We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Pelangi Stay”
Review of Pelangi Bali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Ranked #81 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Pelangi Stay”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed at the Pelangi from 3 - 10 March as a 50th wedding anniversary to ourselves. Check in/check out was quick and easy. There was a beautiful bowl of flowers in our room with a congratulatory note. Thank you Pelangi for that - it was a lovely thought. Our room 206 was good - very clean and large enough. Bathroom very clean too. Only complaint I had is that there isn't any cupboard or drawers in the bathroom and very little bench space so no place to leave toiletries. Complementary toiletries were basic. Also not keen on overhead showers because the baths are quite deep but that is in most places. Also only extremely shallow drawers in room. There was a cupboard with hanging space and 3 shelves, Bedside cabinet on one side of the bed only. The bed was large but was 2 smaller beds pushed together. Mini bar was reasonably priced. Airconditioning was excellent. We were upstairs and had a balcony but this was very small and didn't have any furniture out there. Our room faced other rooms so we didn't have our curtains open whilst in the room at all. The staff were very friendly and cleaned our room and changed linen daily. Towels were not too bad but no face washers. To get to the restaurant was ok except when it rained. There was no overhead protection and no umbrellas for guests use. Breakfast was quite good although on some days the fruit wasn't very ripe. You can have eggs done however you like them at the egg station which was just outside the open restaurant. On rainy days it was closed but the restaurant kitchen cooked the eggs. We ate in the restaurant for dinner for the first 3 nights but for me the food was very bland and tough, however my husband liked his meals. There is a bar at the front of the hotel but it was very hot in there so it was empty most of the time. Cocktail hour was 4 - 5 every day with a 30% reduction. The pool area was lovely with plenty of beds around the pool but not much shade. You could ask for an umbrella though. There were no upright chairs or small tables in the pool area. The outlook from the pool and restaurant was great looking out over the ocean. We didn't see any sunsets because it was overcast every day. There were steps going down to the beach giving easy access. We didn't eat at any of the beach beanbag restaurants because they didn't appeal to us at all. We didn't like the way motor bikes and scooters had access to the path along the beach making it feel quite dangerous. The reception staff were helpful - we had a safety deposit box at reception because there wasn't one in our room but it was always accessible. It is cheaper to walk out in the street for taxi's. The first day we got the hotel to book a taxi for us to Kuta. It cost approx equivalent of AU$10. Next time we went outside the hotel and it cost approx equivalent of AU$2.50. Bluebird taxis are the cheapest.
The room is definately a 3 star but the pool area a little higher with staff friendliness higher still. Overall we enjoyed our stay but would be reluctant to book again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayner1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    455
    161
    74
    39
See reviews for
188
451
56
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Me and my partner chose the Pelangi as our honeymoon retreat. i had specifically told them that i was coming there for my honeymoon. when we entered the room...all there was was a measly looking petal on the bed. nothing else! we were taken aback as we had expected the usual honeymoon preps. upon checkout, i brought this up to the front office but all they could do was to point the blame at each other. i did not receive a sincere apology from anyone. instead i was asked to pay for a coke that i took from the minibar. the rooms at the hotel are pretty outdated and for the price you pay...there are def better options out there. the only positive thing is that you get access to the beach. i have some friends going to bali next month and i have strongly discouraged them from choosing the Pelangi. if u expect modern looking rooms and to be pampered by the staff...then this hotel is a big no no.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for 5 nights, great staff, very clean, great value and great location.

Pool area is great with parts of it shaded strategically in the heat of the day.

Rooms clean and comfortable, great value for money.

Located on the beachfront with sensational restaurants within 5 mins. Suggest breakfast at the hotel and dinner out

All in all great place to stay, staff very attentive with nothing to much trouble

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPGOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We Stayed at the Pelangi Hotel from 20 February. I did lots of research online and chose the Pelangi for three reasons.
1. Absolute Beachfront position
2. Affordable
3. Seminyak (Hopefully quieter)

I disregarded all the bad reviews and I am glad that I did. I gave The Pelangi an excellent rating because it delivered exactly what we were looking for. I really doubt you can beat the Pelangi for price when you consider that it has one of the best positions on the beach and is absolute beachfront. If we still had young children I would probably have chosen a resort but the Pelangi is great for us as a couple. I can't understand why people say the superior room is too small. It was plenty big enough for us and we didn't spend much time in it anyway. If the curtains are open you can see into the rooms opposite but I'm wondering why you would go to Bali if you are going to spend the day in your room! They do have satellite TV channels and the aircon was excellent. The room and the linen were spotless and cleaned very well everyday. We never heard a sound at night during the whole 10 days.. the walls are solid concrete not thin as someone else suggested. There was plenty of choice for breakfast...not 5 star but still good. The Pelangi has the most beautiful sparkling pool and a great swim up cocktail bar. The staff are all really lovely and friendly. We enjoyed the little restaurants on the beach and being able to sit on the bean bags and listen to live music at night. We managed to walk everywhere from the Pelangi. We walked to Kuta and back more than once but there is a complimentary shuttle to Kuta. People talk about the hotel being down a dark alley but that is an exaggeration. It took us 2 minutes to walk to the road with all the restaurants and I always felt safe even when walking by myself. It takes about 10 minutes until you reach legian along the beachfront. We did not eat at the Pelangi so can't comment on the meals. To be truthful we did not find the decor very appealing and found it much more fun to try all the little restaurants in town. There are so many lovely, reasonable little restaurants within a few minutes walk. Lucky Day was one of our favourite... food is superb...especially the Nasi Rames and the black rice pudding. I was worried with my choice of hotel before I stayed because of some of the reviews but we will stay there again. My only problem which would not prevent me from staying again, is that there is not enough shade. Ideally I would like more trees but it would be difficult because the hotel is on a long thin plot. The Spa is good if you want to pay for it... a completely different experience from the massages on the beach. I recommend Rusty if you need a beach massage. We used the security boxes in the lobby and had no problems at all. You would probably be better to change your money either at the hotel or there is a good moneychanger next to the Bingtang supermarket. We tried one down in Seminyak Road with a high rate and we somehow managed to lose USD60. Obviously very clever magicians! If you want more luxury for the same price I am sure you could get it in Nusa Dua but we love the area and the easy accessibility to everything. We look forward to our next stay at the Pelangi.

Room Tip: We had room 205 which was nearer the lobby. If you want to be nearer the pool you need to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Pelangi is situated in a lovely spot in Seminyak, nice walk to Legian along the beach, and far enough away from the hustle and bustle to be relaxing.
Wouldn't recommend eating there but the staff were very friendly and helpful. Is typical of the old rooms in Bali but that is part of the Bali charm.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigWoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Ok we read all the reviews.. and we got here on Wed nite 29th feb,, still here till the 10th March,, we are in the standed room,, so no balcona, but we dont spend much time there anyway,, after staying at the Aston last time in Nusa dua,, its a big change,, just the one pool.. very closed in walks going to to the front or back,, breakfast is pretty much like most hotels not fantastic,, not shocking. are finding some great places to eat & will pass them on soon. the room we are in 113 as like the other standed rooms.. is ok size a/c is very good,, but we like to have a fan going to move the air around and they dont have celing fans and you cant get a ground standing one off them. No bigger,, staff are loverly. Keep in mind this is a older hotel and is one of the oldest if not the oldest in this area,, before the others went up. Have had a couple of snacks here but was not that good,, so we eat out.. One place we found which is great is the Italian place about a 5/7min walk. go out to beach turn left go up to first main st walk past the rd works,, and its on your right on the corner,, yum yum,, also the supper place at the Antaran hotel,, its a fancy hotel and you do pay a bit more,, but you can just go up for tappers & a cocktail ect,, the veiw is fantastic.. and worth a trip too,..anyway this Hotel is not really set up for kids,, not that we have any but there is not that much for them to do compared to the modern Hotels.. Hope this helps anyone coming here..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidJay6468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week in November
We found the room was damp/dark and we could not open our curtains/blinds because we literally could like straight into someone elses room and visa versa.
Pool was nice
Restaurant was ok.
Room was disgraceful
We stayed at the Nikko Resort in Nusa Dua which cost the same as this hotel and the quality and difference was ridiculous.
I would give the Nikko 5 stars
This 2 Stars.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kelly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
Puri Saron Seminyak
Puri Saron Seminyak
#100 of 144 in Seminyak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#30 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#66 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelangi Bali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelangi Bali Hotel

Property: Pelangi Bali Hotel
Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#40 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#61 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelangi Bali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelangi hotel Bali is located in beautiful, serene Seminyak with its white sandy beaches and rolling waves are perfect for the keen surfer or those who wish to indulge in the warm sun and outstanding landscape. Not only will you experience a rich culture unlike any other, you will carry memories of people, places, sounds, smells and a fantastic getaway.Pelangi Bali Hotel also have direct access to the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelangi Bali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelangi Bali Seminyak
Hotel Pelangi Bali
Pelangi Bali Hotel Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing