We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasurable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bistrot

The Bistrot
Ranked #55 of 463 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Vintage Café, Lounge & Restaurant in Seminyak, Bali. Unique décor by Moroccan-born interior decorator, Zohra Boukhari.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasurable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable ambience, lovely decor and delicious food topped with great service. We will certainly return.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Slickdog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    735
    403
    115
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice design, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This restaurant is tucked away on a corner of Oberoi but worth a visit. The design and fitout is really interesting - as you look around there are lots of great little touches that show a real attention to detail. The food is mostly French influenced and good quality at reasonable prices.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Corey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We wasn't happy with the price and food here, all of us left food which is unusual but the staff were friendly and did try to change some food, but sadly even the replaced food wasn't all good either. Apart from that the decor in the restaurant was very nice. Very disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaBMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of our favourite meals on Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was yet another rainy day during our holiday on Bali, and we ended up at Bistrot. I loved the interior - very French / industrial / cozy, which isn't exactly local at all considering the actual location, but the (obviously) western owners made a really good effort.
The menu was a mix between Belgian/French classics and various pan-Asian favourites. We both took a local steak with sauce, and we must give compliments to the chef; it was just like having a good quality steak back in Europe. Maybe even better than some places we know of. As dessert we shared a mango tarte tartin with speculoos ice cream (speculoos or speculaas is a typical Dutch/Belgian type spiced biscuit), this was AMAZING. Indeed with caps. It's not often that we'd consider ordering another round. We didn't in the end as we were both quite full, but it was worth it.
If you're looking for something traditional, quite obviously not the place to be, but if you just want some pretty good food, I'd recommend booking this one evening when you're on the island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a happy stumble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stumbled upon the Bistrot because I was in desperate need for a bathroom. It was a happy coincidence that the food, wine, and service were spectacular. The decor was tasteful and hip. Love the raku pottery sinks in the bathroom! Our meal was one of the more expensive of our trip, but we were happy to pay for the quality and good service. The coconut gelato was the perfect end to our meal of tapas. Highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistrot also viewed

 

Been to The Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing