We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Realistic review”
Review of Seminyak Icon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seminyak Icon
Ranked #4 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here early in 2013.

The rooms were of an alright standard, however they felt too closed in and it almost felt constrictive. The pool in the single rooms is good but it in hindsight it would have been worth staying at a larger resort with a communal pool as it felt confined (you cannot see anything outside of your room once you enter the front door). Way too expensive for what we received as well.

The front desk information was average. We booked a tour for around $70 AUD and the tour guide gave no good information other than directing us to where we could buy things that weren't great quality. The front desk also did not strive to give information unless we specifically asked the right questions. I spoke a fair amount of Indonesian but to no avail.

The location also is not really in seminyak, rather on the fringes. A place closer to the beach would be a much better choice.
Overall, I was not satisfied mainly because of the location, the closed in feeling while staying at the room, and the unhelpful front desk. Definately not deserving of a rating of 4 or 5.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frankyboff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at Seminyak Icon, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear “Frankyboff1”

Thank you very much for taking your valued time sharing your review. SEMINYAK ICON is an all boutique villas with five stars amenities including private swimming pool where most larger resort do not feature. Our guest privacy is our passion, all villas come with private gate, garden and enveloped with own wall for the ultimate privacy (no other guest can look into your own villa and the other way around). Most guest extremely love the concept which unfortunately were not meeting your individual expectation. Our service culture is sincere, personal, attentive but not intrusive. We however always there whenever you require an assistant and go beyond our way to help our guest to make the most of their stay. We also value your comments on the tour service to provide a list of shops which offer a better luxury souvenirs. We aim to provide tour service that bring-in our guest closer to the culture of Bali including community, the local arts of Bali and highly recommend shops or boutiques who nurture and support Bali art maker. Once again thank you very much for your comments and please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused. Please also accept our commitment to use your feedback to persistently enhance the experience of all guests.


Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 378 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

We do an annual trip to Bali usually sharing our time between Sanur and Seminyak. This time it was all in Seminyak - we stayed in two Villa complexes not realising when we booked that they were only 200 metres apart on the same street. We stayed here in late March 2013. The Villas are new, very modern and super comfortable and private. The staff are very helpful and accommodating, and I mean all staff from the reception, to the security, to the cleaning staff. We just loved our stay. The pool was very comfortable and inviting, the food nice and always on time and the room such that we didn't want to venture outside.

Room Tip: We had Villa 6. All Villas are aligned to capture the sun and I would say all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petepjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at Seminyak Icon, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear “Petepjs”

We were very happy to have a seasoned savvy traveler like you with us on your recent holiday in Bali. SEMINYAK ICON is new and indeed come with all the beauty of a boutique hotel including private pool and all the modern comforts. I am also very happy to read that all of our staffs right from the reception, housekeeping staff to the security guard were very helpful and accommodating. The private pool is a true jewel, we glad that you made the most of it. We are also delighted to hear that you loved our food service too. We are excited and very much look forward to seeing you again.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, we had such a wonderful time at Seminyak Icon. The villa was lovely, and all the staff were so helpful and went out of there way to help us make our anniversary such a special time here. Although the location is a little off the main street of Seminyak, it is only a 5 minute walk to the Bali Deli on Jalan Kunti (great place to stop by and stock up on supplies, or have a meal), and this street has quite a few restaurants, shops, massage places - so although not on the main strip it really is a good location. It's about a 15 minute walk up to the main shopping strip of Seminyak, but with shops to look at along the way it's really not that far! And it's only about a 10/15 minute cab ride to 'Eat St', Ku De Ta, Potato Head etc.

Helpful tip, take a torch if you are walking back to the villa at night, as the street is not that well lit, and a few pot holes here and there.

We both enjoyed massages at the spa in the hotel, and it was really lovely and well priced.
You could have your breakfast cooked in villa, or have it in their restaurant, which was always nice and quiet, and overlooking the street.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa which was lovely, but we managed to check out the 2 and 3 bedroom villas and they were much bigger, more spacious, and the bathrooms were huge.

On our anniversary we were so spoilt throughout the whole day, with a beautiful bouquet of flowers, cake, flowers all around the pool and bedroom, and a rose petal filled bath!! Totally amazing. Oh, and the staff even came and sang 'happy anniversary' to us when they presented us with the cake. It was gorgeous!

Suggestion: It would good if you could provide a tea towel & dishcloth in the kitchen too. Oh, and often our dirty dishes were taken away, but they didn't leave us with replacements, so often had to call to get what we needed. Not major problem though.

We would definitely love to stay here again, and can thoroughly recommend this place to anyone who wants a nice quiet place to stay, but still be amongst the hustle of Seminyak. Special thanks to Wayan and his wonderful staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ange T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at Seminyak Icon, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear “Ange T”

Thank you for choosing SEMINYAK ICON on your most recent Bali holiday for a very special occasion, your 10th wedding anniversary. We very happy to find that your time with us was wonderful and simply amazing. I sincerely appreciate the high credit you have given to the friendliness of our team members and the high level of service they performed, I am very proud of them. We highly value the suggestion you have made of having tea towel and cloth in the private kitchen of all villas. We also have developed a system that all dirty dishes will immediately be replaced with the clean one while at the same time minimizing our staff entering your villa to ensure a maximum privacy. Once again thank you very much for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Seminyak Icon is EXCELLENT! Part of the reason is that the place is new and extremely well maintained. Everything worked perfectly. I was there with my girlfriend and we stayed in the one-bdroom villa. The private pool was beautiful and functional (big enough to actually swim in), the living space was spacious, and the room was very cozy. Location-wise, it's not exactly in the thick of action, but it's not too far away. a big plus for me was that it was near to Chill Spa, which was a 5 min walk away. (On a side note, Chill Spa is excellent and not expensive!) The staff members were all extremely friendly and helpful, and really made us feel taken care of. Breakfast was delivered to our villa every morning and afternoon tea was complimentary every day. The only 2 small issues I had was (1) mosquitoes and (2) the staff not ringing the bell when entering our villa to set up breakfast (happened once). For (1), it's not a terrible situation, just a couple of mozzies which we managed to get rid of. For (2), I believe the staff members didn't want to disturb us from our sleep. Our room was separated from the dining area, so it wasn't much of a problem. But I would prefer they ring the bell and wake me up so that I won't risk walking out of the sleeping quarters inappropriately dressed! However, as mentioned, its no big deal.

I would highly recommend Seminyak Icon to my friends, and would return if I wanted to stay in a villa in Seminyak.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limcheekiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at Seminyak Icon, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear “limcheekiat”

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your review at tripadvisor.com and I am delighted to know your stay with us was excellent and perfectly enjoyable. I am also pleased to hear that you made the most of the beautiful villa especially the private pool and the friendliness of our team members. We highly value your feedback and will liaise with various departments in the hotel to address the points you raised and I am committed to ensuring we resolve each point you have made. We are all excited and very much look forward to welcoming you on your future Bali vacation.


Happy days,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our plane arrived 35 mins early and our driver from the hotel was already there, check in was not till 2pm but they already had our villa ready! The villa was out of this world! We were on our honeymoon and that night they put candles all around the pool and filled the bath with rose petals and scattered flowers all around our room! Service was impeccable private pool was perfect size! Would recommend to anyone who wants unforgettable accommodation! Will definitely be staying at seminyak icon again!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danika1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at Seminyak Icon, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear “Danika1985”

We are honored that you have chosen to stay with us for such a precious moment “your honeymoon”. I am very happy to hear that your time with us was amazing and the villa was beautifully out of the world. I am thrilled to hear your high credit about the friendliness of our team members and professional sincere service they performed during your stay. Thank you very much for taking your valued time to complete your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

While the location is not walking distance to the main drag of seminyak, everything else is perfect! The best place I have ever stayed in Bali :) Beautiful pool, living quarters, service everything. The spa service is also really good value compared with the other villas/ hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Relax-ational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at Seminyak Icon, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear “Relax-ational”

I am very delighted to hear that your holiday with us was perfect and to know that SEMINYAK ICON is the best place you have ever stayed in Bali. Thank you for talking highly about the high level of service delivered by our staffs. The private pool is indeed gorgeous and I am also happy to find that you loved our spa service where you noted was a great value. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My partner and I have been to Bali before and stayed in the large resorts by the beach - Icon was better than all of them! Relaxed, quiet, large Vilas, beautiful pool and wonderful staff.

The location is great - away from the noise and action. However, a 5 min walk and you right in the middle of it. Also the free driver to destinations in Seminyak means it does matter at all.

The food is great and we had a wonderful massage.

We will be back and recommending Icon to all our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winawan, General Manager at Seminyak Icon, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear “BD74”

It is a pleasure to read your review. I am pleased to know that you loved the every part of SEMINYAK ICON right from the beautiful villa, central location, wonderful staff, the great food, relaxing massage and all the “WOW”. We aim to deliver a truly memorable experience with sincere care, friendly and non-intrusive service. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you again on your future Bali holiday.

Kind regards,

Wayan Winawan
Corporate General Manager – KARANIYA EXPERIENCE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.9 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 148 in Seminyak
774 reviews
1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#10 of 148 in Seminyak
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ulin Villas & Spa
The Ulin Villas & Spa
#3 of 148 in Seminyak
689 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#16 of 148 in Seminyak
671 reviews
1.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 148 in Seminyak
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seminyak Icon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seminyak Icon

Address: Jl. Bali Deli, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $195 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seminyak Icon 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating the laid-back vibe and island charm of Bali, SEMINYAK ICON is a stylish all villa retreat designed to anticipate your desires as a modern traveller. Each villa embodies the spirit of tropical living, cocooned within the walls of a Balinese inspired compound featuring a private swimming pool, relaxing daybed facilities, essential home comforts, native greenery and all the personal touches that really count. Strategically located in Seminyak, the villa compounds arranged like a small village where there is a true sense of belonging. SEMINYAK ICON is within easy walking distance to a host of popular restaurants, famous local eatery and fashionable boutiques. Vibrant nightlife venues are just a quick ride away with our complimentary drop-off service, so too is a long stretch of sunset beach for leisure-filled days spent soaking up Bali's carefree surf culture. Hospitality at SEMINYAK ICON is warm and welcoming in a way that is uniquely Balinese. With a friendly team on duty around the clock, nothing is ever too much trouble. SEMINYAK ICON is another exclusive collection of Karaniya Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seminyak Icon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seminyak Icon Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing