We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, good value hotel”
Review of Pelangi Bali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Ranked #86 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, good value hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for 5 nights, great staff, very clean, great value and great location.

Pool area is great with parts of it shaded strategically in the heat of the day.

Rooms clean and comfortable, great value for money.

Located on the beachfront with sensational restaurants within 5 mins. Suggest breakfast at the hotel and dinner out

All in all great place to stay, staff very attentive with nothing to much trouble

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPGOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    463
    169
    73
    45
See reviews for
196
470
57
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We Stayed at the Pelangi Hotel from 20 February. I did lots of research online and chose the Pelangi for three reasons.
1. Absolute Beachfront position
2. Affordable
3. Seminyak (Hopefully quieter)

I disregarded all the bad reviews and I am glad that I did. I gave The Pelangi an excellent rating because it delivered exactly what we were looking for. I really doubt you can beat the Pelangi for price when you consider that it has one of the best positions on the beach and is absolute beachfront. If we still had young children I would probably have chosen a resort but the Pelangi is great for us as a couple. I can't understand why people say the superior room is too small. It was plenty big enough for us and we didn't spend much time in it anyway. If the curtains are open you can see into the rooms opposite but I'm wondering why you would go to Bali if you are going to spend the day in your room! They do have satellite TV channels and the aircon was excellent. The room and the linen were spotless and cleaned very well everyday. We never heard a sound at night during the whole 10 days.. the walls are solid concrete not thin as someone else suggested. There was plenty of choice for breakfast...not 5 star but still good. The Pelangi has the most beautiful sparkling pool and a great swim up cocktail bar. The staff are all really lovely and friendly. We enjoyed the little restaurants on the beach and being able to sit on the bean bags and listen to live music at night. We managed to walk everywhere from the Pelangi. We walked to Kuta and back more than once but there is a complimentary shuttle to Kuta. People talk about the hotel being down a dark alley but that is an exaggeration. It took us 2 minutes to walk to the road with all the restaurants and I always felt safe even when walking by myself. It takes about 10 minutes until you reach legian along the beachfront. We did not eat at the Pelangi so can't comment on the meals. To be truthful we did not find the decor very appealing and found it much more fun to try all the little restaurants in town. There are so many lovely, reasonable little restaurants within a few minutes walk. Lucky Day was one of our favourite... food is superb...especially the Nasi Rames and the black rice pudding. I was worried with my choice of hotel before I stayed because of some of the reviews but we will stay there again. My only problem which would not prevent me from staying again, is that there is not enough shade. Ideally I would like more trees but it would be difficult because the hotel is on a long thin plot. The Spa is good if you want to pay for it... a completely different experience from the massages on the beach. I recommend Rusty if you need a beach massage. We used the security boxes in the lobby and had no problems at all. You would probably be better to change your money either at the hotel or there is a good moneychanger next to the Bingtang supermarket. We tried one down in Seminyak Road with a high rate and we somehow managed to lose USD60. Obviously very clever magicians! If you want more luxury for the same price I am sure you could get it in Nusa Dua but we love the area and the easy accessibility to everything. We look forward to our next stay at the Pelangi.

Room Tip: We had room 205 which was nearer the lobby. If you want to be nearer the pool you need to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Pelangi is situated in a lovely spot in Seminyak, nice walk to Legian along the beach, and far enough away from the hustle and bustle to be relaxing.
Wouldn't recommend eating there but the staff were very friendly and helpful. Is typical of the old rooms in Bali but that is part of the Bali charm.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigWoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Ok we read all the reviews.. and we got here on Wed nite 29th feb,, still here till the 10th March,, we are in the standed room,, so no balcona, but we dont spend much time there anyway,, after staying at the Aston last time in Nusa dua,, its a big change,, just the one pool.. very closed in walks going to to the front or back,, breakfast is pretty much like most hotels not fantastic,, not shocking. are finding some great places to eat & will pass them on soon. the room we are in 113 as like the other standed rooms.. is ok size a/c is very good,, but we like to have a fan going to move the air around and they dont have celing fans and you cant get a ground standing one off them. No bigger,, staff are loverly. Keep in mind this is a older hotel and is one of the oldest if not the oldest in this area,, before the others went up. Have had a couple of snacks here but was not that good,, so we eat out.. One place we found which is great is the Italian place about a 5/7min walk. go out to beach turn left go up to first main st walk past the rd works,, and its on your right on the corner,, yum yum,, also the supper place at the Antaran hotel,, its a fancy hotel and you do pay a bit more,, but you can just go up for tappers & a cocktail ect,, the veiw is fantastic.. and worth a trip too,..anyway this Hotel is not really set up for kids,, not that we have any but there is not that much for them to do compared to the modern Hotels.. Hope this helps anyone coming here..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidJay6468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week in November
We found the room was damp/dark and we could not open our curtains/blinds because we literally could like straight into someone elses room and visa versa.
Pool was nice
Restaurant was ok.
Room was disgraceful
We stayed at the Nikko Resort in Nusa Dua which cost the same as this hotel and the quality and difference was ridiculous.
I would give the Nikko 5 stars
This 2 Stars.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kelly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for my honeymoon. I booked the superior type and it took a 3 minute walk to get to our room from the front desk. There’s nothing special about the room, also it’s very dark. The wall is thin, we can hear other guests talk, so we can’t sleep until they stop talking, about 3am. However, staffs were very helpful and friendly, breakfast was good, room was clean, and the beach located right behind the restaurant. Reasonable price consider to the location, service, and good breakfast

Room Tip: take deluxe and above type
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, South side
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The hotel Pelangi pronounced (purr lang ghee) is very good and I'd stay there again tomorrow. Your taxi/driver, (we had a hotel transfer arranged and I think it is included in the room cost) will park at the top of a driveway and here you will get out and be taken to the reception which is just inside and to the right. There is also a bar here too but we never had a drink here. The hotel is built in two wings running from the road to the beach and is narrow.
Our room, 306 was down the hallway on the right. It was at the very far end and is the last room on this wing. It over looks the pool from a small balcony outside the front door. and from here you can just see the restaurant where you will have your breakfast.
Inside our room was a little lounge setting and to the right was the king bed. to the right is a small room which has a cupboard, dressing table and a place for your suitcase. The safe is in the cupboard. Ours was a deluxe room by the way. The is a mini bar and TV with lots of channels plus a sliding door that leads to a small balcony. Straight across you can see the other wing which looks to have larger rooms than the one we had.

The room was cleaned each day but at differing times. The air con was on all the time and is nice and cold. The bathroom was HUGE. and has a toilet, shower, separate bath and sink. So if there were two of you one could shower in the bath and one could use the shower. The water was a little hit and miss in regard to temp and pressure. But still very good.

Leaving our room you walk back toward reception but take a flight of stairs down and once at the ground you walk to the right which will take you to the very nice and quite large pool. The restaurant is just around to the right. You will have tickets to hand over to get your meal which is buffet style, There is a chose of different Indonesian style foods plus bacon, sausages and other items. They have a staple set of food that did does not change but then change a few of the items to give you a range.
There is fresh fruit, coffee, toast and really quite a lot to eat. As you stand facing the ocean which you can get to through a gate just past the pool and down a couple of steps, is the egg station, any style you like and cooked very well.

If you walk out of the hotel through this back gate you are on a path that runs along the beach. At the moment (2012) there are small warungs and bars here but I believe they are to be moved and they should not have been built so close to the water.
Walking to the left takes you to Cocoon and then on to Melasti Street and then on to Kuta.

To leave your hotel you walk out of your room past reception, down a flight of stairs, past security and your on the small road out the front of the hotel to the right is a dead end but to the left it is only a short walk to Jalan Dhyana Pura, Once you get here, left takes you to the beach and to the right take you shopping our to a lot of restaurants. The is also a very good money changer on the right hand side inside a small but well stocked supermarket.

Selamat sukses
Andrew

Room Tip: We had room 306 and it was very large and on the right wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gunn_parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
Puri Saron Seminyak
Puri Saron Seminyak
#103 of 146 in Seminyak
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.4 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#27 of 146 in Seminyak
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelangi Bali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelangi Bali Hotel

Property: Pelangi Bali Hotel
Address: Jl. Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#40 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#63 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelangi Bali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelangi hotel Bali is located in beautiful, serene Seminyak with its white sandy beaches and rolling waves are perfect for the keen surfer or those who wish to indulge in the warm sun and outstanding landscape. Not only will you experience a rich culture unlike any other, you will carry memories of people, places, sounds, smells and a fantastic getaway.Pelangi Bali Hotel also have direct access to the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pelangi Bali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelangi Bali Seminyak
Hotel Pelangi Bali
Pelangi Bali Hotel Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing