We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not to be missed : best mexican in bali” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lacalaca Cantina Mexicana

Lacalaca Cantina Mexicana
Ranked #62 of 501 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not to be missed : best mexican in bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

this was my fourth time in lacalaca and i enjoyed it as much as in my previous visits . the food is of the highest quality with fresh ingredients and amazing flavours ... the tacos de carnitas are to die for , and when i asked the lovely waitress for an extra tortilla she brought two so i could re accommodate the generous portion without any extra cost . the drinks are delicious , my favourite is lacalaca margarita , which they explained me is made with tequila infused pickled jalapeno chilies ... yum ! if you're looking for mexican food in the island this place is not only a treat for the palate and all your senses , the atmosphere is relaxed with funky decor and easy going staff ... looking forward to come back once more !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lola_Blabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    235
    71
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Bad Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Worker in there can't speak english properly, even worse, they don't understand my Indonesian.
I ask for frozen lime margarita, they bring me spicy margarita.. I asked for changed. They bring me regular lime margarita and not frozen, with too much ice and plain taste. They said they confused with my order because they have lot of beverage.. Well, not a good way to defense your self.. Not professional at all!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nadiyafabiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
senorlacalaca, Owner at Lacalaca Cantina Mexicana, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Dear ‘NadiyaFabiola’

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Lacalaca Bali. I really appreciate your time and we take all feedback on board both the good and the bad.

I regret that you thought our staff could not speak English properly and didn’t understand when you spoke Indonesian. As you may or may not be aware in Indonesia, English is a second language sometimes a third if the person also speaks Balinese. However we will talk to the staff about trying to improve their English speaking skills and take time to ensure they all understand the importance of taking drink orders. Because we pride ourselves on fantastic service and high quality of food.

Have a great week and thanks again for your feedback.

Will Lovejoy
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
“Awesome mexican- love the twist!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We recently enjoyed an amazing dinner of Lamb tacos, beetroot salad, & dirty Margaritas! We loved it all, especially the twist of flavours within a traditional mexican menu. The attentive staff made our dining experience all the better. We highly recommend this place as your go to for Mexican on the island - a relaxed, fun atmosphere which won't disappoint!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, fresh, good quality Mexcian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is my third time to Bali and my fourth time at Lacalaca. I have enjoyed this place each and everytime. The atmosphere is relaxed and the food is fresh and tasty. The cocktails are great - my favourite is the jalapeno margarita. I think my favourite is the chicken and corn taco and the chicken burger. I will definitely return the next time I come to Bali.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroubra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome! A must visit in Seminyak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This place rocks. Funky bar, fun atmosphere, delicious food, friendly staff & awesome cocktails. The signature Jalapeño Magarita is to die for! We love Lacalaca!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Whoneedsworkanyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lacalaca Cantina Mexicana also viewed

 

Been to Lacalaca Cantina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing