comfortable relaxing environment, an oasis in the middle of a hot, noisy and busy street. Free wifi is available for any one that requires it, be it for business or pleasure.Food: “It’s a sharing thing!”Chef Dean Keddell puts a fun and interesting spin on the foods of Indonesia (Bali in particular) and China, creating an original and memorable dining experience. Our menu has been designed with sharing in mind as we believe food tastes best this way. We recommend ordering several dishes to share, take the time to graze, savor the experience.Beverage: “When in Bali!”A list of creative, locally inspired cocktails (alcoholic and non), and a variety of Asian beers are on offer as both a refresher and an accompaniment to the food.A small and surprisingly varied wine list keeps things interesting for wine connoisseur.And a fresh tropical juice menu completes the enticing selection.Our core objective is to support and encourage our staff and as many local business as possible. And to ensure that all our customers receive food and beverage of the highest quality at outstanding value, with excellent service and customer care.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night from tash and Dev!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent our last night there only 2 weeks ago.. Valet parking out front for our scooter! Best ribs ive ever had.. great staff too! Will be back in October!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean K, Owner at Ginger Moon Canteen, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Dev L,

Thank you for visiting us at Ginger Moon and for leaving your short but sweet comments on TA.

See you in October.

With kind regards

Dean and the team at Ginger Moon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,244
    604
    187
    52
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
165 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Don't miss this delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had read and heard so many good reports on Ginger Moon , it was had to believe it could be that good...but it surely is ! Greetings and service by very attentive staff was professional and a pleasure to receive. The selection of food on the menu and its presentation is possibly unique on the Bali scene or at least done in a style that sets it apart from others. With seven people to feed, we selected a variety of styles (tapas type meals), including the Spring Rolls (chicken curry)..Babi Guling 1/2 Moon steamed buns...Pork&Prawn dumplings...steamed Baramundi...Nasi Goreng and Beef Rendang Pizza(who'da thought!!!). The timing of meals service was impeccable and the taste variety was a delight. They also have a fantastic trio of Creme Brûlée (Pandan/Ginger Mango/Black Sesame) and once they got the temperature right , on the Chocolate/Caramel Volcano, it too was a winner. Great food, great people and great service make for a very enjoyable evening in Bali.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean K, Owner at Ginger Moon Canteen, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Steve B,

It was a pleasure having you and your friends dine at Ginger Moon, sorry about the hick-up with the volcano, I am glad you enjoyed it in the end, something to warm your hands over was quite an amusing comment and fitting since you ordered a volcano!

Thank you for leaving your in-depth comments for all to read, I am very happy to see people embracing our concept, sharing food and enjoying themselves, the old adage s true “good food is best enjoyed in great company”.

We all hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

With kind regards

Dean and the team at Ginger Moon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My new Favourite place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ginger Moon truly stands out as the menu is large enough to have a good choice, but not overwhelming. the fresh tasty asian meals are served beutifully, and are very generously sized. The Juices and cocktail list are also amazing, and I dont think I could fauilt a thing there.
The dessertis also great, the trio of creme brulee was the best dessert Ive had in Bali. The food is well priced compared to a lot of places in Seminyak, and the added allergy information on the menu was a great addition.
Cant wait to go back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean K, Owner at Ginger Moon Canteen, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Nikki L,

Thank you for visiting Ginger Moon, we are very happy to be your new favorite place!

Your comments left on Trip Advisor are really amazing, we are all so happy to know you enjoyed so many aspects of what we offer. Very nice of you to take the time to share your views on this site, the time taken to do this is much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Dean and the team at Ginger Moon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Tapas at its best in Seminyak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were recommended to Gingermoon from our villa manager and it sure didnt disappoint. We had the best sweetcorn fritters I've ever had, dumplings, duck pancakes and finished off with asian pizza. There were 4 of us, one being a chef and we were so delighted to have found this little treasure.
You have to book so dont miss out on this great food and plated up and served to delight your senses.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DelPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean K, Owner at Ginger Moon Canteen, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear DelPerthWA,


Thank you for your lovely review of Ginger Moon, delighting your senses is what we are all about, so happy to know we achieved our goal and you left us with fond memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

With kind regards

Dean and the team at Ginger Moon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yep good.. could improve with little effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nice food, not cheap but we don't mind this and enjoyed the quality. Only things to watch - very average dumplings and credit card machine failed alot so i had walk the street for cash. I dont expect this in a joint like this. Nice place and setting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deancob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean K, Manager at Ginger Moon Canteen, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Deancob,

Thank you for dinning at Ginger Moon and for the comments you have left on TA, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Sorry about the CC machine, the problem we have is the electricity fluxuates a lot in Bali; it is all ways up and down, and often not enough or none. We have a generator that automatically kicks in once the flow drops below a certain rate, this chopping and changing plays havoc with anything electronic, even the PC’s in the office struggle to keep up some days. We are already aware of the issue and have found a solution, we are currently waiting on the bank to deliver us machines that work via satellite, these machines don’t need PDX cabling so aren’t affected by the unstable flow of electricity.

I am worried about your dumpling comment; there are many fans of our dumplings out there; that said it is possible someone in the kitchen made a mistake during your visit. If you don’t mind please send me a quick email and let me know what dumpling didn’t live up to your expectations? dean@gingermoonbali.com

With kind regards

Dean and the Ginger Moon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger Moon Canteen also viewed

 

Been to Ginger Moon Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing