We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Laksmana Hideaway 1
Ranked #161 of 415 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I'm honestly not one to complain, but we have a baby now. The stove wouldn't work to sterilise any of our stuff, there was a gas leak, the power cut out. The "breakfast included" is only hard cold white toast.. And juice. We didn't feel safe down the long dark alley way behind the rice field ( with all the dogs ) the shower water smelt of sewerage ( I've been to bali over 14 times and never experienced this ) there are rats (they can't help that, as much) and then we ended up leaving because it was just not good. I sent them an email and they told me it was my fault for overusing the stove (four times) and this is after they replaced the gas bottle twice ! Wouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyraarnez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

It was my 14th time to bali and I loved this Villa. The only thing I would recommend fiercely for anyone staying there would be to organise the transfer to the Villa. You may think you are going to save money by doing a normal taxi but if they then spend an hour driving around up and down laneways you will regret not paying the usd17 for the transfer in... Then you will have your bearings and can do normal taxis for all your other travels.. But apart from that it was a spectacular stay... There is Hideaway 1 (which is the one with the pool that is separated by the walkway) and Hideaway 1 next door (which has the walkway at the back of the pool so the main part of the pool is larger), and i saw both and they were lovely..Accordingly to my runkeeper gps it was 280mtrs down lane to Cocos Mart on Seminyaks 'eat street' Laksmana rd.. On Laksmana there is about a hundred great restaurants/bars etc. If you go 1.6kms down the laneways you will come to the beach at the Oberoi, Seminyak. About 750mtrs to Seminyak Square.
We bought some eggs and ham and got the housekeeper to make scrambled eggs one day for breakfast and i think she was more than happy to cook anything for us for breakfast that we wanted as long as we bought the ingredients.. But every morning she brought at least three types of cut up fruit, toast with condiments, tea and coffee, and a breakfast smoothee... Thank you Villa Laksmana Hideway

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I've been to Bali many times and this Villa was just great. It is a little hard to find when you first arrive. Just head down the lane way next to / behind Bistrot. The villa was clean and well serviced by Iluh who made breakfast daily of fresh fruit, toast and delicious smoothies.

We didn't have any problem with the mosquitos. The fans and aircon kept the place very cool. There is no docking station to play music so we just bought lots of music CD's from the local DVD stores and played them through the tv.

There was a hair dryer which wasn't listed as a amenity, so I hope by noting this it will help someone out.

The location is fabulous only minutes walk to so many restaurants and the coco supermarket.

I would definitely stay at this Villa again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in villa 2 and enjoyed the most relaxing 4 days there. When we walked through the door it was just like the pictures. The place is very well set up and Iluh made sure that our stay was comfortable by arranging people to come to you for massages, manicures, etc, organising a driver for us and making our breakfast daily. Location is close to beach and lots of nice restaurants, we only needed to take a short walk down a lane way or road to reach these destinations and this was all done with clumsy 8 Year old in tow day and night.
If you want to stay in a big resort with restaurants and a big swimming pool on site this not the place for , but if only paradise that is a home away from home then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psm_strong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Throughout the booking process, Yuyun was very helpful and patiently answered all of my questions. The booking and payment was processed smoothly and efficiently. As there was mention of a buddha statue in the villa, i requested for it to be removed and they were very accommodating.

At my arrival, our airport pickup was waiting for us and was very friendly, pointing out sights and welcoming us to Bali. Upon reaching the villa, we were greeted and taken on a tour. buddha statues were nowhere in sight and everything was clean. I was a little disappointed with the bathroom, though, as the walls were stained and the cupboard did not look as nice as the pictures. Other than that, the water pressure was inconsistent, but otherwise, no other complaints.

Mosquitoes were plentiful, but i was prepared for that and brought my own oil burners and lemongrass oil, so the mozzies stayed away from us. Our favorite was to sit on the beanbags either in the garden or in the hall, and dangle our feet in the pool whilst reading.

Breakfast was pretty sparse - just toast, fruits and coffee/tea, so we walked out to Coco supermarket and bought eggs and bacon to supplement the breakfast. The distance to the main street is not far, however, it can be a challenge at night as there are no street lamps and if there had been rain earlier in the day, you might unwittingly step into a puddle.

All in all, a very good stay and i would definitely recommend this villa and i would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Laksmana hideaway 2

We booked the villa online and it looked so amazing, that I was worried that it wouldn't be able to live up to the pictures.
Upon arriving at the villas we were blown away - they look better than they do in the pictures. Every time we left the villa we couldn't believe that this was where we were staying every time we walked back in the door.
The location is very handy just down a lane way opposite coco supermarket on Laksmana and easily accessible to drupadi by walking up small lane way past uma sapna. Close enough to the action to walk anywhere we needed to but far enough away for it to feel peaceful.
Putu greeted us, made breakfast and also made up our rooms every day, she was extremely helpful and did everything she could to make our stay as comfortable as possible.
We weren't expecting to receive breakfast as we understood that this was not included in the villa price however Putu cooked us toast and prepare fruit, juice and tea and coffee and anything else we wanted if we brought the ingredients.
The beds were so incredibly comfortable, we all slept very well (apart from the night the neighbors decided to party all night).
I would strongly recommend Laksmana hideaway villa 2 and for the price can not believe we could obtain such a luxurious villa! We'll definitely return.

A few small tweaks to make the property a little more comfortable
- there are only two outdoor bean bags provided and no other seats for sitting by the pool - this is not overly practical for a villa for four people and made it hard for us all to enjoy the pool surroundings together. I would suggest a couple more beanbags or at least some outdoor chairs.
- part of the beauty of the villa is the water and the glass one draw back of this is the lack of privacy, the left side bathroom you could see into from the kitchen which made it hard to shower or use the toilet in privacy, the right hand bathroom you could see some one from the lounge area in front of the tv. This could easily be remedied by putting a curtain similar to that in the bedrooms over the door which could also be pulled aside if not required.
- there are mosquitoes in the bathroom, we sprayed regularly in the bathroom but it didn't seem to make much difference and the mosquitoes would gather in the hanging clothes. Regular fumigation should fix this, I have stayed in plenty of accommodations with open bathrooms and haven't seen so many mosquitoes before. The villa do thoughtfully provide mosquito burners which smell pleasant and seemed to help in the bedroom.
- I saw it mentioned in another review that the guests were unable to turn the pool lights off at night, we couldn't figure out how to turn them on for 2 days - the switch is in the pool box in the garden.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wabeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

From our initial contact with Natan Hospitality (The management company for these villas) to the time we had to leave - everything was 100% perfect, professional, friendly and timely.

The villas themselves are exactly like the photo's - beautiful :-) Pool, gardens and interior's are beautifully maintained and the location could not be better - one little lane (3 minute walk) leads straight out to "eat" street and another little lane in the other direction (4 minute walk) pops straight out onto legian st.

Overall - Bliss :) we will definitely stay again:)

(Side note - I personally have worked within the airline industry for 13+ years and travelled to many places and can be incredibly fussy when it comes to accommodation and expectations.... This was also my 30+ visit to Bali - I stopped counting a long time ago:)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daneka70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.9 mi away
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
#50 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
13.1 mi away
Bambu Indah
Bambu Indah
#62 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa West
Villa West
#294 of 415 in Seminyak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Laella
Villa Laella
#171 of 415 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Jodie
Villa Jodie
#128 of 415 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Simba Villas Seminyak
Simba Villas Seminyak
#259 of 415 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Laksmana Hideaway 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laksmana Hideaway 1

Property: Villa Laksmana Hideaway 1
Address: Jalan Kayu Aya Gang Inti Kulit 117 E, Oberoi, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 415 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Laksmana Hideaway 1 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Villa Laksmana Hideaway 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Laksmana Hideaway 1 Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing