We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and affordable but far from town.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grey Boutique Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grey Boutique Inn
Ranked #41 of 103 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and affordable but far from town.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good budget choice if you don't mind taking taxis or mototaxis.
Stayed there for 2 nights mostly because of the price but also because we didn't plan to spend much time in the hotel (diving every day) so the amenities didn't matter much. There is a very small pool. The rooms are "designed" but unless you are into this kind of stuff, it doesn't really matter. To enter the room you use a sliding glass door which is also the only window so in this respect your privacy is compromised unless you keep the curtains closed all the time. Perhaps 2nd floor is better (I don't know, didn't check).
Taxis are cheap in Bali but the hotel is located a bit far. The staff is all young guys and they to their best. There is a little corner store on the main road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacektravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
24
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 days & 2 nights for our honeymoon. The taxi driver found it a little difficult to find the location as it's a new hotel and it's best if you say it's located behind Grand Kuta hotel to give them a brief idea. The room given we stayed was the one right above the reception with the spacious balcony. WE LOVED IT! apart from the lightings, we really liked the room, atmosphere and most importantly their member of staffs who were very friendly and helpful. We also rented a motorbike for Rs50,000/day. Regarding the motorbike, make sure it's new and the helmets are the adult ones with clips. The hotel is approx.. 70m away from Mc D, Starbucks and so on.. so no worries about food :) Swimming pool is small and not deep. It's suitable for kids. What you see on the website is what you get. I would assure you on that :)

This stay was purchased via Groupon.my. Part of the deal states that we should have received welcome drinks and also a 50% off for spa services. Both of these were not mentioned nor provided. So please ensure you get what you've paid for.. Besides that, we truly enjoyed our stay and we are definitely looking forward to stay again in future..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prawnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

this is really long overdue, but we would love to thank the staff at the grey boutique inn for the amazing service last october. we switched our room from 1st floor to 2nd floor (as the bathroom on 1st floor is open air concept, and we lost a huge battle to the mosquitoes) without any problem, and we love the super comfortable king size bed and spacious room. we rented a bike from the desk and they delivered it to the hotel in less than 30 mins. the pool was a little small but why go to pool when you are surrounded by the beautiful bali beaches? there's fridge, dryer, amenities and enough towels to go around for us, and we love how it's not smack in the middle of busy kuta street so we can enjoy some tranquility. we missed our flight unfortunately, and when we came back to the hotel without informing them, the staff put us right back to our old room on discounted rates and was extremely helpful when we have to arrange flights. overall, one of the most best value and clean boutique hotel you'll ever find in bali. definitely staying here again :)

Room Tip: email the hotel beforehand especially if you're staying for more than 5 days. they gave us a dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I found this Gem when it first opened and have stayed several times. I love it. Perfect for the solo traveller and great value. I'm in Bali often and this is the best I have found . Beautiful staff . Everything is so clean and comfortable. Look no further !!! STAY here. Tommy

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgedaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We loved Seminyak because of The Grey Boutique Inn but unfortunately we had to leave for Gili Air Island. It was not far from beach(5-8 min. walk), Amazing staff(especially front desk) and it was so clean and nice. I highly reccomend this hotel for whoever wants to stay in Seminyak!

Room Tip: Rooms are all fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank volkandemircan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a long overdue review, but since we are planning to do our annually trip to Bali, i think why not give a review regarding this place. Ok, here I go, we stayed here for 16 days, we were pretty amazed with how very clean and proper the place was. A very good impression when we first walked in. All the staffs were really helpful and friendly. A good location, in between Kuta and Seminyak. Quirky room design. A nice swimming pool. A few minus things regarding the place were : the flow of warm water was inconsistent (sometime it is non existent), we complained a few times, but at last we felt really sorry with the staffs because seemed like there was nothing they can do about it. The wifi signal is also pretty frustrating, it took me hours to sent an important email for my work. But nonetheless, it was a very pleasant stay. If you are on a fixed (read: tight) budget, this is a place to go. Are we coming back again this year? I am afraid not, thank God we could afford more this year onwards, so on to the next fancy hotel, i'd say :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Febi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed one night at the Grey hotel in Bali without expecting much, awaiting for our Villa to be ready and we were quite pleased by the hotel, its cool furniture, its comfort, the cleanliness, the friendly staff, the quietness. I believe that the hotel is primarily destined for young people with an excellent price quality ratio and I would recommend it warmly. It is also quite well positioned and again, very clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philippeenrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.9 mi away
bnb Style Hotel Seminyak
bnb Style Hotel Seminyak
#19 of 103 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Bunga Hotel & Spa
Villa Bunga Hotel & Spa
#17 of 103 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.8 mi away
U House Seminyak
U House Seminyak
#44 of 103 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kiki Residence Bali
Kiki Residence Bali
#61 of 103 in Seminyak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Studio Bali
The Studio Bali
#10 of 103 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Umadasa Seminyak
Umadasa Seminyak
#14 of 103 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grey Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grey Boutique Inn

Property: The Grey Boutique Inn
Address: Jalan Dewi Sri, Access - The Grand Kuta Residence Lane no 8x, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grey Boutique Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Grey Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grey Boutique Inn Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing