We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi Bali
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Elysian(Seminyak)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Luna2(Seminyak)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort(Seminyak)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,784)
Filter reviews
1,784 results
Traveler rating
1,507
192
57
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,507
192
57
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssorbetkura kura restaurantsunken bathjohn halpinfruit skewerslanai roomfrangipani cafeour honeymoongarden viewindian oceanfour seasonscomplimentary afternoon teapool servicean oasisoverlooking the beachseminyak beachmain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
817 - 822 of 1,784 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We will definitely be returning to this lovely oasis. Service was wonderful, the gardens and well maintained adjacent beach made it a lovely retreat from the hurly burly of Seminyak. This was a reconnaissance visit for us, and we loved it. I had a massage, which was a similar price to what I would pay at home, but beautiful setting and well done. There is a gym! It looked good but we didn't have time to try it. I loved the afternoon tea (complimentary), and lazing by the pool overlooking the beach. Gamelan music and Balinese dancing provided a bit of cultural backdrop. We tried all the restaurants, food was lovely. The whole stay was only marred by a drunken Australian who insisted on chatting to us as we enjoyed our last romantic evening before catching the plane. He was the exception rather than the rule, and we are just now organising our next stay here...

Room Tip: We enjoyed a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelaidelady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear adelaidelady50,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali detailing your experience while staying with us.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay at The Oberoi, Bali.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back on your return to Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

A famous ad man once said “At 60 miles an hour the loudest noise in this new Rolls-Royce comes from the electric clock”. The Oberoi in Bali made me think of hotels as the corporations are thinking of themselves the world over. Not simply, as places of luxurious accommodation, but of sensory experiences. And that’s where the Oberoi scores highly. Only the beauty is, it seems to do so without really trying. Not that it isn’t. It’s somewhat like a swan gliding beautifully on the surface, while paddling energetically beneath it. The frangipani garland on arrival with a delicious non-alcoholic mojito sets the tone, and when the loudest thing you can hear at 0 miles an hour is the birdsong at eventide, when you finally know you can cut the engine and relax.

We took a villa with sea view, which was beautiful. Some describe these and the Oberoi itself as tired, I would say they have character and grace. The bedroom was immaculately turned out with more frangipani present and a hot oil diffuser dispensing yet more of this welcoming scent. The bathroom was divided into his and hers, which pleased my ‘her’ particularly. There is a beautiful sunken bath and two ponds with a courtyard where your own beds are set up daily should you not which to take that ‘tiring’ 1-minute stroll to the pool.

John Halpin runs the ship with a firm but fair hand and he really knows his hotels. His employees are well trained, immaculately dressed, clean, polite and accommodating.

The beach immediately outside of the hotel is a decent stretch and while some reviewers have rightly stated this is no beach for beginners or toddlers with the sea being fierce and noisy and home to surfers with boogie boarders in the shallows, it’s kept pretty clean and tidy and provides a good walk if you are restless by the very ample pool. On the beach we were fortunate enough to watch a mother turtle drag herself up the beach and lay her eggs in broad daylight which was one sensory experience even John couldn’t have arranged for us. Back at the pool, fruit skewers, banana sorbets and afternoon tea and cakes are provided at no charge and yet again hit the right sensory notes at the right times.

Seminyak itself is like many seaside towns the world over. A mix of boutiques that sell nice things, boutiques that sell not so nice things, people on streets trying to drag you into their particular establishment and people on motorbikes offering things they shouldn’t be. That said, the restaurant scene is good here, if you can tear yourself away from the Oberoi. I say that, given the food here is very good indeed.

So overall, thanks Oberoi Bali for providing my best stay yet anywhere. And from a particularly fussy bugger, trust me that’s quite some achievement.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nobby132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Simon G and nobby132,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali detailing your experience.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

A famous ad man once said “At 60 miles an hour the loudest noise in this new Rolls-Royce comes from the electric clock”. The Oberoi in Bali made me think of hotels as the corporations are thinking of themselves the world over. Not simply, as places of luxurious accommodation, but of sensory experiences. And that’s where the Oberoi scores highly. Only the beauty is, it seems to do so without really trying. Not that it isn’t. It’s somewhat like a swan gliding beautifully on the surface, while paddling energetically beneath it. The frangipani garland on arrival with a delicious non-alcoholic mojito sets the tone, and when the loudest thing you can hear at 0 miles an hour is the birdsong at eventide, when you finally know you can cut the engine and relax.

We took a villa with sea view, which was beautiful. Some describe these and the Oberoi itself as tired, I would say they have character and grace. The bedroom was immaculately turned out with more frangipani present and a hot oil diffuser dispensing yet more of this welcoming scent. The bathroom was divided into his and hers, which pleased my ‘her’ particularly. There is a beautiful sunken bath and two ponds with a courtyard where your own beds are set up daily should you not which to take that ‘tiring’ 1-minute stroll to the pool.

John Halpin runs a tight ship with a firm but fair hand and he really knows his hotels. His employees are well trained, immaculately dressed, clean, polite and accommodating.

The beach immediately outside of the hotel is a decent stretch and while some reviewers have rightly stated this is no beach for beginners or toddlers with the sea being fierce and noisy and home to surfers with boogie boarders in the shallows, it’s kept pretty clean and tidy and provides a good walk if you are restless by the very ample pool. On the beach we were fortunate enough to watch a mother turtle drag herself up the beach and lay her eggs in broad daylight which was one sensory experience even John couldn’t have arranged for us. Back at the pool, fruit skewers, banana sorbets and afternoon tea and cakes are provided at no charge and yet again hit the right sensory notes at the right times.

Seminyak itself is like many seaside towns the world over. A mix of boutiques that sell nice things, boutiques that sell not so nice things, people on streets trying to drag you into their particular establishment and people on motorbikes offering things they shouldn’t be. That said, the restaurant scene is good here, if you can tear yourself away from the Oberoi. I say that, given the food here is very good indeed.

So overall, thanks Oberoi Bali for providing my best stay yet anywhere. And from a particularly fussy bugger, trust me that’s quite some achievement.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Although not too impressed with Seminyak myself, Oberoi was heaven. Staff couldn't do enough for you. The villas are beautiful and I like it that your bathroom looks out to your own private garden. Food was amazing, try the rendang. Best in the area. Yummm! My stay here was faultless. Shame about the sea being choppy so it wasn't possible to swim in but that's nothing the hotel could do anything about. The pool was lovely anyway and they're afternoon tea with cakes was a lovely bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duchess702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear duchess702,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that the beach waves were quite strong during your stay.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at the Oberoi and were so happy we did. Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived until we departed. The room was so very nice with a wonderful outside seating area and view of the ocean. The bathroom was beyond anything we had ever experienced at a hotel. Without exception, every staff member was warm, kind, helpful and such a pleasure. Andree, the concierge, went above and beyond for us.

There are a lot of "value added" amenities at this hotel. There is a no tipping policy which is very nice. There is an afternoon tea, noon time fruit by the pool, evening entertainment all for no additional charge. I am so glad we were able to experience incomparable service at the Oberoi.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room if possible.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Elizabeth L,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recognising Andre at Concierge. We are very fortunate indeed to have such dedicated people working here.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews