We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The only word to describe this villa "Perfect!"”
other travelers have booked this property
Sunset at Villa Kaira
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset at Villa Kaira
The Pool The Beach at Villa Kaira
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
76 reviews
Sunset at Villa Kaira
The Pool
The Beach at Villa Kaira
The Living Room
The Guest Suites
The Master Suite
The Games Room
The Java Bedroom
Dining room
Bedrooms floating on the Lake
The Chinese Bedroom
The Grand Piano
The guest bedrooms
The Garden and Beach
The Villa Kaira Estate
The Kitchen
The Entertainment Room
The Walkway
The Java Room
The Entrance to Villa Kaira
The Temple at Villa Kaira
The Ocean Bedroom
The Sunset and Massage Daybed
The Inside Dining Room
Sunset At Villa Kaira
View to the Ocean
Sunset On Beach - Directly Outside Villa Kaira
Bathroom
Outdoor Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Dressing Room
Upstairs Additional Living Area / Kids Play Area
The Beach - Directly Outside Villa Kaira
The Garden & Main House At Night
The Dining Room
The Bale By The Pool
A Massage By The Pool
Sunset at Villa Kaira
The Pool
The Shallow Koi & Turtle Lake
Romantic Wedding Venue
Romantic Wedding Venue
Romantic Wedding Venue
Romantic Wedding Venue
Romance Is In Air - A Magical Place
Romance Is In Air
Romantic Wedding Venue
Romantic Wedding Venue
Romantic Wedding Venue
Linen House Australia Photo Shoot
Sunset Drinks
Interior Magazine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Princeoft...
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dirty and over rated”
Reviewed January 18, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I did some research on Flipkey and there are many many options for Villa's in Bali, but we wanted to get more assurance as we were organising a retreat for a group of friends and we decided to pay for this Villa which was more expensive than average and had one of the most reviews (60+ reviews) which mostly scored it 4/5 and 5/5.

The service provided with this villa is very decent, Craig was prompt and friendly, and he gave us the contacts of the local villa manager and managed to arrange our pick up from the airport etc. Other services such as massages, bfast and lunch provided in the villa are all fairly decent. The location of the villa in the Canggu area is also very useful for hanging out and exploring the popular seminyak area, probably about 10mins drive away.

However, the villa is very old and it feels like its falling apart. Photos on the website look nice and grand, but seeing the villa in person was a totally different and unpleasant first impression. Some examples:

Whole place felt grimy and dirty (despite us seeing the staff mop the floors etc)
Friend of mine who stayed in the outside room got 50+ bed bug bites. (I had a few)
Bath tub in the masterbedroom had stains and didn't look clean at all (rust?)
Bathroom was mostly marble, but looked like need severe polishing and cleaning.
Bath towels had stains
Snooker table had cues that had no tips, made it impossible to play pool
Only the bedrooms and TV room had airconditioning, which made the main hall too hot to relax in the day. (Despite fans being in place)
The cabinets in the kitchen had all sorts of junk in the cabinet, making hygiene a real concern.
Sofas and seats had stains and just didn't look too inviting to hang out.
Guest bathroom in the main hall had cobwebs in the corners.
Gym was big but equipment was all rusted.
Staircase steps was worn and faded
Grand piano was damaged and can't be played as some keys were spoilt.

I felt bad choosing this place because my group of 7 felt very disappointed and was looking for a much nicer stay, and given this was USD895 per night, it was way over rated. I don't even think paying less would be acceptable as the issue is really about hygiene and cleanliness.

This villa is in a great location with good friendly local staff, but it seriously needs a major deep cleaning. I'm really surprised how the other previous guests gave it such high ratings. I've also read the reviews which had poor ratings and Craig's responses seem fair but also a bit defensive. Seems like the issue of cleanliness has been raised many times by many guests. Hopefully the owner would look into this and take corrective actions immediately and not mislead other guests into booking it until its resolved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2016
Thank you for your comments regarding the villa, we do welcome constructive feedback on how we can improve the villa product and service experience of our guests. Please allow me to respond.
I acknowledge some of your issues raised but also have to take issue with some of your comments. I’m also very surprised that you have raised these issues only after you departed the villa and at no point in your stay did you email or flag any of these issues to me or our managers Hery or Evvi who work across our villas. You had all three of our mobile numbers as well as my email address. This meant we were not able to address any of these alleged issues quickly and while you were in the villa.
First, there were extremely heavy rains during your stay in the middle of our rainy season which caused a couple of the issues. We also have 7 full days blocked out of the villa’s calendar starting from 22nd Feb to do some routine and annual maintenance. This will address some of your routine concerns raised. The villa was completed in 2009 and so is only just over 6 years old and we invest a lot of money each year maintaining this villa. It is far from ‘falling apart’ and, with respect, this comment in your title is extremely unfair.
The staff do clean the villa each day and we also do a deep clean of the villa every so often. A cobweb in the guest bathroom can occur, it is a tropical island and cobwebs can be created in just an hour or so. Simply letting the staff know means that they can quickly clean and remove it.
We have contacted you privately to ask which bedroom the alleged bed bugs occurred as none were found and the mattresses are relatively new and in good working order. Again, our staff were not notified of this which really surprises me if it was true.
Someone in your group actually broke a piano string and key during your stay. We have now ordered the replacement parts to fix this problem. Similarly we have now fixed the snooker cue tip which your group broke. These things do occur and we have no problem fixing them, we just need to be told when they do.
The master bathroom Jacuzzi bath is clean and is not rusty, the colour of the marble floor is its natural colour. We have marble cleaner and machine which we use to clean the marble floors. Again, I’m surprised by your comments.
Since your stay, we have bought new bed linen and towels.
We clean the sofas and chair covers on a regular basis. The dining chairs actually have chair covers and one set is on while the other set is being cleaned. Several cupboards in the very large kitchen have items stored which are required for the kitchen and villa. This area is clean and tidy so again I’m surprised and confused by your comments.
There is a constant cool sea breeze coming off the sea in front of the villa which is architecturally designed for this breeze to flow constantly throughout large, sociable open plan living and dining area.
The sea breeze is very moist and can cause corrosion which we constantly address and maintain. The gym room is barely used but the equipment works fine. We find the guests visit the large gym and fitness rooms at the Canggu Club (www.cangguclub.com) to exercise and do yoga which is included in the villa rate.
Finally, problems do sometimes arise and when notified, we do try our very best to fix things and keep our guests happy at all times. Some guest groups though are never satisfied although thankfully this is a very rare occurrence.
The Villa Kaira Estate is the best value absolute beachfront 5 bedroom villa on the South-West coast. I’d like to think this is just one of the many reasons why we have a substantial number of bona fide positive reviews from many, many previous guest groups. They enjoy a great villa experience with amazing staff on the beach with stunning sea and sunset views at a great value price.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janne1984
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only word to describe this villa "Perfect!"”
Reviewed December 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We traveled with a group of 18 people (we booked Villa La Mer as well in the same compound) and we absolutely LOVED it.
Everything went absolutely smooth. From the booking of the villa, the arrangement of pick up from the airport (we all came in at different times) to the settling of errand bills, etc. Everything was being dealt with in a very professional manner.

The staff is absolutely incredible. So nice and attentive.
They took amazing care of us and made sure we were not lacking anything.
We have been to many Villas in Bali but this is by far the most beautiful one. Situated right by the beach it is incredibly open and airy.

Although the villa is a bit older, it is being kept in a very good condition. Clean and neat.

No doubt we will be back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacque120...
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“A private 5 star treasure in Bali”
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a joy to stay here. A luxurious super spacious villa within it's self... our party of 6 adults all enjoyed the opportunity to holiday together but also their private space. We were disappointed the children were not with us as they would have just loved this. The position was just amazing, on the ocean with uninterrupted views across the gardens and pool, with no other villa's directly in site.. a dream so peaceful with no traffic noise, very tranquil....and great attentive staff. Our stay was busy with a wedding over 3 days... I would have liked to have had time to walk to and enjoy the local businesses close by...but hope to get back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camaz1
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

After extensive research to find the perfect location to renew our wedding vows we found the idyllic Villa Kaira. The settings is second to none and the Villa itself is jaw dropping. We had 24 guests travelling from all over the world and the Management made the whole process so easy. They even found luxury accommodations for all of our guests!
Craig and Dom, the British Owner/Managers, were so helpful, they went above and beyond our expectations to ensure we had the best experience possible.
How can I not mention the huge range of services they provide: Airport pickup and drop off, full housekeeping, 7 seater mini van with driver at your disposal, outstanding Chef, Wayan, and his catering team, TV Room, Gym, Snooker Room, picturesque swimming pool, I could go on forever. They even recommended the most incredible Wedding Planner, Ceri, at www.creativeweddingevents.com. Ceri is from Wales, UK. She was amazing, taking care of every detail right up to the evening of the Renewal.
This was one of the most special times of our lives and we could never have done it without the incredible Team and Management at Berawa Beach Estates, and Ceri at Creative Wedding Events. Highly recommended for a luxurious holiday or special family event.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Management Team, Wayan, Heri, the driver.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review.
It was an absolute pleasure hosting you both and all your special guests across our Villa Kaira Estate and our other close by villas. I'm glad you had such a special time with us when renewing your wedding vows. Thank you so much for your kind words about the villa and the staff.
Villa Kaira is a fabulous and magical location right on the beach perfect for any wedding or special event.
I've passed on your comments to the staff who loved looking after you all. All our guests do highly rate the quality of the cooking and the chef, we do recruit and train all our staff very carefully to ensure they have a very customer service and guest focussed approach.
We very much look forward to welcoming you to Bali again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Craig
Villa Kaira Estate
Berawa Beach Estate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdompe
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Very well taken care of”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Upon arriving we were warmly greeted by the excellent staff who attended to our every wish. Hari, the manager was very helpful, and when two members of our family left their passports at the house, he drove an hour to return them to us, and wouldnt accept any payment. That was so kind!
The property consists of two separate bedrooms either side of a wooden path leading to the main house which was bordered by Koy ponds. The main house had a bedroom on the ground floor with two large bedrooms upstairs. All had en suite bathrooms. There is also a full sized snooker table and a baby grand which is in need of some repair.....However it was very suited to creating avant garde piano works!
From the sitting area one could view the manicured lawn, infinity pool and the ocean beyond. The wonderful staff cooked a delicious breakfast everyday and made us feel like royalty! Just down the road was a cool coffee shop/cafe that made the best coconut milk lattes and delicious granola. About a half mile away, we also happened upon a real French bakery calked Paris Baguette.The best bread and croissants this side of Paris! A few of us visited a temple during a religious ceremony but were kindly told that we were not dressed correctly, however, separately from us, our daughter ventured in having conjured up a sarong and belt and was welcomed in. She was even guided as to how to pray and felt really blessed to have had that experience.
The beach was not very crowded and the ocean more suited to surfers rather than bathers, but was very pleasant to walk along. About twenty minutes stroll down the beach we discovered a great Resturant called La Laguna which resembled the interior of bohemian pirate ship! They cooked me a vegan dish that was not on the menu, which was presented with such beauty and tasted delicious. About twenty minutes in the opposite direction was a surfer beach Resturant called Old Mans which has delicious food and drinks.
We had a wonderful time and I would highly recommend this beautiful beach house to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the house and location were wonderful.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat4613
Mandurah, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing with first class hospitality”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We arrived at Villa Kaira after staying for 2 nights at Villa Brightside.. what an upgrade! This is an awesome place to stay with a group of friends and family in Bali. This is located in Canggu not Seminak just in case that is a problem for you, it wasn’t for us.

I will start with some negatives as there are not many but there are some. We were worried about a previous 2 star review we had read that was very negative. The majority of the reviews was in regards to how bad the kitchen was. The kitchen near the sinks did have some boarding over it where the cupboards once were. And to be honest that side of the kitchen did not look sleek and modern. However you have your own chef and staff so the only time I went in the kitchen was to get drinks from the fridge and even then the staff were more than happy to grab you a beer whilst you were by the pool. So in regards to the last negative review I would not let that turn you away from booking this villa. The reviewer clearly had it in for the place.

The Spa in the master bedroom did not work which was a bit upsetting especially after spending half an hour filling it up, jumping in then nothing. I spoke with Herry our manager who said due to the villa always being booked they needed a week where the villa is vacant to fix the spa. I have no doubt they would need a day or 2 if they got all the parts, but a week is a bit of a stretch. It would have been nice to know prior to arrival as well as this was a highlight to our room.

We also discussed with Herry that one of the air conditioners in the separate guest houses was just not cooling the room. I don’t believe the fault was fixed whilst we were there (bigger air conditioner may be required).

Other than those few things this villa was amazing.

The pool is really good looks right out over the beach and there is a sound system in the entertainment room that you can plug your ipad / phone into to play music throughout the whole house and the pool.

I did go body boarding using the house boards. I would not recommend sending your kids out at this beach, the waves are very large and powerful but for us big kids they are allot of fun!! Just look out for the occasional dumper that comes through. You can also Hire surfboards just down the beach if you want to surf as well.

We only went out to eat once for our 5 night stay here simply because the food you will get out would not be as good as the food that Wayan Wijana will cook for you. We ate mainly local style dishes and were having 3-4 different dishes to share for dinner and desert and it was costing around 50000 to 70000IDR each person per main meal for groceries. Wayan and his staff really made our stay so simple and relaxing instead of worrying about going out to get food, we just ate in and enjoyed the villa. He truly is a great chef and a friendly happy person to go with it.

All the other staff including Herry our manager were fantastic. Upon arrival you are given a mobile phone to use whilst you are at the villa and we contacted Herry nearly every day to organize extra massages etc. I had 3 massages whilst I was there including a hot stone massage and I would highly recommend them, they are 150000IDR for a 1 hour whole body or 250000IDR for a 1.5hr hot stone. Be sure to tip them if they do a good job.

Our driver was Katut Mudita. He was very helpful during our stay, he worked extra hours when required and was happy to start his shift at 4pm and work through till midnight if we needed him to. He is a friendly person and was a pleasure to have around for the entire time we were in Bali. I could not recommend him enough.

If you are with a group of friends and family and are just looking to get away from it all for a week and relax then I would definitely recommend this Villa.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Customer service
Liked least: Spa not working
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey V
Bordeaux, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“10 of US LOVING IT!”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I arranged a ladies reunion for a long weekend at Villa Kaira. We had a fantastic time and planned to go out lots but ended up spending far more time in the villa than we planned to, cancelling a couple of restaurant reservations so we could ‘stay in’. We had a birthday celebration one night and Craig very kindly supplied a lovely birthday cake which was a nice gesture. The chef and staff prepared a gorgeous celebration dinner which couldn’t have been more perfect!
Villa was great and really spacious in all the bedrooms, staff helpful and looked after us all. We went for walkss on the beach at sunset a couple of times and the villa even has its own beach entrance…the upstairs huge daybed was idyllic for watching the sunset over the ocean and palm trees with close friends and several bottles of wine!! All in all, hugely enjoyable trip. I really do recommend Bali and this villa.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing