We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi Bali
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Elysian(Seminyak)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Luna2(Seminyak)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort(Seminyak)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,781)
Filter reviews
1,781 results
Traveler rating
1,504
192
57
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,504
192
57
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssorbetkura kura restaurantsunken bathjohn halpinfruit skewerslanai roomfrangipani cafeour honeymoongarden viewindian oceanfour seasonscomplimentary afternoon teapool servicean oasisoverlooking the beachseminyak beachmain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,369 - 1,374 of 1,781 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2008

The Oberoi in Seminyak, Bali is a beautful hotel and well worth a visit. We have just returned after spending a week there as part of our honeymoon and were very impressed.

The rooms are all small bungalow style with thatched roofs. They come with huge comfy double beds, sunken baths, double sinks, TV's and all the mod cons you would expect of a 5 star hotel.
The grounds are stunning and well maintained, the staff are amazing and so polite. The hotel is a little worn, but it is the oldest in the region and has a lot more character than any of the others.

We paid extra for an Ocean View Lanai room. This really was a waste of money as the view was over the pool area and offered little privacy. The area prior to the sea is slightly raised and hinders any view of the ocean. I would recommend staying in the garden view rooms or if you are loaded, the villas are very nice and have private pools.

We also made the mistake of dining in the restaurant. Although the food was out of this world, so was the price. This goes for the bar to. Prices in the hotel are well over inflated and in the region of 4 to 5 times more expensive than up the road in similar good quality restaurants. We only made this mistake once and ate out every night. You can get a decent 3 course meal for two with wine for about £30 nearby, but expect to pay about £150 in the hotel.

I would recommend Reflections for breakfast or cheap evening meal. This is also a great bar with a good atmosphere. It is owned by a British lady who is most hospitable. For finer dining the Junction restaurant and bar is very good.

The spa in the hotel is amazing and well worth a visit, but be warned again, a £60 massage in the hotel can be gained for about £5 just up the road.

Be warned also that at the moment there is some building work taking place on the beach. This is out of the way of the hotel but can create some noise and minor disturbance. The beach is also filthy and covered in litter and 'hawkers' (beggars). This was most annoying and we found it a shame that the hotel didn't emply these beggars to perhaps clean the beach.

The prices in this hotel have prevented me awarding an Excellent rating, but if you are prepared to pay, then this hotel is well worthy of an excellent rating.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pau109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

I found Bali to be full of luxury hotels that were either very expensive or cheap budget hotels. There were a few mid range hotels, but these were fully booked when I tried a month before our holiday. So I decided to splurge on the Oberoi. I found it very expensive, in fact a lot more expensive than the types of hotels I usually stay in. The rooms were individual cottage style, which I personally am not a fan of because it is rather inconvenient. However, grounds were lovely and I loved the old fashioned architecture like the crumbly Balinese statues etc. The atmosphere by the pool/restaurant was lovely, you really enjoyed the sea.

Service was impeccable! The staff were so helpful and genuine, and all of them refused tips! Breakfast by the beach is a must. And you need to go to this restaurant called Ku De Ta next door. Very expensive, but food was delicious. I stuffed myself silly with 3 courses and 2 sides!

The bathroom was not really designed with functionality in mind, but it looked good.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aputty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

We recently stayed at the Oberoi and we were not disappointed! Having read some of the more negative reviews before travelling we were a little bit concerned that we may have chosen the wrong hotel. However from arrival to departure we had a fantastic time.
The staff are geniuinely welcoming and the hotel is set in beautiful grounds. The staff working by the pool area are very attentive. As soon as you select the sun loungers which you wish to use the staff are there laying out your towels and bringing you chilled mineral water and chilled face towels. They also bring sun cream and a chilled sented water spray which is a great way to cool down when the rays get that little too hot! The water is replaced continuously and every so often a little treat appears such as fruit kebabs or a home made ice cream or sorbet.
The beach is great too and there is a life guard on duty. The sea has fairly large waves ideal for surfing and body boarding. During our stay we used the body boards and i took a couple of surf lessons (extra cost) which were really good fun and helped to burn a few of the calories off.
We also used the spa which was fantastic but expensive. We opted for a couples 2 hr treatment which involved 1/2 hr body scrub, followed by a 90 minute massage which was very good. not something you could afford to do every day!
We were a little bit disappointed with breakfast. Although it was good quality we personally prefer a buffet breakfast allowing you to try a little of what ever takes your fancy. Unfortunately this is not available at the Oberoi.
We ate at Kura Kura one evening. Again very expensive but the food was very good. Food at the pool side was good with quite a varied selection of foods on offer. We had cocktails at the bar several times and the bar snacks offered are very nice. The olives are great! Again these are not cheap.
Overall we felt the food and beverage pices were too expensive. We appreciate it's a 5 star hotel and you get what you pay for but they would do much better reducing the prices a little.
A short death defying walk from the hotel is "Eat Street," where good food at much cheaper prices is available. Next door to the hotel is Ku De Ta which is a really cool restaurant/bar. A must.
The hotel rooms are great especially the comfy beds and sunken bath.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We had a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wel0veh0lidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

The Oberoi is a wonderfull hotel! The rooms and grounds are very beautiful, the food is excellent and the service impeccable.

I have now idea how some people can dislike this hotel.

We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flamang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

From the moment you arrive at the Oberoi, you're made to feel special. Greeted by ladies dressed in traditional Balinese costume, check-in procedures are carried out in a covered area with the crashing waves of the Indian Ocean as a backdrop. You are given chilled face towels and drinks to refresh you after your 25 minute drive from the airport.
We stayed in one of the Luxury Lanai rooms - which is at the cheaper end of the accommodation that the Oberoi has to offer. All the rooms are single-storey, detached or semi-detached (in clusters of 4), with a thatched roof and small outside seating area. Nevertheless, our room was spacious and cool. A huge bed, a flat screen LCD TV and a DVD player (you can borrow DVDs from the hotel's library); a minibar in which to keep the complimentary fresh milk for your tea or coffee; a large room safe (large enough to store a laptop/notebook); plenty of wardrobe space and a spacious bathroom with a small garden area outside. We were very comfortable and were not disturbed by any noise.
The gardens are immaculately maintained, with a variety of planting; mature trees and ponds with water features (which are home to a variety of fish). Frogs and bats can be seen regularly.
Breakfast is taken in the outdoor Frangipani cafe. It's beachside location is breathaking, seated amongst the palm trees with attentive waiting staff, what could be better?
We also dined in the evening on a couple of occasions at the hotel's Kura Kura restaurant. True, it's expensive compared to restaurants you'll find elswhere in Seminyak, but you will experience dining at its finest. The quality of the food is consistently excellent, and there is an excellent wine list to accompany your meal.
You can sit in the Kayu bar with a delicious cocktail as you watch the sun set over the Ocean. Once again, not cheap drinks, but very atmospheric.
The swimming pool is just a plain rectangular affair, but pleasantly warm for those who don't like very cold water. the staff that wait around the pool will immediately set up your sun bed for you; provide you with towels and then serve you with ice cold water, some chilled face towels, a chilled frangipani-scented spray to cool you and some factor 25 sun screen. These are all complimentary and the water is replenished constantly throughout your stay on the sun lounger.
You will get your sun glasses cleaned for you; you'll also be provided with complimentary ice cream in the afternoon, and then you can adjourn at 4pm for complimentary afternoon tea and an assortment of cakes or cookies. There is also likely to be a cultural event taking place in the amphitheatre to amuse you whilst you take tea.
If you prefer the beach, then there is one of the best ones just a few steps away, BUT do be careful of the riptides. The hotel has a lifeguard on constant duty, and you can borrow surfboards, etc. if you wish to.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to families with children - the swimming pool at the next door Sofitel Hotel is much more interesting for them. But for couples (of all ages), this is the piece of paradise you've been seeking.
The Oberoi is full of character. True, it is a mature hotel when compared to others along the coast at Seminyak, but it has everything, and tries very hard, to make your stay there a comfortable and memorable one. God willing, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank G-BOAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews