We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bestest Holiday Ever”
Review of Pelangi Bali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Ranked #80 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
South Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Bestest Holiday Ever”
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Our first trip to Bali with another family of 4. The location of the Pelangi is gr8, 5 minutes to Seminyak for eats and shopping, leisurely stroll to Legian along the promenade right opposite the beach. The boys (14) enjoyed the ocean and were able to hire boogie boards & surfboards right out side the hotel. The locals were wonderful and invited the lads to a game of beach soccer on the sunday. Breakfast/buffet was served at the hotel's terrace restaurant each morning, my favourite time of the day, overlooking the beach and listening to the waves pounding the shore. All the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for guests. We chose the Superior Delux room which was well worth the extra, 63sqrm,spacious, extremely clean and well maintained. In fact we slept like babies on the very comfy king size bed and the best pillows ever, (we bought 2 to bring home) This could have easily fitted up to 2 extra beds if required. The boys shared a standard room interconnecting to our friends who had a 3rd bed which was a bit snug. We hired a 7 seater taxi from [--] and Wayan Kanta could not have been more helpful in taking us to the sights and local knowledge for those special shopping items, Highly Recommended. The Cin Cin and Bestest Cafe both 5 minutes away were by far the best value restaurants serving fresh hot food at very competitive prices. No one got a bad tummy. Sunset was a popular time to have a Bintang at one of the Beach Bars just down the hotel steps (about half the price). Horse riding along the beach was a favourite of 11 year old Sarah together with the hair braiding, manicure & pedicure. I indulged myself in a Balinese massage, body scrub, yoghurt moisture & flower bath 2 1/2 hours all for$25 AUS. Rutti on the beach gave a beautiful massage for $8 AUS. We lived like kings for a week and shall return next year. Would not recommend for anyone wanting a big resort hotel with lots of activities.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JaneStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    456
    166
    73
    40
See reviews for
189
461
57
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
179 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

This was our first visit to Bali and having heard of the constant haranguing by hawkers, we chose to stay in Seminyak because it was reputedly quieter and more upmarket than Kuta .
We chose the Pelangi Bali because it was on the beach and very very affordable for a family of 5 whose only need was a swimming pool and a comfortable bed.
Good choice.
Although nowhere near as impressive as many of the Seminyak Hotels like the Sofitel or the Samaya the Pelangi Bali does have charm and authenticness and the most happy, smiley, friendly staff. They make you feel welcome and at home and that is the key to staying in a hotel on holiday.
The pool is lovely and because it is not a big hotel, the pool was never too busy or too crowded to get a lie low. It has a cute swim up bar with friendly, chatty bar service. Drinks are very reasonably priced for a hotel.
The breakfast buffet which was included in our tariff of $54 per person per day was very adequate. We have eaten at better and bigger and more varied buffets but for breakfast, it was more than satisfactory. Except for the coffee. But people, like ourselves, who like one very good cup of coffee in the morning, rarely find you can get a good cup of coffee at a buffet breakfast.
The room was big and comfortable enough with a king size bed, a couple of chairs and table for either inside or balcony use, a smallish, non-plasma TV with 60 channels , about of them being movie channels and an adequate but smallish bathroom. The water pressure was strong and the water hot and that made up for having to shower in the bath tub, one of my pet hates.
Hanging space was adequate enough – how many clothes do you really need for Bali?
No safe in the room was a little inconvenient although there was a safety deposit box at reception.
And even when we were no longer guests, they were great. As we had a late plane home, they gave us an hour’s use of a complimentary room so that we could shave and shower and get dressed for the plane.
Wonderful, warm service in a comfortable beach side hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeHappyM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
226 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We just stayed three nights. High season, so we paid 130 / night for a deluxe. Big room, fine, good location - and waterfront in this part of Bali is expensive. Still, for the price, we were only whelmed. Pluses - location, pool bar is nice after a long day of shopping or surfing. Negatives - a bit dumpy in that part of Seminyak, near to Legian, hotel a bit run down, and price hard to justify in high season, and breakfast buffet very mediocre (don't pay the $15 per person if it is not included in your rate). Here you are really one of the mainly Australian masses. You might find a better deal at a better hotel online - next time we will plan ahead.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from 2 weeks at the Pelangi Hotel. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The pool area is very nice but the Hotel is not really set up for families or young children as there are no garden areas. The meals at the hotel are really good but you will have to pay a 21% tax on everything. Drinks are rather expensive and the supermarket prices are much cheaper. Look out for the money changers in Bali they are mainly crooks, the ones with the higher rate will rip you off even though you will not see them do it ,stick to the ones that will give you a receipt and recount your money every time. The linen and towels could do with a revamp at the hotel but overall we would stay at this hotel again as it is not as big as a lot of the others and a lot quieter. It is in a good position for the local restaurants and shopping is not too far to walk.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KessaBallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2008

Been to Bali heaps of times but never stayed at Seminyak. Stayed at Pelangi with my husband and adult daughter in August.
Lobby and what little grounds there are very lovely - pool area a bit small - didn't like the tiered deck chair area. Didn't like the fact that everyone walking past the restaurant to the beach passed the pool at chest level - felt a bit odd. Even though we had a superior room - do not try to put 3 people in one - far too small. Unfortunately they did not have any other rooms available. There are two wings to the hotel and the balconies face each other across a central (not very wide) courtyard. So no chance of any privacy on your balcony - you can hear every conversation going!! The balcony was only bit enough for one chair - the ones on the ground floor were just a small landing with some steps.

The staff were great and helpful and very attentive but the rooms are just a bit too small to warrant a return visit, sorry Pelangi. Also found with the increased taxi drivers in Kuta/Legian area not being local (ie from Denpasar) - they didn't know where the hotel was which made things tricky late at night!!

  • Liked — The rooms were clean
  • Disliked — Too small a room for 3 people, pool area
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BatyPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

This was our 2nd stay at the Pelangi hotel. We needed a place that would have many rooms available for our friends traveling to our wedding in Bali (at a different location). The staff at the sales office were so helpful and offered competitive group rates. We all had an excellent stay there. Everyone on staff was extremely hospitable, friendly, and nice. They were interested in getting to know all our guests to ensure that they had a nice stay. The spa at the hotel was also quite amazing. For really good rates, one can get many wonderful treatments, such as massages or facials. Pelangi Hotel is very affordable and for the price that you pay you certainly can't beat the beachfront location, the close proximity to restaurants/bars in the area, the wonderful staff, the breakfast buffet, and the excellent spa. Thank you, Pelangi!

  • Liked — Beachfront location
  • Disliked — Rooms were okay
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cicak23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

I think it is a nice place. It is close to Kuta/Legian but not as busy. It has all the shops but is a little bit less comercialised than Kuta/Legian.

Hotel is on the beach which makes such a difference. We liked the way it is located right on the beach. What's more for your sunbed you can observe local hookers. There are nice beach 'restaurants' just few steps from the hotel. Further down there are few more proper places to eat (There is a sushi place - really good sushi, honestly. Worth trting, I was really surprised - RAINBOW ROLL was just FANTASTIC :) )

The hotel itself was really nice. It has this nice local look and feel. Rooms are nice and clean. Cant complain about anything.

The only issue that we had was lack of privacy. The hotel has two building just in front of each other. You can't simply go and sit on balcony without seeing people accross. The ground floor is even worse. It is not a big deal but i found it irritating that i could not open the curtains because of people on the otehr side.

  • Liked — Swimming pool and convenient ocation
  • Disliked — Lack of privacy
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Srubka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
Puri Saron Seminyak
Puri Saron Seminyak
#100 of 143 in Seminyak
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelangi Bali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelangi Bali Hotel

Property: Pelangi Bali Hotel
Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#40 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#60 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelangi Bali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelangi hotel Bali is located in beautiful, serene Seminyak with its white sandy beaches and rolling waves are perfect for the keen surfer or those who wish to indulge in the warm sun and outstanding landscape. Not only will you experience a rich culture unlike any other, you will carry memories of people, places, sounds, smells and a fantastic getaway.Pelangi Bali Hotel also have direct access to the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelangi Bali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelangi Bali Seminyak
Hotel Pelangi Bali
Pelangi Bali Hotel Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing