We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing top class restaurant in heart of Seminyak”
Review of The Bistrot

The Bistrot
Ranked #63 of 528 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Vintage Café, Lounge & Restaurant in Seminyak, Bali. Unique décor by Moroccan-born interior decorator, Zohra Boukhari.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing top class restaurant in heart of Seminyak”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Directly across the road from Coco Supermarket on Jl Oberoi. Beautifully adorned to give quire a casual french chic vibe.
Food is surprisingly cheap (Balinese Style) for the quality. I would rate it very highly, up with the 1-2 chef hatted restaurants of Sydney for the quality of produce and the quality of cooking.
Entrees $6-12
Mains $15-$22

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pcantlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    857
    466
    136
    45
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Decor had the *wow* factor - but food did not”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The decor in restaurant is amazing - the clever use of antique furniture and retro fixtures & fittings give it a unique eclectic / retro vibe. We were seated in the upstairs area for dinner with a great view of the restaurant, and the venue just oozed character. Unfortunately this great atmosphere heightened our expectations of the food, which simply were not met. I had the Weeping Tiger and the Tarte Tartin and both dishes were mediocre at best. The rice with the main course was dry (as if it had been on the hot-plate too long) and the dessert was too acidic and in need of more sugar. If they can bring the standard of the food up to that of the decor, this restaurant will be outstanding.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadzLessTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Restful Splendour”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Wow, after loads of shopping I am glad we found this place. Great seating for tired legs and very relaxed, the food was exquisite especially the Pad Thai. I would certainly eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 42Chrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Contemporary restaurant with great food!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited Bistrot during our stay in Seminyak after reading lots of positive reviews. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere is incredible and the service is second to none. We loved the decoration of the restaurant and the fabulously well presented food. The quality of our meal was exceptional and would definitely recommend Bistrot. Excellent!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Click1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Positives:
- Excellent menu choice and variety
- Very reasonable prices
- Central location in Seminyak, easy to find
- Excellent atmosphere and decor inside the restaurant
- Good service, the manager (French guy) was present in the restaurant and actively circulating the diners

Negatives:
- Smoking area is not actually segregated from the non-smoking - it is just the top 'mezzanine' floor, which means the smoke filters to the downstairs, which is quite noticeable if you are a non-smoker.

Overall, The Bistrot was one of the best meals we had whilst in Seminyak. We ordered the Pad Thai and Duck Red Curry, both of which were excellent and very flavoursome. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeNeSaisQu0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistrot also viewed

 

Been to The Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing