We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the nicest thing in seminyak.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Bali to your Saves list
The Oberoi Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 135 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably the nicest thing in seminyak.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Although not too impressed with Seminyak myself, Oberoi was heaven. Staff couldn't do enough for you. The villas are beautiful and I like it that your bathroom looks out to your own private garden. Food was amazing, try the rendang. Best in the area. Yummm! My stay here was faultless. Shame about the sea being choppy so it wasn't possible to swim in but that's nothing the hotel could do anything about. The pool was lovely anyway and they're afternoon tea with cakes was a lovely bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duchess702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear duchess702,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that the beach waves were quite strong during your stay.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    155
    54
    15
    7
See reviews for
225
834
54
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at the Oberoi and were so happy we did. Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived until we departed. The room was so very nice with a wonderful outside seating area and view of the ocean. The bathroom was beyond anything we had ever experienced at a hotel. Without exception, every staff member was warm, kind, helpful and such a pleasure. Andree, the concierge, went above and beyond for us.

There are a lot of "value added" amenities at this hotel. There is a no tipping policy which is very nice. There is an afternoon tea, noon time fruit by the pool, evening entertainment all for no additional charge. I am so glad we were able to experience incomparable service at the Oberoi.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Elizabeth L,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recognising Andre at Concierge. We are very fortunate indeed to have such dedicated people working here.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed 8 nights in a pool villa at this iconic hotel, which we have dreamed about for ages. Our dreams were more than fulfilled. From the moment you enter the Oberoi it confirms you are staying at a luxury resort.

The staff are plentiful and exceptional (very well trained in respecting their customers) and the pool villa was totally amazing

. Thank you Oberoi for making our stay the most memorable place we have stayed in Bali.

Room Tip: Save the extra for the pool villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear kim m,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Oberoi was the last place we stayed in Bali and although its service was not as personalized as Komaneka in Ubud and was missing the atmosphere of our stay in Gili T, we found that it grew on us in the 3 days that we were there. The Oberoi is the oldest luxury hotel in Seminyak and has therefore got THE best location and is on a beautiful beach which is an amazing spot to see the famous sunsets of Seminyak. It is close to lots of shopping streets, bars, restaurants and areas like petitenget. The villas are done up tastefully with beautiful Balinese art and frangipani flowers. The pool area is beautiful but a bit crowded. The staff was hospitable and the food at breakfast was good. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Lavz21,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Beautiful views overlooking the sea while sat by the pool, or whilst eating your breakfast! The service was outstanding! The accommodation was lovely, little thatched rooms/villas not overlooked by anyone. The bathroom was amazing with sunken bath surrounded by candles.Would definitely recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjs333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Tjs333,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Oberoi is a great dame, great staff - great service - well kept grounds and rooms but in need of some upgrades. The hotel has everything and all works mostly well but the material and rooms are a bit tired. If you dont mind the older style - its the perfect place to relax and enjoy impeccable service, food and drinks but it all comes at a heftly pricetag.

It's very easy to spend $ 100 ( Australian ) per day on just a simple breakfast and and 2 or 3 drinks plus a snack at the pool. It spoils the otherwise great experiences.

Room Tip: We had a room near the water. It was very clean and very nice. Just a bit tired. But remember - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear uschild,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed most aspects of your visit to The Oberoi, Bali and that you found the staff, service and grounds were up to your satisfaction.

I note that you found our rooms in need of upgrades and that to you, they seemed "a bit tired". For the sake of the TripAdvisor audience, I would like to highlight that The Oberoi, Bali is an authentic Balinese Resort and is indeed deemed The Grand Dame of Bali resorts. The 500 metres of beach frontage set upon 15 acres of mature gardens with all low rise thatched roof and natural stone buildings were built in an era pre-dating the new large high-rise resorts which seem to be sprouting up all over the island, with lots of white cement, frosted glass and chrome. Over the years subtle upgrades have always been implemented at the Oberoi, whilst ensuring the historic integrity of this landmark resort is maintained. If Indonesia had "Heritage Listed Properties", The Oberoi, Bali would surely be at the top of the list.

We appreciate your comments that you found food prices are at high side. Quality of ingredients is something The Oberoi, and our Executive Chef will not compromise upon. This does come with a higher price than can be found at other restaurants. I assure you that prices at The Oberoi, Bali are similar to other five star resorts in the similar category, on the island of Bali. We conduct monthly surveys to ensure that.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With kind regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have just had the best experience in Bali. Staying at the Oberoi was one of the most enjoyable and relaxing times that we have ever had. We had great weather, the staff were excellent and so obliguing. The food was great, cocktails were great....everything great. You know you've had a good time when you absolutely dread leaving. We are already thinking of how/when we can get back..........:)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Catherine P,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#4 of 135 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 135 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak
0.3 mi away
Luna2 Studiotel
Luna2 Studiotel
#1 of 135 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Property: The Oberoi Bali
Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak 80033, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#6 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing