We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Meal”
Review of Warung Samuan - CLOSED

Warung Samuan
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Meal”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Friendly staff, reasonably priced and nicely furnished. We thought the meal was nice but nothing special when compared with the competition in the area. The ribs were excellent as commented by others.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not represent indonesian food to be honest”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

i am ordering ayam goreng something here and it comes with big size with vegetable, soup, and also sambal mantah. it taste worst ever for indonesian food but they have great interior, location and wide parking lot

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank almrhfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YOU MUST EAT HERE!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Cool, clean, good value, great drinks.

So we're staying at the W Hotel up the road but have eaten at Samuan several times already & plan to go back a few more times before leave Bali. What can say about the place? Well, I have to admit on the first night we walked passed it because looked empty and hot from the road! However, the next night we walked in and were proven completely wrong!

The staff are all really welcoming & greeted us with huge smiles, friendly faces and a gorgeous welcome drink. Tiger - the Warung manager is awesome. He suggested many items on the menu that we should try and we have not been disappointed! He also gave us a English to Indonesian to Balinese translation sheet to help us learn the lingo! Make the effort, it makes them laugh if nothing else!

I've had the pork ribs twice now, they are simply INCREDIBLE! This will be my final meal in Bali too, they are that good. Last night I had the speciality dish of Suckling Pig, which was the tastiest pork dish that I've ever eaten!, cooked 3 ways, and each one delicious in its own rite. The stone cooked tuna and tuna salad are super delicious, the satay's and beef kebabs are to die for, and the nasi goreng is sumptuous!

All of the food is prepared to perfection, presented like it could grace the tables of any fine dining restaurant in my home city of London, and served with speed, smiles and impeccable service. This is real food of Bali, try it, you won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
1 Thank Damien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Flavoured rice should be a menu item!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The pork spare ribs were beautiful, the meat just fell off the bone and I can honestly say I have never had ribs this good before! We also ordered the crispy duck which was delicious, the duck was served with 'flavoured rice' which I could've eaten all night long. Unfortunately this rice only comes with the duck which is a shame as it could become a little signature dish for them.
The staff were lovely and seemed like they were having fun which was great to see. The manager even came over to introduce himself which was a really nice touch as the manager is rarely around.
The setting, location and price were all excellent and it is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Velle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great ribs”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Best spare ribs in Bali, and the 'nasi baker lotus' (seafood fried rice, wrapped and cooked in a lotus leaf with prawns) was served beautifully and delicious!
Nice friendly staff also, will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stodzy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Samuan also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing