We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic fine dining”
Review of Teatro Gastroteque

Teatro Gastroteque
Ranked #21 of 528 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $120
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Teatro Gastroteque is a boutique fine dining restaurant, located in the epicentrum of Bali's best dining destination, Seminyak. We offer something completely novel - a sophisticated Asian twist on the French cuisine. We source the best produce available in the market, and use most of local ingredients to deliver an authentic flavour yet alluring with bold presentation, highlighting quality ingredients. The name of Teatro Gastroteque literally means "Theatre" where our culinary team performs their passion and love of gastronomy, and to be presented to you in such immaculate and impeccable way by our butlers. We are passionate to give the best dining experience to our guests, for that reason, details and fundamental techniques are the foundation to pursue our goal, we call it "Infinity journey to find a perfection". Complete your unforgettable evening with us, and savour the luxury you deserve.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic fine dining”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a classy dinner in Seminyak, Teatro doesn't disappoint.

Some other reviews have noted that Teatro is expensive, but for the quality of food, in my opinion it is worth the money. What I really liked is that unlike some other fine dining establishments where you have to spend way more than initially anticipated due to the dishes all being very meager and necessitating multiple side dishes being ordered at substantial extra cost, at Teatro you actually get the welcome surprise of getting more than you expected due to the inclusion of delightful bonus dishes and amuse bouche.

The first few courses of our dinner had it rocketing towards "meal of the year" status. While the last couple didn't quite reach those same lofty standards, it was still an excellent dinner, and cheaper than what I would need to pay back home in Melbourne for anything near that quality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scaz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Scaz23,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Teatro with us on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to know that overall you had an excellent dining experience with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and wish to ensure that we address your comments about your last couple of courses.

We hope you'll be open to allowing us another opportunity to show you another great dinner at our restaurant.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    84
    33
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No rating as we did not make it to dinner....”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We, unfortunately, did not make it to dinner. The reason being that the mere act of ordering our meal was very difficult. Given the price (being 20% higher than other high end restaurants) and limited 'a la carte' selection, this restaurant must make sure that the person taking the order is well read on the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Tehmine V,

Thank you for your comments. We were disappointed to read your review and more because that you did not make it to dinner. We appreciate your genuine decision, we are sure Bali has many options to offer that might suit your taste.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

For starters, the staff was phenomenal and the food was good, but not worth a couple hundred per head with wine pairings. None of the dishes were all that memorable and it did not push the "gastronomic" limits whatsoever. The wine pairings were truly awful especially as it's basically all white wine regardless of the dish. I strongly recommend saving your money and going elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank NBMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear NBMatthew,

Thank you for your nice comments about the staff and the food. We were disappointed that you felt that it was not worth the money and the wine pairing was not up to your expectations. We want you to know that we value your honest feedback and we are reviewing these comments with our management team for further improvement.

We would invite you to call us or email at Daniel@teatrobali.com, if you choose to give us another chance.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was michelin star quality food. A wonderful experience in Seminyak. Very different to any of the other restaurants around.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelux7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Travelux7,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent dinner with us. I'm pleased to hear that you had an exceptional dining experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another great night spent with us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A Perfect Evening”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We ate at Seminyak's best restaurants for a week and this was the winner by a clear margin. It is important to check their web site and undestand the multi-course nature of the restaurant before you go. The five course menu is more than enough - it really turns into a 10-course menu with all the amusements, bread and post-dessert candies. Also note that they will make a substitution on the fixed menu. The service, presentation, attentions to detail in this beautiful 30-seat restaurant is of the highest level. The food is simply amazing. If your meal is as good as ours, do what we did - stop by the kitchen on your way out and applaud! [If you're curious, we also love Sardine and Urchin.] Is it pricy? Let me answer this way - you will pay four or five times as much for this type of meal in London, New York and Singapore etc. but rarely get food and service the equal of this.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Beachbilly,

Thank you for the kind words in your review of our restaurant, and also for the applause for our kitchen team!

We are glad to hear that you had a great dinner and enjoyed the food and service. You are absolutely right about visiting our website before coming to the restaurant - it's important for the guests to know what they could expect from our restaurant beforehand.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Gastroteque also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Gastroteque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing